We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overnight stay”
Review of Bal Parc Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bal Parc Hotel
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent overnight stay”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have just returned from France and again visited Bal Parc Hotel which is so convenient for the Tunnel. The usual friendly welcome and a well appointed and spotless room and free WI Fi . A good hearty meal and a good breakfast served on the dot of 8am,we were in a hurry for the train! Can really recommend it for a stop over. My only comment is that the TV, which has English channels is actually inaudible! not that we wanted to watch it really!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    24
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

What we liked:
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Spotless room, comfortable bed, power shower head
- Free & fast wifi
- Pet friendly (stay for free)
- Free parking
- Very quiet
Excellent value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here on the first and last nights of our holiday. The accomodation was small but perfectly adequate for an overnight stay, with a good bathroom, two good single beds and a modern TV. The restaurant surpassed all expectations, with a good menu, and lovely food. THe beer to drink is Affligem.
At an all in dinner, bed and breakfast (including four beer and two Calvados) for two for 131 euro, you couldn't beat it with a big stick! We will be going back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onyerbikeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel going Spouth to Italy both going and coming. The read the reports on booking.com and it sounded wonderful. Very disappointing. Thje room was very small on both occasions although it was very modern in appearance. The first thing we noticed on entering the hotel is the overwealming smell of cooking fat. Seems to be evrywere even on the pillows. The food would suit quite a lot of people especially if you like chips wth everything. For the prices charged the value was pretty good.
Breakfast was the poorest I have ever had in any hotel. Not even croissants. It wasn't cheap and wasn't really worth having. Better to save your money and not have breakfast .
Would I recommend it even for a one night stay through France? No!! There are better places in the north of France even commercial style hotels.
Would I stay again ? No!
Forgot to mention the WiFi at this hotel is useless.

Room Tip: If they have any ask for a large room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cresse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very clean room. Comfortable bed. Excellent shower, once I had worked out how to use it. For the price a very good hotel.

Restaurant. Reasonably busy for a Wednesday night. Only one waitress serving and probably only one person working in the kitchen as service took a long time. However, as we were on day one of our holiday we were in no hurry and it was not a problem for us. Lots to choose from the menu. However, I made wrong choices for both starter and mains. The fish for both was overcooked. Had it been cooked correctly it would have been excellent value for money.

Would definitely use again. Recommended even though my meal was not as good as I had hoped

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was our return journey final night stopover before returning across the channel back to the U,K.

The landscape southeast of the hotel is fairly flat, and the weather windy - making for an exhausting journey to the hotel. However, it is very pretty, quiet countryside well worth touring around.

We found the hotel with ease - obviously they have taken note of previous reports - and now have small roadside signs from approx 2 miles to the hotel. There is plenty of car parking space. Opposite the hotel is a childrens small theme park - more aimed at younger children; Do not expect Disney, but something more quant and 'simple'.
Check-in was quick and easy - though it was obvious they did not speak much English (i should improve my french)!. we were asked if we wanted dinner and breakfast - accepting dinner but declining breakfast (we wanted the big full cooked brekkie on the ferry home!).

I was surprised at how small the room was - twin beds, a single wardrobe, bedside locker and - for some reason - a desk (it would have been much better to have a chest of drawers). The room was fresh and clean - the beds a little soft for my personal taste. The bathroom was very modern with excellent shower and plenty of hot water!

There is a lovely modern bar area, restaurant, deck and terrace area. There is a pool table in the bar, but far more interesting was the game of petanque being played near the shop in the adjacent caravan/camp site (owned by hotel). There were also children playing football, so its obviously a very sociable place to stay. a couple of guests also had dogs - which are welcome!

We opted for the standard tourist menu at Euros 16, giving 3 courses with approx 3 choices for each course. The food was decent quality - not top notch - good enough and served with a smile and small chat. As per another report - the beer is good! Looking around the restaurant there was a good mixture of couples, a family etc.

Sleep was fine - this is very quiet countryside - so there was no road or disco noise etc!
After purchasing a cup of coffee to wake up with (mega strength - enough to...so ask for extra creamer) we checked out. There was a bill query - but this was sorted immediately.

It is approx 2 km through the village back to the toll road (coins, notes, cards etc at manless toll booth) and an easy 20 minutes run back to Calais ferry port. The road is very well sign posted.

I liked this small family run hotel - a friendly, great little place slightly off the beaten track to stay for either 1st or last night of a trip. Its distance from Calais ferry port and the tunnel is ideal. Not everyone wants to stay on the coast or in a chain hotel e.g Ibis etc. which are on a par with The Bal cost wise but they would probably have larger bedrooms. However, i would certainly stay here again too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OdieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
2.0 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
13.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Manoir Bonningues-les-Ardres
7.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
8.6 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bal Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Parc Hotel

Property: Bal Parc Hotel
Address: 207 rue du Vieux Chateau, 62890 Tournehem-sur-la-Hem, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Number of rooms: 78

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing