We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Budget Ibis, but quite good really”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wasquehal
SomersetUK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic Budget Ibis, but quite good really”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

According to the Accor website, the old Etape hotels have been rebranded as Ibis Budget having received a make-over. In the case of the Wasquehal hotel this seems to have worked quite well, provided you don't have any expectations of granduer, which can be saved for brands further up the chain.
The decor seems reasonably fresh (end Oct '12) with few signs of wear and tear, which will be fairly inevitable given time. The floors are plain wood effect laminate which I expected to be quite cold in mid Autumn, but the little electric heater seemed to do a sterling job when cranked up a little. Being one up from an F1, the room has a small bathroom and shower, all of which were very clean and functioned as you would expect. I always rate the showers and this one scored 8/10, losing a point for the glass door which drips on the floor and a slightly restricted triangular shaped cubicle. Otherwise the water was as hot and plentiful as you'd want, and the nozzle is on a flexible hose. Unfortunately the standard make-over textured wall finish was peeling off the ceiling due to poor preparation, which Ibis need to sort out before they have to re-do thousands of bathrooms.
All the rooms are accessed internally (ie; no external walkways which I don't like) and door entry is by an electronic number pad, so don't forget the ticket you're given with your combination (or drop it outside in the car park !).
Personally I would reccommend a room on the side of the building next to the canal, ie; on the opposite side to the adjacent motorway. A very quiet night's sleep was had, which I'm sure wouldn't be the same on the other side. The bed had a firm but comfortable matress which didn't sink in the middle. When you book these rooms on the internet you don't get the option of which room you get. If you book this hotel, maybe try calling them and requesting a canalside room.
For convenience we also booked breakfasts which were served in the basic dining area by reception. at E5.95 each these were't too expensive, a good selection being offered, provided you don't want any meat/hem etc, which is also saved for the more expensive hotels (the breakfasts are all at an equivalent level to the position of the hotel in the chain, as are the prices).
Overall I was impressed that this Ibis Budget room was good value-for-money, clean, tidy and with a friendly, helpful receptionist. In preference to a F1, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Canalside=quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meadowsideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    110
    71
    26
    13
See reviews for
75
70
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metz, France
Level Contributor
538 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Two saving grace for the hotel: hot water in the shower, which is insanely necessary in the north of France, and a breakfast service staff who is patient enough to change the temperamental coffee machine (no, you don't get freshly brewed coffee here).

We chose this hotel because we're Club Accor members and this hotel was in their portfolio. What a mistake.

The first room we were assigned to had a broken toilet door. We went back down to the reception to change rooms, and were met with slight skepticism, but agreement to change us to next door.

I suspect every room is designed for three persons, with one bunk bed suspended above the head of the double bed. We looked on the bed above and saw hair and dust. Thankfully, we were two.

The space in the bedroom was awkward, and the bathroom was small (this coming from a "fun-size" person with a partner who resembles a beanpole). The bath towels were way too small and thin.

We slept on and off, for about four hours that night despite turning in early. The lights in the bedroom from the light switch (above our heads at the bed of all places) and the television, combined with the lovely highway orchestra, meant two dreadful job interviews the next day.

The breakfast was spartan. Stale bread, stale cake, jams that came in packets (a horrid flashback to syrup from McDonald's from my early childhood); coffee and juice from machines that didn't always work.

At least secure parking was included.

Room Tip: Very very important: Ask for even-numbered rooms. We were in room 207 and all rooms on our side face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FordPrefectII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wasquehal hotels

Show Prices
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Basic hotel but was very happy with location, parking convenence etc. Located near to ver large Leclerc supermarket it was great for that last bit of shopping before leaving France. Because of the shopping mall, there are also lots of good franchise restaurants. Our favourite was Chez Leon.
Clean and straighforward and the mattress was good too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abujamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Comfortable firm matress in a clean room in a fairly new hotel made for a good nights sleep. Adjacent to a large shopping centre means that there is easy access on foot to a variety of restaurants. Although handily situated at the end of motorway on / off ramps I did not experience any traffic noise. A pleasant overnight stop en route to my destination.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasquehal
4.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
#4 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
108 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel LILLE Roubaix Campus Gare
4.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Lille Centre Grand Palais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Campanile Lille Nord - Wasquehal
4.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Centre
3.0 mi away
HotelF1 Lille Metropole
HotelF1 Lille Metropole
#2 of 2 in Mons-en-Baroeul
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal

Property: Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal
Address: Le Parc de L'Ecluse | Avenue du Grand Cottignies, 59290 Wasquehal, Lille, France (Formerly Etap Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille > Wasquehal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wasquehal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing