We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back”
Review of Le Grand Coudray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Grand Coudray
Ranked #1 of 2 Precy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We loved out stay there last year so much that we are stopping off there again on our travels through France.
There are lovely villages and gardens in the area to explore. The wine areas of Sancerre and Pouilly are close by and the wines we tasted at small cellars were fantastic - and even better when we got back to the UK.
The evening meal that Jayne prepared was delicious, eating outside with the hosts in the dusk is a fond memory.
Breakfast was superb and was shared with a French family who apparently return every year when they visit relatives in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

Well driving from Paris for 2.5hrs and never been to the Loire Valley b4, never even to France our fate was in the long hours of research and the Hosts Jane and Peters description of their home and business. Walking into the Gite for the first time was relieving!
It was clean, country appointed,warm and smelled really pleasant, warm home- perfect.
Peter and Jane care about their guests during the entire stay and even after. It's no surprise it's not easy to acquire accommodations- because people always return for holiday and to see Peter and Jane, perhaps their new friends.
Within reason and perhaps even more your stay will be taken care of and all requests confirmed to reality.
All rooms are very nice- we like the green room. We are looking forward to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We met the charming owners of this B& B in June, 2011, at a cafe. We were invited to their beautiful inn for dinner the next night - 5 of us. Wonderful food, charming, friendly owners, and while we did not stay the night, we wish we could have. the property is lovely, real Country French. The food was the best we had in France! Next trip to France, we will definitely make reservations. Excellent home base for bicyclists.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

After a long drive from north of London, via Paris, Le Grand Coudray was the most perfect place to begin our family holiday. We stayed for one night only on the way to the South Of France and from the moment we arrived, we felt stress-free and relaxed. Peter and Jayne offered us drinks and a place in the garden to relax and let it be known that whatever we wanted to do was fine with them. They made the kids (10 and 7) feel really welcome too and they were riding their bikes around the place within minutes. Dinner was fantastic. Jayne obviously enjoys preparing it and is keen to discuss the provenance. She's clearly an accomplished foodie - anyone who can serve home-made (and excellent) courgette jam with confidence must be. As the adults wound down over the dinner table the kids were found Lego to play with in a corner of the kitchen-dining room in a way you would only expect to do at home. The bedrooms are superbly comfortable and restful and a country breakfast worth photographing finished off the experience. The relaxed attitude is never forced and the kids felt impressed enough to feel the need to hug our hosts as we left. That's probably all the compliment I really need to mention.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Last year we visited on our own, and were so impressed that we took friends with us for this visit, which was as delightful as the last. Jayne & Peter made us most welcome, with tea and cake on our arrival, followed later by a delicious dinner. The next day Jayne & Peter accompanied us to some local wineries where we sampled the wines of the region. A fantastic break away - we will certainly be back to sample their great hospitality and of course to stock up on our wines!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfanindre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our second stay with Peter and Jayne, and they welcomed us as old friends, the location is beautiful and quiet, the dinner Jayne cooked was of the highest quality, while Peter keeps the conversation and wine flowing.
Since our last visit, they have made a fourth bedroom, the rooms are so large you would not have noticed the reduction in room size if they had not pointed it out. Every thing about Le Grand Coundray is friendly and welcoming, the rooms are spotlessly clean with good quality furnishing and towels.
Breakfast is a grand affair, with our new dutch friends (guest there also) trying Jayne's freshly cooked English breakfast and their daughter introduced to Golden Syrup on Pancakes.
We have promised ourselves that we will stay for more than one night in the future and explore the surrounding area. Would I recommend this B&B to my friends?, only if I have secured my booking first.

Room Tip: Quiet country location with wonderfully spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireBusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed for 1 night at Le Grand Coudray whilst travelling by motorbike from the Coupes Moto Legende event at the Prenois racing circuit at Dijon to Le Mans. Jayne and Peter made us feel so welcome on our arrival after a long, hot ride and immediately offered us a cold beer from the fridge to cool down!

Our room (the Blue Room) was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a wonderful ensuite bathroom with a powerful shower and excellent quality towels.

Jayne and Peter invited us to champagne and appertifs outside and we then settled down to an amazing four course meal cooked by Jayne accompanied by local wine of exceptional quality. All the produce is homegrown or locally bought and the wines are all locally sourced as well.

The beds in our room we found to be exceptionally comfortable and I had the best night's sleep I can remember in a long while.

Our cooked breakfast the following morning was perfect with fresh ingredients and just the right portions for us.

We wished we could have stayed another night at Le Grand Coudray, but unfortunately our packed itinery made it impossible, however, we will definitely be returning to this little gem the next time we're travelling in the Loire valley. We'd thoroughly recommend Le Grand Coudray as the place to stay in this area - you'll love it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maverick267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Grand Coudray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Coudray

Address: 18 route de Menetou Couture, 18140 Precy, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Precy
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Precy
Price Range: £45 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old traditional French Longere renovated into a family home offering 3 letting Chambres, in French style Chambres d'hotes.2 are ensuite and the other has a private shower room adjacent. The property has been rated by GDF as 3 epis. It is also listed in several local journals for the cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Grand Coudray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing