We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peerless setting, great food.”

The Crinan Seafood Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Crinan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
Restaurant details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Peerless setting, great food.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Crinan is a very small remote town at the head of the Crinan Canal and one doesn't expect gourmet food here. The restaurant looks slightly simple with its pine panelling, but its position overlooking the lock gate and the little lighthouse could not be more marine. Before ordering we asked if the scallops had been freshly caught and whether the sea bass was fresh rather than farmed. Having been given assurances on both counts, we went ahead, and were rewarded with the best meal we had in our week in Scotland, absolutely deliciously fresh, cooked to perfection with no frills. The wine and the coffee were fine for their purpose, and the whole meal added up to a very engaging experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh & Tasty”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had sea bass and a crab & Parmesan risotto, both very tasty. Friendly staff and good value for money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top quality catch”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Dined here whilst staying at the Crinan Hotel with hubby and 3 friends.As we all enjoy seafood and whisky, this was the ideal dining experience and although a bit pricey compared with our pretheatre Glasgow deals, it was probably well worth it for a treat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Fish”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a find, extremely fresh seafood, saw some of our supper arrive on local trawler.
Great rooms, with superb views, very comfy beds, ask for larger rooms though as some on the slightly small size - if you are big people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluebeam28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“simple but good”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

turned up here late on a monday evening last time i visited was about 20 years ago and not changed too much - we were the only table, really pleasant staff, plate of langoustines, a dressed crab, side of chips bottle of viognier £50 great value - simple food but straight out of the sea, pretty basic restaurant, good staff i'll go back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crinan Seafood Bar also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Crinan Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing