We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars needed”
Review of Eastbourne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainsborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastbourne House
Ranked #5 of 9 Gainsborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Fautless,A lovely warm welcome by the owners, a lovely room, spacious and spotlessly clean couldn't fault anything, facilities was fantastic and a fantastic wifi connection. Breakfast was amazing cooked with local produce and homemade jams, marmalade. Nothing was to much trouble for the owners. What they offer has a bed and breakfast goes far beyond any places we have stayed at, I fully recommend Eastbourne house to all friends and family and would be very happy to stay again.Thankyou for everything.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mikeymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Many thanks for all your kind words. We appreciate all feedback especially such reassuring comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week whilst working in the area. It is a very well presented guest house with an immaculate garden and entrance. The owners were very welcoming and informative about the area as it was my first visit. The room was spotless an well equipped. I had a large private bathroom with a power shower which was excellent.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We appreciate your kind comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As others have said here, this is a gem of a place, situated mid-way between Lea Road station and the town centre, not far from a bridge over the River Trent. Despite the bathroom being down a floor, it's difficult to fault the place: it has wifi that actually works, free Kit Kats (soon eaten) on the tea tray, and a perfect breakfast. Peter will also pick you up from and drop you off at the station. Gainsborough itself, however, needs much improvement before it can become a tourist area. The riverside is neglected and apart from the Old Hall, there's not much to see. The Marshall's Yard shopping area nearby however is a step in the right direction.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en suite, but this not have a private bathroom, with dressing gown supplied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Just to be clear, we offer three en suite rooms and two other rooms with private facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

For me this is the perfect location as it is a 10 minute walk from the train station, 10 minute walk from the town & 15 minutes away from work.
I have stayed around 7 times & each time is always an absolute pleasure.
Peter & Jacqui are a pleasure to meet.
The rooms are fantastic & always absolutely spotless.
The wifi always works perfectly with no connection problems at all.
Breakfast is amazing with a huge selection of cereal, dried guitar, nuts & fruit juices.
This is then followed by an amazing cooked breakfast with many choices to have. Don't miss the fabulous local sausages & bacon. Huge rack of toast with lovely homemade preserves.
Selection of tea & coffee,
I am already looking forward to my next visit next month.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks for being so complimentary. We are always pleased to get such appreciative reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I booked an overnight stay for two over the phone speaking to Peter, an easy booking, I cannot praise Peter and Pauline enough, excellent accommodation and breakfast, easy to find (even if we did miss it first time!), my colleague and I were on a surprise visit to The Lincolnshire Otter for a Ruby wedding, Peter even took time out to deliver both of us to the 'Otter', how many others would do that? Thanks Peter & Pauline!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay but can I point out that my wife's name is Jacqueline. For some reason that we don't understand you are the second reviewer to name her as Pauline. We must make sure that we introduce ourselves correctly.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Rooms are not cramped, very clean and comfortable, and bathrooms are great. There's a good choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate. They even have kit kats to munch on. There's a fridge in the hall with real milk for those who prefer the real stuff. The hosts Peter and his wife are just wonderful. They are very helpful and accommodating. Breakfasts are simply delicious. You can't ask more of them. It's a good value for your money and is very conveniently located.
High recommended for whatever reason you're in Gainsboro for.

Room Tip: Any one is great. They're roomy, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to seeing you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Guesthouses provide that extra quirkiness that makes them more friendly than any hotel and this is no exception. Very clean, a fridge with fresh milk outside the room if you don't like uht. Large selection of teas, coffee, Horlicks and chocolate. Even kit kats in the room. Lovely breakfast with homemade jams. Wifi throughout the building free of charge. Private bathrooms for each room -not ensuite but robes provided. Walking distance to Marshalls yard with prezzo, costa coffee and same distance to the town centre. Great location, service and high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

We appreciate your kind comments. Thank you.
However, I would like to point out that most of our rooms do have en suite facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainsborough hotels
4.7 mi away
Black Swan Guest House
Black Swan Guest House
#3 of 9 in Gainsborough
126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brampton Dales Farm
Brampton Dales Farm
#4 of 9 in Gainsborough
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hickman Hill Hotel
Hickman Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gainsborough
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sunflower Park
Sunflower Park
#1 of 2 in Gainsborough
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne House

Address: 81 Trinity Street, Gainsborough DN21 1JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Gainsborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gainsborough
Price Range: £30 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastbourne House is an AA four star rated guesthouse located in the English market town of Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, just a few minutes walk from the town centre and Marshall's Yard retail and leisure facilities. We are very close to the Trinity Arts Centre. All rooms are en suite or with private bathrooms and come with plenty of storage, generous hospitality tray, TV and DVD, hairdryer, fan and comfortable beds. Free wireless Internet access is available in all rooms. Breakfast includes award winning products from Redhill Farm, a pioneer of high welfare outdoor pig farming producing nationally acclaimed free range pork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastbourne House Gainsborough, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing