We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Hickman Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hickman Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

A very interesting place, full of contrasts. The decor could do with some updating! The bedroom certainly needed some help, especially the bathroom. But the bed was very comfortable and the linen new and good quality. These are the only negative comments. The lady owner couldn't do enough for her guests. The food was superb. We had the best rib-eye steaks we have eaten in this country. The chef actually knew how to cook a blue steak. The breakfast was brilliant, with the biggest bowl of fruit salad I have ever seen, and all of it was fresh! And the cooked breakfast was cooked to order. All the ingredients are sourced locally, and you can taste it. The home made marmalade was superb. Best food in a long time!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    18
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
40
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Very disappointing. The lady owner was very pleasant and very courteous but this didn't make up for a below average and overpriced stay. The bed was very clean and comfortable which nearly compensated for the well below standard room decor and aged bathroom. The curtains and carpet looked like they had been there since the 70s!The breakfast was ok, service was good but I certainly would NOT be comfortable in recommending this as a place to stay unless you want to pay even more to get an upgraded room. In summary, the owner tried hard to please but the standard of the hotel does not merit the price asked. I'll be staying in a local B&B next time! Sorry Hickman Hill Hotel but you're not up to standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Had a very comfortable stay in this hotel. I got a warm welcome and was well looked after. Also, the room was great- comfortable, quiet and attractive. In the morning I enjoyed a tasty breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyModen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Had a super stay at the Hickman Hill Hotel while visiting Lincoln Christmas market. The charming hosts could not have been more helpful and the food was as excellent as the hospitality. Will definately stay there again if I'm in the area. Many thanks - Julia

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear Julia,

Thank you for the kind words which really are appreciated. It was a pleasure having you all and hope to see you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2011

7 of us stayed for work purposes for a number of days. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Michelle and Rob were excellent hosts and really looked after us. The food was excellent, all lovingly prepared and cooked by Rob. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments which are really appreciated. We source most of our food locally and many of our suppliers are award winners. As members of "Tastes of Lincolnshire " we are always promoting what is best about Lincolnshire's vast array of food and its producers.
If you are this way again we will have another selection of Vegetarian options for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just had two night stay in this delightful hotel. Our superior room was spacious as was the wet room and toilet. The room was beautifully furnished and decorated. Lovely comfy bed. The hosts were very attentive and gave us a warm welcome. The food both at breakfast and the evening meal was very tasty, well served and presented. We would definitely stay there again. Easy walking distance from the town centre. Plenty of parking. Quiet neighbourhood

Room Tip: Recommend the 'Music Room' on ground floor at side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbyminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Fabulous food. Brilliant room, including power shower! Wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotFish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainsborough
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
13.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
13.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Scunthorpe
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Black Swan Guest House
Black Swan Guest House
#3 of 9 in Gainsborough
116 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beckett Arm's
Beckett Arm's
#1 of 1 in Corringham
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickman Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickman Hill Hotel

Property: Hickman Hill Hotel
Address: Coxs Hill, Gainsborough DN21 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Gainsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hickman Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over the last 25 years the Grade II listed Hickman Hill Hotel has charmed guests with its unique character, hospitality and intimate surroundings. Previously Gainsborough's Grammar School and built in 1795 the Hotel has nine spacious rooms named after former Head Teachers. Each room is en-suite with TV, Freeview box, Telephone & Tea/Coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and it is situated only 1km from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hickman Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickman Hill Hotel Gainsborough, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing