We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hickman Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hickman Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Excellent stay. Great welcome, comfortable and interesting room, ENORMOUS towel that I'd have quite happily stayed in all day if I hadn't had to go to work, and fantastic food, including the most intense beetroot dish I've ever tasted. Don't know why it took so long to write a review!

Room Tip: Music Room on ground floor is accessible and has a wet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Guy,

So pleased to hear that you liked the beetroot. Surprisingly there is quite a bit of effort involved to make it taste that beetrooty!

The large towels are in all our superior rooms and are much commented upon.

Thank you for all your kind comments and we hope you are able to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    19
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
40
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We've just spent two wonderful nights at this hotel and all we can say is PERFECT.

A warm welcome by the owners and made to feel at home. The rooms and settings were gorgeous.

The food was superb with local produce used.

A high level of cleanliness.

Even if you are not looking for accommodation, definetly visit the restaurant.

Absolutely no hesitation in recommending, we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debandsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you very much for the stunning review. We hope you come back next year for some more golf and a chance to play some other courses. Also we will be on hand to give you some top golfing tips!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The owners were very friendly and it was interesting to learn of the history of the building. We arrived late but despite this the restaurant stayed open for us and the meal was delicious. The only disappointment was that the room we were given was not of the standard of the rooms shown on the website despite the hotel being nowhere near full.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
It is so pleasing and gratifying to receive compliments about our food and service. Thank you.

We are a small independent owned hotel and are slowly but surely upgrading all our standard rooms to superior ones.

When you return you can be assured that you will be allocated a superior room.
Once more thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hickman Hill Hotel is a great place to stay not least if you are doing a track day or testing at Blyton Race Circuit (it's 10 minutes away). What you get is superbly friendly service, great food cooked with passion by the owner himself and very comfortable beds with thick duvets and big pillows.

Room Tip: I usually have a room at the back which will be quieter. If you have a valuable car you will be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Tony,
Thank you for your gracious support and compliments. There is a natural reciprocity at work here; we strive to ensure our customers comfort and well-being. The dividend being your patronage.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

My partner and I booked for dinner here as it had a good TripAdvisor rating and they mentioned on their website about how they sourced their food locally.
There isn't a great choice of places to eat in Gainsborough itself, but the food here was lovely regardless - and well priced too!
The owners/hosts are friendly and welcoming with plenty of character. The hotel and restaurant is cosy and clean(I am particular about cleanliness).
The only comment I would make is the dining room and toilets need updating - but this is being done this year(2013), and if the decor for the rest of the hotel is anything to go by, I'm sure it will be beautiful and just as immaculate.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight - but we viewed a room - it was beautifully refurbished, imaculately dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithAveryFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and glad that you both had an enjoyable visit. Next time perhaps you should stay in one of our upgraded rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Have just returned from a weekend stay at the Hickman. We stayed there last year and really enjoyed it so used the hotel again this year. It was my birthday on the Sunday and they cooked a great meal for us. They are so friendly and the hotel has great character, well worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_Jan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. Look forward to seeing you in February 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed for 1 night at this hotel which was booked through my company and must say that, this is lovely hotel which still holds some of its feel of a boarding school. As soon as I entered, I was greeted a big smile from Michelle who jointly owns and manages this hotel with Robert her husband.

Robert also is the Chef and prepared a lovely evening dinner and went out of his way to cook me something that did not feature on the evening's menu - I really appreciated this which is what makes all the difference between a large corporate run hotel and a local, family run establishment that can adopt and personalise service. Breakfast was freshly prepared, nice and hot and tasty just as the evening meal.

My room was lovely, spacious, clean and tidy throughout just like the rest of the hotel. Just before my evening meal I had time to have a bit of chat with Michelle and Robert who showed me some of the old photos of the school staff and students - amazing history which has been retained to some extent by the couple.

I would definitely stay again and would most certainly recommend to anyone who is visiting Gainsborough for business or pleasure.

Thank you Michelle and Robert.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZamyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainsborough
10.4 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
15.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
13.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
5.2 mi away
Black Swan Guest House
Black Swan Guest House
#2 of 9 in Gainsborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickman Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickman Hill Hotel

Property: Hickman Hill Hotel
Address: Coxs Hill, Gainsborough DN21 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Gainsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hickman Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over the last 25 years the Grade II listed Hickman Hill Hotel has charmed guests with its unique character, hospitality and intimate surroundings. Previously Gainsborough's Grammar School and built in 1795 the Hotel has nine spacious rooms named after former Head Teachers. Each room is en-suite with TV, Freeview box, Telephone & Tea/Coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and it is situated only 1km from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hickman Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickman Hill Hotel Gainsborough, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing