We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel”
Review of Crinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Crinan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Beautiful setting lovely hotel with very friendly staff, quite a few cobwebs in the room but that apart its a lovely hotel, food was fantastic in Seafood Bar and breakfast first class, we will go back for sure on of Scotland most scenic hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view (we had a sea view room not sure if all room have sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAL000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear PAL000,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the Crinan Hotel. We are in a beautiful setting and this also brings the added benefit of having the freshest seafood. Thank you also for noting that you found our team to be very friendly, something we strive for to make our guests feel at home.

We are delighted to hear that you would like to return to one of Scotland's most scenic hotels and we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards
Brett Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    156
    55
    34
    38
See reviews for
66
327
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We returned to the Crinan Hotel in May 2012 full of excitement to re-experience the memories of our engagement there 14 years ago. Boy oh boy what a mega disappointment. To cut a long story short here is the basic info you require to make an informed decision on a stay at the Crinan Hotel. Barman/waiter went out of his way to be rude, staff argued in front of guests, wobbly balcony, food virtually inedible, damp on walls, unsealed windows, hair on potato scone, but the final straw was blood on bed linen. Plus point - amazing view. Up to you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Georgie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Georgie S,

We are sorry that you and your guests did not enjoy your recent stay at the Crinan Hotel. We take our guests complaints very seriously. You quite rightly pointed out some of these issues to the management during your stay and as well as an apology you were generously compensated.

Please accept our apology again and we hope that one day you might like to visit Crinan once again.

Kind regards
Brett Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just back from a two night break at the Crinan Hotel - what a great place! The weather was superb and the sunsets to die for. There is always something going on at the sea lock and the canal was busy which made it interesting to watch. The food was terrific especially the langoustines which we saw delivered by the fisherman at 3pm and which were on our plates at 7.30pm! Also scallops, halibut and smoked salmon to choose from - all delicious. Accompanied by good wine list. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. Catherine could not have done more to make us feel welcome. The Crinan Hotel is now firmly rooted as one of our favourite places and we will be planning another trip soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms have superb views but the ones towards Jura are really fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinkyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear SinkyGlasgow,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your opening statement about the sunsets to die for is so very true. Every evening as the sun goes down all the guests rush outside with their cameras to capture the glorious moment.

This time of year the canal basin is a pleasant place to sit and watch the world sail by as yachts pass through the network of canal locks.

Thank you also for noting how fresh is our seafood. Being right on Loch Crinan we are spoilt with having fresh ingredients straight from the fishermen themselves.

Our team always try their best to offer a welcoming service and I hope we will have the pleasure of offering you that service again in the near future.

Kind regards
Brett Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Many other reviews speak of the natural beauty of the area and the wonderful views over to Jura from your room. However equally importantly the staff (led by the indefatigable Catherine) are perfectly hospitable and make sure that all your needs are met.
The food and drink in the Seafood Bar (more formal restaurant also available) are excellent and good value. Check out 'the Pub' as well for some old pictures of the hotel and quiant personal memorabilia of the owners Mr &Mrs Ryan (nee McDonald)
Uniquely, you are also in the middle of a living, breathing Gallery with the work of Ms Frances McDonald and her visions of the western isles and Argyll dominating throughout the hotel.
Great place to stay, rooms comfy and spacious - i'm sure we'll return !

Room Tip: we were in Rm 26 with fantastic views facing Jura, nice large bathroom. Look out for the Gallery on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenpendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear goldenpendragon,

Thank you so much for adding your review. It was kind of you to highlight that as well as enjoying the natural beauty of the area you equaly enjoyed the service you received.

Thank you also for describing our hotel as a living breathing gallery desplaying many of Frances Macdonalds masterpieces as well other well known Scottish artists.

We look forward to you next visit to Crinan to enjoy good food, art, hospitality and the great outdoors.

Kind regards
Brett Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east scotland
Level Contributor
677 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Crinan Canal basin is magnificent , add the views out west to Jura - and be lucky enough to be there when the sun is shining and you are in one of the most beautiful spots in Scotland.

The Crinan Hotel is in the centre of this , with rooms looking over the basin and out over the islands to the west. Our room looked over the basin , looking to the east we woke to the rising sun and views over the locks, the lighthouse and luxury yachts entering and leaving the Canal.

We stayed two nights and enjoyed our evening meals and breakfasts . You would expect fresh seafood and it is here to enjoy , between us we tried monkfish,scallops and salmon . Additionally the lamb has to be experienced.

The hotel is comfortable and bursting with art , paintings on every wall and lots of books and catalogues to flick through as you slip down a glass or two. The third floor is a gallery , there was a exhibition on our Saturday night . A few people making the trip west to look things over.

Our room was spacious , comfortable but would benefit from a refurb. Separate bathroom with powerful shower and a full size cast iron bath - which I enjoyed soaking in after walking a good few miles during our stay - but again showing its age. I also prefer a duvet to blankets but that is my personal choice.

We really enjoyed our weekend in Crinan - the staff in the hotel were all very professional - were very happy to provide you with advice and suggestions for visiting this interesting part of the country. We were exceptionally lucky with the weather and this certainly put a very positive impact on our visit - however the hotel and the staff certainly played their part in our overall enjoyment.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views - the rooms overlooking the canal basin are over the bar and the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear yandinazetland,

I have enjoyed reading your indepth review on our hotel and we thank you for taking the time to write it.

We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and thank you for the complimentory words you wrote about our team, the food you ate and your overall experience at the Crinan Hotel. We agree with you that this is one of the most beautiful spots in Scotland. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy this spot while the weather was good and the sun was shining.

Thank you also for adding a picture of the view from your room. The rooms facing the basin all have balconies and as you metioned they benefit from the lovely sunrises.

Once again we are delighetd you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crinan in the near future.

Kind regards
Brett Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

it was perhaps our fourth stay in the last ten years, and it has maintained its place among our favourites. The hotel is in a marvellous position. A glass of sauvignon and a plate of sea food taken on the terrace overlooking the Crinan Canal basin is a rare treat. The fabric and decor is true to itself, with some evocative paintings of the west coast of Scotland. Our room was clean and properly prepared. The friendliness and attention of the staff made our stay very enjoyable, we ate very well, and the fine weather (late April) made for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 440JohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear 440JohnB,

It is wonderful to hear that we are one of your favourite places to visit and thank you for writing a review that expresses this. You are so right when you state that having a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and a plate of fresh seafood whilst overlooking Crinan Canal basin is a treat.

Thank you once again for your review. Please come again soon and experience this treat on the terrace of the Crinan Hotel.

Kind regards
Brett Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Always wanted to stay here since one of our crew had a bath after falling off the pier 40 years ago!.
We took advantage of a weekend deal 2 nights breakfast and evening meal.
Glorious weather from Friday to Sunday so no finer place to be !.
We are keen on our seafood so when the menu stated prawns landed at 4pm today-no contest really I had the queen scallop starter-very juicy full of flavour then on to the prawns they are served shell on so its a dismembering job but well worth it best prawns I have tasted.
My wife had the parma ham starter I pinched a portion excellent followed by the halibut packed with flavour.I rounded off with the excellent cheese board-bit off a bit more than I bargained for.
Breakfast was equally excellent with Stornoway black pudding for affectionadoes like me.
Following evening had outstanding crab rissoto followed by excellent lemon sole followed by best creme brulee I have ever eaten- wife had excellent fresh fruit salad both nights.
Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming the owner Mr Ryan was always around especially at meal times.The staff could advise on wine choice and were familiar with the menu all the staff multi tasked the manager serving at table with the troops- good for morale.
The hotel decor was comfortable clean and unfussy I did not expect central London luxury so was not disappointed.
All in all a great seafood dining experience- stunning views from our bed -how often will you get that!-friendly staff-stunning location.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a panoramic sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancell98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear ancell98,

What a lovely review you have written about our hotel and thank you very much for taking the time to write it.

We are delighted you were able to stay for a two night break and experience all that Crinan has to offer. We are famed for the freshness of our seafood so we are thrilled that you noted how much you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We are a small and happy team that multi task at everything to make sure our guests are made to feel welcome and it is rewarding to hear that you felt this welcome.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Next time you and your crew are sailing through please make sure you pop in and say hello.

Kind regards
Brett Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crinan
3.5 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
270 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
20.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
425 reviews
7.3 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
135 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 9 in Lochgilphead
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crinan Hotel

Property: Crinan Hotel
Address: Loch Crinan, Crinan PA31 8SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Crinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crinan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Crinan Hotel the langoustines are landed daily 20 metres from the hotel kitchen in time for lunch and dinner,watch your lobsters coming in and choose your special one .The Famous Seafood Bar is open for Lunches and dinners,al la carte menu booking not essential. Westward Restaurant with amazing views and set menu ,lots of good Scottish beef and lamb ,and exciting veggie options.This is family owned and run and the gallery on the rooftop has fine art by some of Scotlands best artists and the rooms are dedicated to different artists showing their work,boat trips to the Islands can be arranged.Original art by Frances macdonald can be purchased and Ross Ryan[the owner and son] Artistic,ambient and authentic ,a unique place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crinan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing