We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay with jane and martin very much”
Review of 12 Morton Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainsborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
12 Morton Terrace
Ranked #1 of 9 Gainsborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rottweil, Deutschland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I enjoyed my stay with jane and martin very much”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very clean and spacious room. Very good breakfast. There was always something to drink and to eat. Crisps, chocolate, several breads, cakes, scones, wine, orange juice. One evening jane even made a delicious crumble with ice cream for us.

Jane and martin could not be more welcoming and friendly.

thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keinschlechtesessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
63
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Visiting Gainsborough for a reunion with school friends of the 1940's-50's!!
Spent 2 nights at Number 12 and found our stay a most enjoyable experience. Nothing too much trouble with complimentary wine and home made scones to die for.
We had a recent breakfast at the London Savoy which, in our opinion, fell short of the delightful full English served up by Jane & Martin.
We are looking for an excuse to return!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here for one night and found the whole experience fantastic. Owners are so welcoming. The rooms are clean and immaculately presented. Nothing was too much trouble. I slept like a log and the best was yet to come with possibly the best full English breakfast I have ever eaten. Not a single negative about my nights stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending 12 Morton Terrace to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23SJC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Benfleet, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I have to say the proprietors were probably the friendliest most welcoming I've met and genuinely nice people. I only stayed 1 night , but it was a lovely homely atmosphere , with every attention to detail covered.
The rooms were immaculate and for a B&B well well apportioned and tastefully decorated. Homemade muffins and scones on tap and wine and treats waing in the room . All really nice touches.
If I were staying anywhere near that area again ,I would go out of my way to stay there again.
Great place to stay , run by lovely people.
Many thanks to you :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Damon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed one night for a Birthday Celebration Party on 08/02/2014 and found this accommodation to be of a very high standard. There was everything we needed in the room - including snacks and wine (which we were not expecting). Jane could not do enough for us - and was a brilliant hostess.
Complimentary home-made cake and biscuits were available in the lounge and the almond tart was absolutely delicious (midnight snack). The breakfast was first class. We cannot fault this B&B and would thoroughly recommend it. We shall make sure we use it again if we visit Gainsborough in the future.

Room Tip: We had room at the rear - which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4generations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband & I went to Gainsborough on 26 Sept 2013 for 2 nights. We thought since it's non peak season, we don't need to pre-book our lodging. But since we spent too much time in Bicester, we arrived pretty late at 7 pm & it was almost dark. We went past 12 Morton Terrace a couple of times but couldn't recognise it. It was also not in our shortlist because we thought it was situated in the countryside because the house looked like a nice country house & there was no mention in TripAdvisor that it was in town area (we wanted to stay near town).As it was getting dark, I started to panic & we just called anyway to check availability. Luckily they had one room left. We managed to get there and we were offered 2 rooms to choose from (as the other booking has not arrived yet). Both rooms were very nice & Jane received us very warmly & cheerfully.
The next morning, as soon as we opened our bedroom door, we can smell freshly baked bread & scones - so heavenly! The English breakfast was delicious & cooked to our individual preference! Breakfast was served at the stylish dining room. Jane & Martin were so friendly that later we found out that Jane & I came from the same home town in South-East of England! We also went to the same high school! What a coincidence!
We loved Jane's baking so much that she gave us some scones & muffins for our tea the next day and also some scones & cookies to bring back (which I carefully hand carried back to Singapore for my 2 kids to try!). We can't find such nice & delicious scones in Singapore!
Jane also showed us her garden with nice flowers & an apple tree (which Jane also plucked some fresh apples for us too!).
We are glad that we didn't pre-book our lodging - otherwise, we wouldn't have gone to 12 Morton Terrace.
We will go back to Gainsborough in the next few years & we will bring our kids too. So Jane, be prepared to bake more scones & cookies because my kids loved them!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonWHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervis Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here in September for 6 nights while visiting family and they were very good to us 'young people' haha. We loved the breakfast and we really enjoyed our stay. Room was lovely. Thanks again Jane and Martin :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainsborough
0.4 mi away
Hickman Hill Hotel
Hickman Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gainsborough
132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
13.5 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
5.5 mi away
Black Swan Guest House
Black Swan Guest House
#3 of 9 in Gainsborough
122 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brampton Dales Farm
Brampton Dales Farm
#4 of 9 in Gainsborough
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 12 Morton Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 12 Morton Terrace

Property: 12 Morton Terrace
Address: 12 Morton Terrace, Gainsborough DN21 2RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Gainsborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gainsborough
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
12 Morton Terrace Gainsborough, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing