We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fortnight”
Review of La Cachette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grolejac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cachette
Ranked #1 of 6 Grolejac B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fortnight”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We arrived as John and Marion's guests and left as their friends. Despite travelling quite widely in Europe, we have never enjoyed a stay more - anywhere.

My wife and I stayed with John and Marion at La Cashette in August 2012 for two fabulous weeks. As is usual for La Cashette, we wish we could have stayed even longer. The location is perfect, on a hillside, enjoying lovely views from the terrace, on which to enjoy a evening drink of wine whilst watching the sun set across the valley, after which the dark skies provide an amazing starscape!

The room we enjoyed was large, tastefully furnished, very clean and very comfortable. We really couldn't have asked for more.As our room overlooked the valley, our morning view was a great start to each day and the al fresco breakfasts were a delight: varied and tasty choices always beautifully presented.

Touring from La Cashette is terrific because of its location and Marion's tips on best routes and places, which were tailored to our preferences and saved a lot of time on less scenic journeys. We avoided bottlenecks and enjoyed the most scenic viewpoints.

John and Marion lift this above the excellent to the superb. My wife and I cannot recommend La Cashette highly enough and, needless to say, we intend to return!

Room Tip: Both rooms are superb - we were shown both when there, by John and Marion. You simply choose en suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012. We wish we had stayed longer as there was so much to see and do in the Dordogne region and La Cachette is a perfect base from which to do so. John and Marion were so welcoming you couldn't have asked for better B & B hosts. They are very helpful when it comes to booking restaurants or giving directions, in fact the directions they gave us were superb, we never got lost! The breakfast was delightful and consisted of homemade breads, various cheeses, jams, meats, cereals and yoghurts. The accommodation itself was on a hilltop and gave stunning views across the valleys. Very clean and very comfortable you couldn't ask for more. We will almost certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Cachette for two nights late June 2012 and only wish we could have stayed longer, La Cachette is a little bit of paradise tucked away in the beautiful French countryside, with fantastic views over the Dordogne. Prior to our arrival John & Marion where very helpful with instructions from Calais to La Cachette including a great route around Paris, on our arrival they made us very welcome home from home in fact with Tea on the terrace, our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean and Marion’s breakfast was wonderful with a different theme each day with very fresh local produce. John & Marion where exceptionally helpful with local information already prepared that made our daily trips out very pleasant & fruitful. I do not normally write reviews but felt John & Marion and there beautiful BB La Cachette could not go unmentioned, you will not be disappointed. Mac and Sandra

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed with John and Marion in early-September. My wife and I were celebrating our 30th birthdays and my completion of Law school. We wanted to stay somewhere charming in Dordogne without breaking the bank, and La Cachette was a perfect find.

John and Marion are a charming British couple who maintain a clean and comfortable country-side home. It is a bed & breakfast and each morning they serve a very nice variety of fresh breads, complementary jams, cereals, yogurts and your choice of tea or coffee. It is a very nice way to start off your day exploring the Dordogne valley. Younger travelers and late risers should be warned breakfast is served promptly between 8:30-9am. At first we were a little wary of this rule, but it turned out for the best as we had the benefit of sharing our stories and sight-seeing tips over breakfast with the other travelers at La Cachette, and it helped us get an early jump start on the day.

Grolejac itself is quaint little village with a lake, bar, boulangerie, a little grocery store (petit casino) and 2-4 dining options depending on the time of year. This wasn't a problem though, as Sarlat (one of the most gorgeous towns in southern france) with some 40-odd restaurants is only 20 minutes away. Sarlat had very reasonable pre-fixe four course menus (14-17 euros) that were delicious. And the Hotel-du-pont in Grolejac makes a very nice steak and frites, as well as a top-notch creme brulee (my personal dessert mecca). We walked from La Cachette B&B to the restaurant for dinner one night [about 20 minutes], past walnut orchards and old stone farm houses.

La Cachette is a central point for exploring Dordogne and my wife and I found it very easy to find our way around the countryside, visiting beautiful riverside towns like la roque gageac and beynac-et-cazenac, and vista towns overlooking the valley, like Domme. While the home is right off of the main road, without a GPS, the turn-off might have been difficult to find. We had a GPS so it was not a problem.

Marion and John are pleasant and inviting. They have a wine rack filled with nice french wines where you are free to enjoy a wine on their patio overlooking their garden for a mere 3 euros a bottle. One night they even invited us to join them for a drink. They are also very knowledgeable and gave us excellent suggestions of restaurants in Sarlat (particularly one that had a cave inside - the name is failing me now).

Last, but not least, the one experience that was probably our favorite in all of our travels in France was canoeing down the Dordogne. Right at the Grolejac bridge are two canoe companies that rent you canoes, where you paddle down the Dordogne river stopping and taking pictures of all the beautiful towns, foliage and chateaus. They give you watertight canisters, pick you up down stream and drop you to your car at the end of your trip. We brought a picnic which we ate on the banks of the river. In a word: incredible.

If you stay at la Cachette you will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOneDayvohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and almost part of the family.
The room was spotlessly clean with clean towels and bedding changed on a regular basis.
The breakfasts prepared by Marion were wonderful with a different theme most mornings and included home-baked bread of various kinds.
John and Marion went out of their way to help with whatever request we made and offered tips on where to eat and routes on how make the most of locations we wished to visit. This all went to make our holiday one of the most enjoyable we have ever had.
The in-room book gave all the information you required, all prepared with great care by our hosts.
A testament to La Cachette is the visitors book and the fact that so many visitors return many times.
The local area offers some spectacular scenery all within easy reach of Grolejac.
Thank you again John and Marion.
...................................................................Malcolm and Dorothy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Beautiful village and house with friendly hosts who spend extra time to make a variable and generous healthy breakfast, give tips on planning and routes for sight seeing and assisted to make our stay restful. Dinner at nearby restaurants were wonderfully full of excellent quality local cuisine and the variety of sights nearby - great. The cave drawings, castles, canoe and bike trips are so easy to get too when you aren't in a large village or city. Hope to be back. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye_and_Peter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Superb location and hospitality from John and Marion. This is without doubt one of the best Chambres d' Hôtes we've stated in during many years of holidays in France.

And it's not a one-off, we returned again this year and it was as if we'd never been away. Same great friendly service, spotlessly clean rooms, a breakfast to set you up for the day and easy travelling to some of the most beautiful areas of the Dordogne.

Very much recommended..........

Ian and Lynn

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whittlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grolejac
3.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
1.8 mi away
Le Petit Paradis
Le Petit Paradis
#2 of 6 in Grolejac
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camping Les Granges
Camping Les Granges
#1 of 2 in Grolejac
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Ramissal
La Ramissal
#4 of 6 in Grolejac
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to La Cachette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cachette

Property: La Cachette
Address: Lieu Dit Barriere, 24250 Grolejac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Grolejac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Grolejac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cachette Dordogne Bed and Breakfast is in the heart of the Dordogne. Wonderful views across to the Dordogne Valley. Close to Sarlat and Domme and the picturesque riverside villages of La Roque Gageac and Beynac are a short drive. Restaurants and bar within walking distance. Relax with a glass of wine on our sunny terrace and take in the view. Cycle path (with bike hire), canoe hire on river Dordogne, lake with beach, tennis court - all in the village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Cachette Grolejac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing