We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful cosy weekend retreat...only 20 minutes outside Belfast city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballylagan Organic Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Ballyclare B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful cosy weekend retreat...only 20 minutes outside Belfast city”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is a stunning old farmhouse that has been renovated, whilst still maintaining its original features. Trisha and her husband have put the very best of everything into it with no cost spared...the sheets and towels are organic and probably the softest I've ever used or slept on! The rooms are really comfortable and cosy...the sitting room always warm and inviting. The tea rooms attached serve breakfast using items from the farm and the produce shop has a great range of fruit, veg and organic products. There are some beautiful country walks close by but within 20minutes you can be in the heart of Belfast city. A perfect weekend retreat.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ROC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    3
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Straid is a small village just off the road between Belfast and Larne. It's very convenient for getting around but not somewhere you would pass through unless you knew about it, which makes it a very peaceful location.
We stayed two nights in this gorgeous restored farmhouse but wished we could have stayed longer. We had the Irish Hare room which was beautifully decorated and of very generous proportions. The bed was superbly comfortable and we loved the heated floor in the bathroom. Lovely organic toiletries and bottled water were supplied in the room and tea, coffee and homemade shortbread were always available in the well stocked library. We are vegetarians and enjoyed crepes and French toast at breakfast as well as a good selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt and home baked breads and scones.
We found ourselves coming back to the B&B in the afternoons and earlier than usual after dinner in the evening as we just wanted to spend time relaxing and enjoying the lovely room and serene surroundings.
The hosts are charming and welcoming and Patricia does an amazing job of running the B&B and tea room where you can also have lunch if you just can't bear to tear yourself away from the place at all! We will definitely be back and will stay longer next time.
The only negative might be if you like to be able to walk to a local pub or restaurant as there aren't any in the village so will require a drive or taxi.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms have wood burning stoves so if you want one of these in the winter ask when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oniero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this wonderful B&B as it was not too far from Larne where we had just arrived on the ferry. What a lovely house. Whilst this is a farm it felt like staying in a chic boutique hotel but did not lack the character of a country house. Every attention to detail had been considered and included wonderfully comfortable beds. Breakfast in the organic cafe was delicious. Patricia was very friendly and made us feel very welcome in her beautiful house. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have been going to the tea room at the organic farm since the first week it opened. The surroundings are gorgeous, the food is fantastic (if not a little over-priced) but the service, in the 20 times (at least) that we have been, has always fallen below standard. Everything seems like you're asking the world when really all you want is a cup of tea. You rarely get a smile from some of the more experienced staff, or even a thank you. Today was no different and was the final straw, good food and surroundings will only get you so far

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Cblack21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, Owner at Ballylagan Organic Farm, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
First of all we would like to thank this reviewer for both the kind comments as well as the less complimentary. We need to know both our strengths and weaknesses. We are genuinely concerned that our service might be viewed as unfriendly. If it was on one occasion, we might blame it on a bad day. If we have managed to be discourteous on all twenty visits, there is cause for concern. We would very much hope that this customer might be prepared to make him or herself known to us in order that they can, as our guest, discuss how we might improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Loved this b&b. The room was immaculate with a fine view. The food was gorgeous-home made everything from muesli to bread. We ate far too much because everything was irresistible and ended up going home with a load of free range food in the boot of the car. Hosts were friendly and welcoming without being in any way intrusive. Their dogs were polite and very well trained and only came to you if invited. We also loved the pigs. Super.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowley regis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This accommodation was very posh and was well decorated. The room was gorgeous and lovely and the bed itself was perfect and gave a great nights sleep however maybe it was me but some aspects could have been improved.
1. There was small cobwebs on the ceilings
2. There was quite a few cracks in the bathroom
3. The shower was hard to operate and we had no prior instruction
4. The sausages at the breakfast were not very tasty to me but they were however organic which I am sure is an acquired taste.
This place is fine and lovely for a relaxing stay but the real issue is there was no atmosphere. I have stayed in other places with much more atmosphere. The host was hardly around and the house itself felt cold without warmth but it was defiantly of 4 star quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This B&B is the best we have ever stayed in. It is beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and hosted with charm. It would be equally good for business trips, families or couples. I would not dream of staying anywhere else on any future visit to Northern Ireland

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pootleperkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyclare
4.9 mi away
Corrs Corner Hotel
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
371 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
10.0 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
644 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
290 reviews
4.2 mi away
Five Corners Guest Inn
Five Corners Guest Inn
#1 of 3 in Ballyclare
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballylagan Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballylagan Organic Farm

Property: Ballylagan Organic Farm
Address: 12 Ballylagan Road | Straid, Ballyclare, Newtownabbey BT39 9NF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Newtownabbey > Ballyclare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyclare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballylagan Organic Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the Guesthouse at Ballylagan Farm. The house in which you will be staying was originally built as a single storey farmhouse in the early years of the 19th century. In the later 1800s as the farm prospered the house was extended both horizontally and vertically and was finally completely restored and refurbished in 2011. We are pleased to have retained all the character of this charming building, while at the same time offering a degree of comfort and serenity which we believe is second to none. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ballylagan Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballylagan Organic Farm Ballyclare, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing