We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PEACE & QUIET”
other travellers have booked this property
Gite on left - shares driveway with 'la Grande Maison' on right.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gite on left - shares driveway with 'la Grande Maison' on right.
Living Room Downstairs has Wheelchair access
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Gite on left - shares driveway with 'la Grande Maison' on right.
Living Room
Downstairs has Wheelchair access
Shared grounds
Kitchen / Dining
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
The Owners are Kiwis - Rugby Anyone?
2-floor, stand-alone, self-contained cottage
A babbling brook runs past the gite
Shared grounds - Gite in background
Upstairs Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Doves
Shared Driveway
Shared Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Embry, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
VINCENT Q
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PEACE & QUIET”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The village was very quiet although there were many houses. No local shops of course, not unusual these days in French villages. Lovely scenery and countryside. Some nice and busy towns around the village and plenty of hypermarkets. The house was comfortable, light and well appointed with plentiful linen, cutlery and crockery but a few things needed fixing such as the oven and fridge. Kitchen lacked working space and was quite dark. The owner was very welcoming and kept us entertained with his many adventures. Altogether a very pleasant, quiet and comfortable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MnCkiwis
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A country haven”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This stand alone gite is truly a home away from home. It had everything we could possibly need for comfort. We had 2 weeks there but felt like we could have settled in for months. Tucked away down a side road, opposite a stream, the setting is idyllic. Skylights upstairs give relaxing views of trees & village houses. The owners live in the house across the drive & Geoff was a mine of information as we socialized on the sunny patio. Sorry we missed Annette who was away at the time. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to experience a true slice of French countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thank you Christine. We are delighted you enjoyed and appreciated it so much. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Dec 2016
Thanks for the feedback Terry. We take all guests comments very seriously - this being the only negative comment we have had in 3 years of offering the accommodation for rent. I have passed your comments about the cobwebs to our cleaner. and I am sorry you experienced this.

With regards to the downstairs toilet - this is very common in France. We have, in fact, attempted to put a handbasin in the toilet but given its' size could not get permission to do so. The other company with which we list actually inspect the property and have indicated they are happy with the arrangements given the fact there is a shower next door to the toilet which can be used and the fact that the situation is not unusual. That said, I am genuinely sorry you were not happy with the set-up. Geoff would have been happy to provide you with a basin - we do all we can to respond immediately to any concerns raised by guests during there stay. We do thank you for staying with us and apologise that it was not to your satisfaction. Regards, Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
44edward1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Restful month in the country”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Despite the unsettled weather and unsettling politics back in the U.k. We have enjoyed a restful holiday in the gite.
The gite has excellent modern equipment , comfortable beds ,an excellent upstairs bathroom, and most important , a genial host and CATS.!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHelliwel...
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We required a gite for three days in August at short notice following a change of plans.
Annette was very welcoming and accommodating, especially for a short rental in peak season. Communications were excellent and everything was hassle-free.

The Gite is lovely, very well equipped and had everything we needed for our stay. It is located in a very quiet (allowing for animal noises!) and picturesque valley and there is lots to do in the area.

WiFi is a bonus and there is UK freeview TV if you desperately need it!

All in all a very pleasant stay and I would happily recommend the Gite, we may even return if we find ourselves in the area again.

Le Touquet / Berck Plage are about 35 minutes away,
Also worth a look is the Chemin de fer de la Baie de Somme (The Somme Light Railway) which makes for a very pleasant day out from Le Crotoy - about 45 mins away
and if you have young children (4-13) then Dennly's Parc is a real must for a great day out, and only 15 mins away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greyleade...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great gite”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Embry is a small village in the Nord Pas de Calais. We arrived to be welcomed by Annette - a very friendly, pleasant lady. We were made to feel extremely welcome. The accommodation is great, spotless and everything we needed was there. Annette and her husband Geoff have 4 cats and we were regularly visited by Bugga who loved to be fussed. Unfortunately we only managed 3 nights but intend returning for a longer stay sometime in the future. Whilst at Embry my husband managed a round of golf at Nampont St Martin - the weather was fantastic. We visited Agincourt where there was an excellent museum and the next day we went to La Coupole. This is a site where during the war rockets were constructed. Again this was excellently presented - just a word of warning, it is very cold inside. There is also a planetarium which regrettably we did not have time to visit. There are no shops in the village but plenty of supermarkets in various locations not too distant away so make sure you have an adequate supply of basics, eg milk etc for your arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJC_Trave...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place with every convenience possible and excellent hosts”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great welcome and explanation by host Annette. Lots of lovely thoughtful touches in the house and whatever we needed was there! Annette had gone out of her way to ensure that we would be comfortable (I have a bad back) and had put a special mattress topper on the bed - bliss.
There was a welcome bottle of bubbly in the fridge and a lovely Christmas cake (specially baked) - even had Christmas decorations up. The house is fully equipped with good WiFi - though no phone signal. This was not a problem as we used O2 TuGo via WIFi.
The area is beautiful and there are some exceptional restaurants nearby. Le Fournil near Fruges (brilliant Christmas lunch), Café des Arts in Le Touquet, and a lovely Bistro called Froggy's in Montreuil.
We had one of the most relaxing breaks I can remember. If there could have been one tiny improvement it would have been to use the log burner but the house was very warm and cosy. Hosts were just across the drive for anything we needed but left us in peace. We had frost and snow and magnificent star filled skies with very little light pollution. I would recommend this gite whole heartedly. It is one of the best equipped and friendliest we have stayed in in the last 30 years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The equipped kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing