We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Crinan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Went to the crinan hotel for drinks. A nice lady at reception informed me of an art gallery on the 3rd floor.
Afterwards we went to the bar and ordered some drinks.
We were served by the most charmless man we've ever had the misfortune to meet making absolutely no attempt to engage in any conversation let alone minor pleasantaries.
A shame for not only the owners who will now not only be denied our future patronage but the area because we will now not visit the area .
We are fairly local to the area but I feel sorry for any foreigners who spend a lot of money to visit here and recieve such treatment.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, the point you have raised is currently being dealt with. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We continue to try and provide the service we are renowned for.

Regards,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    145
    50
    34
    35
See reviews for
64
302
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

On the recommendation of very good friends, my husband and I enjoyed 2 extremely relaxing and peaceful nights at the Crinan Hotel. We were absolutely blown away with the stunning location and views from our bedroom and en-suite. We ate in the seafood bar on the first night and in the restaurant on our final night. Both meals were superb and service impeccable. The staff were really friendly and could not do enough, but in a very unobtrusive way which we really appreciated. We drank some very lovely wines too. There are great running, walking and cycling routes right next to the hotel and we loved the little harbour area just outside. We left vowing to return again very soon. 3 weeks later when I realised I had left a very expensive pair of waterproof trousers at the hotel I called reception fearing I had lost them for good. I left a message and was called back straight away and told they had been found and kept in a safe place until claimed! They arrived through the post 2 days later! We highly recommend the Crinan Hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write we are so glad you enjoyed your Crinan experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the Crinan Hotel for two nights during March this year and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. This is a completely wonderful, unique place to stay with views that are difficult to beat. Our room had a large, front facing balcony overlooking the sea which allowed you to watch the fishing boats leave in the morning from the comfort of the huge, cosy bed.

We really enjoyed meeting Nick and Frances who are absolutely charming, wonderful hosts who have owned the hotel for 45 years. The furniture and art works alone must have taken years to collect and they really add to the cosy feel of the hotel - you could spend a day just walking around admiring the paintings alone (many painted by Frances and family members). Don't forget to also visit the charming bar with it's many old photos and cosy fire - and where you can chat to the locals.

We were made to feel so much at home that we were quite happy to leave our wellies in the vestibule of the hotel and walk to our room in our socks. You really feel at home as their are family photos dotted around the public areas and a friendly family dog roaming around.

The food was amazing from the beautifully cooked (and served) breakfast to the fresh, delicious langoustines in the evening - you must also try the fish and chips which were really yummy.

Without exception, the staff were wonderful and very friendly. They are also helpful in recommending walks .... which you will need to burn up the calories from the delicious food.

We are probably two of the most fussy people around and, as we are also in the hospitality industry, have high expectations. Nick, Frances and their team did not disappoint and we would highly recommend this hotel.

This is not a big starchy corporate hotel with shiny, perfect finishes - it is a cosy, charming family business and oozes shabby chique and good taste. Next time you want to get away from it all to a quiet place and recharge your batteries this is the perfect spot.

See you all next visit!

Duncan & Marion Hunter

Room Tip: Outdoor fitness centre - turn left as you leave hotel and you will find a hill straight ahead of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunmar_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments, we take great pride in and try very hard in keeping this character built hotel, individual bedrooms, outstanding scenery, artistic, fresh seafood, a charming hotel full of character.

Kind Regards,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at the delightful Crinan Hotel in Mid March this year. The hotel itself is brilliantly situated just yards from the sea and the views are spectacular. Our peaceful room had a beautiful view over the bay, although it was a bit damp & misty, the views across the bay were stunning. We went out for a walk up the path alongside the Crinan Canal which is just outside the hotel. We were ready for our dinner when we got back - the menu in the restaurant is fantastic and the locally landed seafood is delicious! The staff were attentive & friendly. A lovely little quiet corner of Scotland. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your Crinan experience and realise what we all work really hard at to make our guests feel welcome - we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Crinan is a lovely scenic place to stay but the hotel does not keep up with the area it is surrounded by. The choice and prices of food were terrible and although the views are lovely the inside needs to be seriously updated. The staff were not helpful or courteous with our luggage and the service was rushed and sloppy. Wont be staying agian.

Room Tip: Try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit, it is exceptional for people to find fault with the food and staff also with our competitive prices -
We would love to welcome you back and would ensure that you had a wonderful meal, upgraded room and a complimentary drink from the bar.

Nick and Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We popped in here for coffee and found it to be almost 'Poirot' like in the large lounge. We were very kindly allowed to go up to the art gallery on the top floor. What a view, absolutely beautiful. Although we did not see in the bedrooms, judging by the halls, we could imagine that they were immaculate. It certainly looked like a very nice hotel to spend some time in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crinan.

Nick and Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is well long overdo and rather late than never. I stayed at the Crinan Hotel over 20 years ago. And I must say, I've travelled all over Europe/USA and The Crinan Hotel is the only hotel that still stick out in my mind. The location was amazing. The rooms were large and inviting. Now, I'm not a big seafood eater as strange as that might seem coming from an island location by birth (Bermuda), but the Pinapple Sea food Tree dish (only way I can describe it) was out of this world. I plan to travelling to the UK later this year and without a doubt the Crinan Hotel will be seeing me again; no questions asked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and we are so glad you enjoyed your Crinan experience. We take great pride in making it a special place and we look forward to welcoming you back

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crinan
3.5 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
7.3 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
22.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
16.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crinan Hotel

Property: Crinan Hotel
Address: Loch Crinan, Crinan PA31 8SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Crinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crinan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Crinan Hotel the langoustines are landed daily 20 metres from the hotel kitchen in time for lunch and dinner,watch your lobsters coming in and choose your special one .The Famous Seafood Bar is open for Lunches and dinners,al la carte menu booking not essential. Westward Restaurant with amazing views and set menu ,lots of good Scottish beef and lamb ,and exciting veggie options.This is family owned and run and the gallery on the rooftop has fine art by some of Scotlands best artists and the rooms are dedicated to different artists showing their work,boat trips to the Islands can be arranged.Original art by Frances macdonald can be purchased and Ross Ryan[the owner and son] Artistic,ambient and authentic ,a unique place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crinan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing