We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Bal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

After a long drive, it was a very convenient stop on the was to Paris, bedroom and bathroom was very clean and good values for money. The food in the restaurant was good ( we ate pizza ), the owners spok medioka English but we managed .... Well worth a stop over

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olwen101265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here for one evening on our way from Calais to Normandy as we wanted to visit the St Omer market next morning. Although there were only two of us, we stayed in a family room, which was very comfortable with a very modern shower room which was spotlessly clean. There was a modern in room TV which picked up BBC as well as the French channels. Service was polite and friendly. We didn't have an evening meal but took breakfast the next morning which was the normal bread / croissants / yogurt / juice / coffee that one would expect, and perfectly acceptable. All in all, we thought the hotel was excellent value and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed here many times over the years. It's a very clean and modern hotel that has been done up not too long ago. Ideal for families as it is placed opposite a small family run theme park. There are interconnecting rooms, good for families with small children. Excellent value for money. The food in the restaurant is not great but the current owners have not been there for long so perhaps this will improve. The owners speak very limited English but we managed to get by with basic French/English.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here as a overnight stay prior to catching the ferry back from France.

Don't be put off by its low star rating. This place ticks all the boxes for a standard B&B.

It has recently been refurbished so the rooms are very pleasant.

The rooms are very clean.

The staff are friendly, hardworking and friendly, especially when we tried experimenting with our pigeon French.

The food was really good. The menu is basic bistro type food but executed superbly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginger_Face1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

When travelling from Calais towards Paris or further south, this hotel is an excellent stop, only ~5 min drive from the motorway but not too close to the motorway. Very friendly staff who work very hard to make this hotel a pleasant experience for their guests. Pretty standard but good quality food in the restaurant, comfy rooms. Suitable for all ages. In the summer a funfair park open next to the hotel which any young guests may well like. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HanneleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robertoetcarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mikaki9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
1.9 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
492 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
184 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
321 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
720 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Moulin de Mombreux
Le Moulin de Mombreux
#2 of 2 in Lumbres
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bal

Address: 500 Rue du Vieux Chateau | 62890, Tournehem-sur-la-Hem, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Price Range: £48 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Valley of the Hem, discover the Hotel Restaurant Bal offering 22 fully renovated rooms. We also offer a Campsite of 82 pitches. We welcome motorhome and have Mobile-Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Hotel Bal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing