We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
642
38
6
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
38
6
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach boy vanilla yogurt beach suite octopus fish our honeymoon french polynesia overwater bungalow bora bora coral gardens each morning dinner menu half board perfect end half day tour snorkel trip special experience
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on vahine island for 5 days as part of our 2.5 week long honeymoon in FP. In between our island explorations, this sounded like the sort of relaxed island we needed!
As soon as we arrived we knew we had made a great choice! We were greeted by Elizabeth, who together with her husband Pierre, manages the place. Because there are only a small number of guests, they can really take the time to get to know you and after a welcome cocktail, Elizabeth explained the island to us and showed us to our bungalow (we had a beach bungalow, of which there are 6, and they also have 3 over water). The bungalow was lovely, with a little deck with a hammock and sun loungers looking out over the lagoon and with a view to Bora Bora (we enjoyed the sun set view every evening!). The island is perfect for relaxing but you can also get more adventurous if you want. It's pretty small but there are lots of little areas to explore. We spent a couple of afternoons just lazing around on our deck (they also have some lounge chairs on the beach) and spent hours watching the "wildlife": the crabs retracting into their holes, an abundance of hermit crabs, lizards, plenty of fish and even black tip sharks swimming up to the dock in the evening.
In the mornings we often walked along the volcanic beach and watched the sun rise over the ocean.
Usually in the mornings you can join Roy to take you out snorkelling - we did this a number of times, and would definitely recommend it. It's a beautiful coral garden and he will point out different fish and if you're lucky even pull up an octopus.
There is a coral garden right outside the hotel too, in fact you can wade in from the beach bungalows, but it is quite shallow there, so you need to be a little careful!
In the afternoons they often offer some sort of entertainment, like leave weaving etc if you want to join in.
They have snorkelling gear and fins for all guests to borrow during their stay. There are stand up paddle boards, kayaks, and canoes to take out whenever you please. And they have badminton, Boccia, and even two golf holes in the coconut grove!
If you want to explore further afield, you can book trips to Tahaa island etc.
We went fishing one morning and caught 3 baracudas - the kitchen then prepared a delicious lunch for us from our catch!!
If you want to do anything, just ask, they will try to accommodate. We went out kayaking to the neighbouring island one day and packed a pic nic lunch to take with us - wonderful!
It can get a little windy some days and we had the bad luck of 2 days of rain, but then the sun came out once again :)
Now the best thing about our stay I would say was the food! It was delicious - we were spoilt!! For breakfast we were served fresh juice, coffee, fruit, homemade yoghurt, a selection of cereals and breads, homemade jams (the coconut one is amazing!!! I asked for the recipe and will try to replicate this at home), and you can order eggs. For dinner they have a 3 course menu every day and they show you the menu in the morning so if you have any distastes or dietary requirements you can let them know. We always just tried what was on the menu and it was delicious! A lot of fresh fish and the desserts are to die for!!
You can order lunch a la carte in the restaurant, although we were still too stuffed from breakfast sometimes!! The cocktails in the bar are also very yummy!
The staff are all lovely and we always felt very well looked after. This isn't your usual chain resort, it really feels different. Don't expect any entertainment in the evenings etc (although there are plenty of board games etc to keep you busy if you fancy!) but such an idyllic place!
Such a shame we had to leave this little piece of paradise - I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a little peace whilst in Polynesia! Thank you Vahine for your hospitality!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank londontravelbug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, General Manager at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear F & S, =)

What a wonderful review! =) Thanks for taking the time to write such a long and exhaustive comment about your experience with us. =) That's amazing. =)

I hope your flight back the UK was fine and you found a specialist that could provide some fresh coconut to cook your own coconut jam now you have our recipe. =)
I'm sure you also already tried the vanilla yogurt with the vanilla from the vanilla plantation you visited... So easy but so yummy!

Thanks again a lot for your time and especially for choosing our small paradise as part of your important honeymoon trip.

Have a lovely week and hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon! =)

Warmest regards,

Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate my husbands 50th Birthday, what a treat it was!
Our over water bungalow was stunning and picture perfect, this is really a place to relax and enjoy the amazing views and turquoise waters.
Elisabeth and Pierre are wonderful hosts and the food was absolutely fantastic.
If your looking for a St Regis type hotel with pools, fast wifi and lots of kids activities this is not the place for you, if your looking for authentic French Polynesian room, wonderful staff, fabulous food and place to relax then this is the place for you. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and hope to be lucky enough to go back one day. Thank you for the wonderful memories.

Room tip: All the rooms are fabulous but the water bungalows are a real treat!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We had an incredible time at Vahine, primarily because of the beautiful, secluded location. It was so therapeutic to exisit without hearing or seeing a car for a few days! We were in one of the three overwater bungalows, but the beachside ones also looked great. Being able to swim, kayak or paddleboard on a whim was lovely. (I even managed a good 45 minute run a few mornings by running a repeated circle path aroudn the island however many times.)

Pierre's food was sublime--definitely the best meals we had in French Polynesia. It was also fun to talk with him about his various rum decoction projects and sample his coconut rum. Elisabeth is a fantastic hostess, and set us up with a tour of a family-run vanilla farm on nearby Taha'a. My partner did the onsite Vahine nature tour and loved learning about plant medicinals for various ailments. The ambeince is totally charming and relaxing; all the staff were gracious and helpful. If you are considering a splurge, I'd say this is worth it.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zosime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This was our first time to French Polynesia, we have traveled many places, I have no idea why it took us so long! We researched pretty well and found this little gem of an island. I almost hate to let anyone know, but from the minute we arrived, the staff was excellent, took such pleasure in making sure we had whatever we needed. Elisabeth and Pierre were just amazing! And oh my, the food was fantastic!! not a meal that we did not enjoy for sure. We stayed on one of the water bungalows, this was on our bucket list, and it was just breath taking, the view and the beauty of the islands and the water, just amazing. One last impression was that of Mata and Vivi, they both were so pleasant and truly thoughtful, Mata took on several snorkeling excursions and was so friendly, and Vivi was our bartender, and waitress, she was awesome too! we also did some diving while we were there, and so beautiful!
Thank you to all of the staff at Vahine, we will return for sure!!!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lisahamilton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, General Manager at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Lisa & Larry,

Thank you so much for your review! It has been a real pleasure to take good care of you. =) And Vivi was happy to make different drinks for you everyday. =)
Thanks also a lot for following us on Instagram! I'm usually really bad in social media but I decided to give it a try. =)

We would be more than pleased to welcoming you back in our small paradise!
We hope you had a safe trip back home and please accept our warmest regards from the entire team.

Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Our visit to vahine island was simply wonderful. Elisabeth and Pierre make you feel so welcome from the moment you book right up and until you leave. Nothing is too much trouble. All the staff especially Vivi were so friendly and charming. We had a beach suite and it was simply paradise. Views to Bora bora. I could have sat in the hammock all day. The food was better than many Michelin starred restaurants and Pierre made it so easy for my husband who is a coeliac. The ambiance is so special with black tipped sharks in the lagoon

We loved it here so much that when our next hotel wasn't as good we came straight back. Elisabeth and Pierre were marvelous and so welcoming; I have honestly never felt home sick for a hotel before-it is that amazing!

The rooms are gorgeous and Polynesian. The aquarium coffee tables are great fun.
The new spa is also very lovely. Perfect for having a massage whilst listening to the gentle sounds of the waves.

This is an incredibly special place. It was an honour to stay there.

Stop your search, come here. You won't regret it.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 145emilyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews