We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
630
38
6
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
38
6
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach boy vanilla yogurt beach suite octopus fish our honeymoon french polynesia overwater bungalow bora bora coral gardens each morning half board dinner menu perfect end half day tour snorkel trip hermit crabs
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate my husbands 50th Birthday, what a treat it was!
Our over water bungalow was stunning and picture perfect, this is really a place to relax and enjoy the amazing views and turquoise waters.
Elisabeth and Pierre are wonderful hosts and the food was absolutely fantastic.
If your looking for a St Regis type hotel with pools, fast wifi and lots of kids activities this is not the place for you, if your looking for authentic French Polynesian room, wonderful staff, fabulous food and place to relax then this is the place for you. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and hope to be lucky enough to go back one day. Thank you for the wonderful memories.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous but the water bungalows are a real treat!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We had an incredible time at Vahine, primarily because of the beautiful, secluded location. It was so therapeutic to exisit without hearing or seeing a car for a few days! We were in one of the three overwater bungalows, but the beachside ones also looked great. Being able to swim, kayak or paddleboard on a whim was lovely. (I even managed a good 45 minute run a few mornings by running a repeated circle path aroudn the island however many times.)

Pierre's food was sublime--definitely the best meals we had in French Polynesia. It was also fun to talk with him about his various rum decoction projects and sample his coconut rum. Elisabeth is a fantastic hostess, and set us up with a tour of a family-run vanilla farm on nearby Taha'a. My partner did the onsite Vahine nature tour and loved learning about plant medicinals for various ailments. The ambeince is totally charming and relaxing; all the staff were gracious and helpful. If you are considering a splurge, I'd say this is worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zosime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This was our first time to French Polynesia, we have traveled many places, I have no idea why it took us so long! We researched pretty well and found this little gem of an island. I almost hate to let anyone know, but from the minute we arrived, the staff was excellent, took such pleasure in making sure we had whatever we needed. Elisabeth and Pierre were just amazing! And oh my, the food was fantastic!! not a meal that we did not enjoy for sure. We stayed on one of the water bungalows, this was on our bucket list, and it was just breath taking, the view and the beauty of the islands and the water, just amazing. One last impression was that of Mata and Vivi, they both were so pleasant and truly thoughtful, Mata took on several snorkeling excursions and was so friendly, and Vivi was our bartender, and waitress, she was awesome too! we also did some diving while we were there, and so beautiful!
Thank you to all of the staff at Vahine, we will return for sure!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lisahamilton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, General Manager at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Lisa & Larry,

Thank you so much for your review! It has been a real pleasure to take good care of you. =) And Vivi was happy to make different drinks for you everyday. =)
Thanks also a lot for following us on Instagram! I'm usually really bad in social media but I decided to give it a try. =)

We would be more than pleased to welcoming you back in our small paradise!
We hope you had a safe trip back home and please accept our warmest regards from the entire team.

Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Our visit to vahine island was simply wonderful. Elisabeth and Pierre make you feel so welcome from the moment you book right up and until you leave. Nothing is too much trouble. All the staff especially Vivi were so friendly and charming. We had a beach suite and it was simply paradise. Views to Bora bora. I could have sat in the hammock all day. The food was better than many Michelin starred restaurants and Pierre made it so easy for my husband who is a coeliac. The ambiance is so special with black tipped sharks in the lagoon

We loved it here so much that when our next hotel wasn't as good we came straight back. Elisabeth and Pierre were marvelous and so welcoming; I have honestly never felt home sick for a hotel before-it is that amazing!

The rooms are gorgeous and Polynesian. The aquarium coffee tables are great fun.
The new spa is also very lovely. Perfect for having a massage whilst listening to the gentle sounds of the waves.

This is an incredibly special place. It was an honour to stay there.

Stop your search, come here. You won't regret it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We visited Vahine Island last year and had a few issues that were not really the fault of Vahine. But overall we enjoyed our stay so we decided to come back for a second visit. The second visit could not have been more perfect. The management made sure to address the problems we had the first time and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful visit and that these issues did not happen again. The island is still wonderful, food was just as great as the previous visit and the service is very good. Additionally, some improvements have been made which we were not expecting including the remodeling of some of the bungalows and the addition of a sand beach up by the barrier reef were I do my snorkel entry. These were wonderful touches that made our stay even more enjoyable.
Another item we loved about Vahine was the little things they do to make sure you have a great visit. From the free morning boat snorkel trip the hotel provides to the free polynesian show one evening at dinner for the guests. They want you to have a great time. Even the paid activities are wonderful as we had the hotel rent us a car so we could drive around Tahaa. We never could have done this on our own as the car rental owner did not speak a word of English. Having someone at the resort to help out with those types of activities was something we really appreciated.
I would specifically like to note the management of Vahine, Elizabeth and Pierre. They take so much pride in their job and it shows in the grounds, the customer service, and the food. This time around we truly realized how important good customer service is to us while on vacation. A resort location can only get patrons to the destination, but it is the customer service that brings people back year after year. Elizabeth and Pierre have mastered this art of excellent customer service. For example, during our stay there was a forest fire very close to our home in the United States. Based on the little information we could get we were very concerned we had lost our home in the fire. Not an ideal situation, especially when you are halfway around the world. When Elizabeth found out about our situation, she bent over backward to do anything she could to help us get more information. She offer to let us use a hotel laptop with internet, make long distance calls (which I have to imagine would have been horribly expensive for Vahine) and even brought us a couple of free drinks to try and calm us down a bit. She repeatedly checked in with us to make sure everything was ok with our home (which it was, we did not end up losing our home) and to see if there was anything else she could do.
Vahine could very easily be a small, so-so resort on a tiny island in the middle of nowhere if it was not for the effort of the management and staff who make it an amazing place. We will keep coming back to Vahine year after year for as long as Elizabeth and Pierre are at Vahine making this place a truly world class small boutique resort.

Room Tip: We prefer standard bungalow #8. It has great privacy, great view and is far enough away from the main common areas.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TFriend2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews