We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hickman Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hickman Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were very comfortable here, very warmly welcomed and very well fed. Because I have a back problem, we had to have a twin room, which is not one of the refurbed but it was clean and comfortable and I slept very well. The lady of the house is a real live wire and works hard to create a hospitable atmosphere. The man of the house is the chef, equally pleasant and welcoming. The food was exceptionally good, fresh produce, very well presented. Asparagus in season, chargrilled, then a perfect grilled ribeye steak with a hint of five spice. My husband's starter of smoked trout was beautiful and the duck was excellent. Vegetables were outstanding. We shared a stunning rhubarb and ginger oaty crumble with custard, again a zingy hint of allspice was as delicious as it was surprising. Breakfast was fabulous with fruit juice and a bowl of chopped seasonal fruit on the table. I chose the kipper and it was plump, juicy and delicious. Once filleted, there was not one bone to be seen. Jam and marmalade is made by chef. This couple work hard in this big old house which has great potential and which they are gradually refurbishing. We wish them well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenMabW_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We note you must have a really keen palate as you were able to detect most of my hidden spices! It is nice to know that our locally sourced items are worth the effort; also it cuts down on food miles. All of your comments are greatly received and we appreciate them immensely. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    19
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
40
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay in this charming and quirky hotel. We stayed in the Music Room, a comfortable and well thought out and equipped room. An enormous shower wet room and huge white fluffy bath towels. A lovely evening meal and breakfast made for a relaxing stay. Nice touches like a jug of orange juice and fresh fruit on the breakfast table demonstrated the thoughtfulness of the lovely couple who run this hotel.
They are obviously still doing up the hotel as and when funds allow but one day the gardens and dining room will be as magnificent as the rooms they have already done.
I doubt I'll pass through Gainsborough again but if I do I shall certainly return here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redundantpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
What a simply charming review. We are brimming and glowing with the praise heaped upon us. Thank you for your exceedingly generous compliments. Also we really appreciate your acknowledgement that the development of the hotel is a work in progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

An hotel decorated in a very attractive, very personal style, creating a
warm, homely and welcoming atmosphere, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Home-cooked,
local produce has a distinctive flavour and the portions are generous but not overwhelming. Once discovered, Hickman Hill Hotel attracts regular return visits......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are thrilled that your stay with us surprised and delighted you. Thank you for noticing also that care and attention that the chef/proprietor takes in his pursuit of punchy and innovative flavours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hickman Hill Hotel: Once a Boys Grammar School, now a semi boutique hotel with a mix of “superior” and “traditional” rooms and a good resturant that together make somewhere that is rather special!

We arrived to be greeted by a blazing log fire in the bar/lounge and a very cheery welcome from Michelle. She showed us to our room, the Music Room. This is one of the 3 or 4 superior rooms and it contained everything and more than is expected in a boutique hotel. The room, on the ground floor is large and spacious with a classic decor, nice period painted wood furnishings, a large and very comfortable bed, and traditional shutters over the Georgian windows. The bathroom is made up of a separate shower room that is possibly the largest I’ve ever seen, a true wet room, and a similar sized room with toilet and washbasins, one mounted to be “disabled access”.

But for me the star feature was a high end ARCAM iPod/iPhone dock: with good wifi great music that I wanted, not a limited choice of radio through the TV. My partner was more taken with the massive bath towels: white, fluffy and about 5 foot by 10 foot!

Yes, the superior rooms are not cheap, but quality never is. We looked at one of the standard rooms, by way of comparison. It was fine, what I’d expect of a small hotel working in an old Grade 2 Listed building and if my budget didn’t run to the superior room I’d be happy in the standard.

We decided to dine in the hotel restaurant, once a classroom it is now a very pleasant space with enoutgh tables to seem busy but not cluttered.
Over a G&T we reviewed the menu: first impression was that it was well constructed and balanced and the wine list well priced.

After the expected wait we were called to the table: nicely laid with a crisp white tablecloth service started: the waitresses were attentive and cheerful. I started with scallops; my partner had smoked salmon timbales. Both were excellent.
Moving on I had confit duck leg and my partner had pan fired sea bass. The mains arrived with some supporting garnish, but in addition a copious supply of potatoes and a side order of vegetables. All were cooked well and seasoned “just right”.
All the starters and mains came with either dressing or sauce: all were beautifully balanced for flavour and texture: the salad dressing on the leaves that came with my partner’s starter was particularly special. We later discovered it contained a touch of passion fruit juice!

For dessert I had poached pears: very yummy and my partner had the Crème Brûlée which she pronounced simply divine!

Overall a really good meal and I’d like to go back to try a different selection!

We slept well, enjoyed an excellent breakfast – the sausages were very special and the bacon a close, close second - and drove off into the mist…

All in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience in a hotel that I’m happy to recommend. The hotel is about as far, in every way, from a chain hotel as it is possible to get. For me that is a plus but for some, who prefer uniformity and superficial glitz over charm, character and good food well cooked linked by wonderful hospitality, may miss a great experience.

Room Tip: Spash out and enjoy a superior room, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We were delighted to read your fantastic review. It still surprises us when we receive such great comments. Without wishing to perpetuate a cliché, we operate on a simple premise: treat others as you would like to be treated yourself. Who doesn't want to be greeted warmly and professionally? Then shown into a gorgeous room with some unusual and delectable surprises. Followed by food which is prepared with a specific nod to flavours and presentation. It was more than a pleasure to look after you and your wife. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Gainsborough takes a bit of getting to but the Hickman Hill Hotel belies the old saying that it is better to travel than arrive. We were really well cared for both before and after our business meeting at the local district council. The dinner menu was superbly balanced with some old favourites and new tastes with wine and service to match. Afterwards we enjoyed a cosy atmosphere in the bar for a night cap. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished but with all the essentials and really comfortable beds. Breakfast next morning offered a full range of English cuisine with kippers included and fresh orange juice. This is a little gem of a place.

Room Tip: I was worried seeing a train out of my window on arrival but didn't hear a thing all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We were very pleased to hear your comments and appreciate your very kind words. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again if you are visiting the council offices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited Hickman Hill Hotel last night for a meal with my parents. The four of us had starters and steaks for our mains which were all cooked to perfection. We also enjoyed a nice bottle of red wine in the hotels candle lit boutique style restaurant. We were delighted with the quality of the food and the excellent service. Our only disappointment is that we couldn't fit any desert in, however it's even more reason to head back for another visit. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnabysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We source our meat from a Butchers in Gainsborough and the quality is always good. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hickman Hill Hotel

This is a hotel which has grand illusions of being something it isn't. The hotel is shabby and rooms are overpriced.

Perhaps one the renovations have been completed it might be ok.

The bed was clean and comfortable, but it did not compensate for the well below standard room decor and aged bathroom or the lack of facilities.

What we found with our room:
Shabby dirty rug.
Worn out shag pile carpet.
Wallpaper peeling in the bathroom
Bathroom 70's style "Pink" or "Tan" coloured suit and very cramped.
Wall paper peeling from ceiling in bathroom.
Loud extractor fan in bathroom.
Poor quality and very old sealant around shower.
Wash basin sealant strip, shabby poor quality and very dirty!!!!!
Only 1 bedside table.
Only 1 bedside lamp.
Very old 80's style CRT television with built in video recorder/player.
Only 1 option regarding tea, would have expected a small selection of fruit teas and early grey as well as plain tea. costs little, but would have made one feel welcome.

The breakfast was ok, service was good but I certainly would NOT be comfortable in recommending this as a place to stay unless you want to pay even more to get an upgraded room approaching nearly £200 a night!!!

Can appreciate that they are undergoing continuous renovation works, but to charge £115 for a room not worth more than £60 is not good. Nothing was mentioned about there being an additional charge for WIFI when we booked and upon arrival we were told that if we wanted a WIFI connection there would be an additional £8 a day charge. The owner did offer to reduce this to an additional £5 a night. A superior room would cost £170 a night B&B.

The hotel rate was double its real value. I would expect to pay around £50 - £60 for a hotel of this standard. Some rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard, but the original rooms are lack lustre.

There were not even the normal small touches such as nice tissues and selection of teas that one would normally expect to find.

Old fashioned styling and a little shabby we can live with, but only when properly maintained and at least clean. See attached photos.

It seems that they are trying to be something of a bouquet hotel, Another hotel in the area that really does truly make the grade is the Hall Farm Hotel in near Ashby . The very best rooms are a fraction of the price of the Hickman Hill Hotel.

This feedback for the Hickman Hill Hotel is the first negative feedback that we have ever had to leave. The Hickman Hill Hotel was not to the standard that we had expected or were used too. We normally stay in very nice hotels. This was a disappointment.

The Hickman Hill Hotel, Gainsborough lost 4 days of our business, plus the extra 5 days that we were in Gainsborough and all of our future visits.

Our work in Gainsborough was extended from 5 day to 10 days and for the remainder of our visit we stayed in a lovely hotel old Georgian manor house/ stately home in West Retford.

One positive thing has come out of this is that we now stay with the same hotel group and since September have stayed approximately 22 nights and have booked another 7 nights before Christmas.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs the room overlooking the main road and small car park to the side of the hotel. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter&Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your vitriolic comments. You may remember that it was your wife/partner/colleague whom initially booked a superior room. It was she who proclaimed that as the owner of a growing & successful company a superior room would both reflect and enhance your stature and position.

Shortly before you arrived the booking was changed to a standard double room due to budget restrictions.

We neither claim to be nor are we a Boutique Hotel. There are obvious differences between a standard and a superior room.

Finally we are thrilled and delighted that you have found alternative accommodation that meets your needs in terms of price and value. We wish your business continued success in 2014 and beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainsborough
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
10.3 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
12.8 mi away
Premier Inn Scunthorpe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Black Swan Guest House
Black Swan Guest House
#2 of 9 in Gainsborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eastbourne House
Eastbourne House
#4 of 9 in Gainsborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beckett Arm's
Beckett Arm's
#1 of 1 in Corringham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickman Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickman Hill Hotel

Property: Hickman Hill Hotel
Address: Coxs Hill, Gainsborough DN21 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Gainsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hickman Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over the last 25 years the Grade II listed Hickman Hill Hotel has charmed guests with its unique character, hospitality and intimate surroundings. Previously Gainsborough's Grammar School and built in 1795 the Hotel has nine spacious rooms named after former Head Teachers. Each room is en-suite with TV, Freeview box, Telephone & Tea/Coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and it is situated only 1km from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hickman Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickman Hill Hotel Gainsborough, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing