We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entire wedding parties rooms were not available. We had to spend 2 days in temporary rooms, living out of our suitcases unable t” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beloved Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Wyckoff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Entire wedding parties rooms were not available. We had to spend 2 days in temporary rooms, living out of our suitcases unable t”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

They are terrible , I got so upset it ruined my entire experience. I feel so sorry for the bride and her family. They over book , and take your money and there is nothing you can do about it but write a terrible review!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 256everett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Beloved Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this discontent to our attention.

We would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for the situations faced during your stay which caused you uncomfortable moments. By standard Beloved Hotels provides a personalize service and attention to the details from the moment of arrival. The satisfaction of our guests is the upmost important.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,689
    384
    120
    41
    27
See reviews for
924
1,797
73
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at TBH before transferring to the Excellence Playa Mujeres. This trip was our sixth to Excellence resorts. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the pool in building two. We had requested a quiet room and this one certainly fitted the bill. Initially, before arriving we were concerned that we might be troubled by children as we normally go to AO resorts but all the children we saw were exceptionally well behaved. For those of you who might be interested all the restaurants have children's menus and they have a children's club for those aged four to twelve with their own club, park and mini water park. I would say that really this resort is only suitable for children up to about 7 as there are really no clubs and facilities for older children. The food in all the restaurants is of a good quality, although you need to be very specific as to how you would like your meat cooked, otherwise it might end up too rare. We particularly liked Lupita which is the Mexican "fine dining". The Lupita lounge is a great location for an alfresco cocktail, although we found the service here to be rather slow. We did ask the sushi chef to suggest some special items but he just directed us to the regular menu. We chose for ourselves and we were pleasantly surprised . The Aroma was very good for breakfast but a little disappointing in the evening .Both for the quality of food and for the service which was very slow. We enjoyed lunch at the Isla grill and had the tasting menu for breakfast at El Mar on our last day. Although it was a good concept, we felt that the courses were heavily bread and sweet pastry based and even the fresh juices were high in sugar, so not a very healthy option. Also, it took over an hour so it wouldn't be suitable for anyone in a rush, or those with children as the menu wasn't suitable for them. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay for us for the four nights but we would have got a little bored with the restaurant options if we had stayed for longer.Although all of the staff we met were very helpful, we would like to mention Susana at Aroma, Patricio, for the extra services he provided and Hayden in the lobby bar as a great mixologist.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We returned a few days ago from a brief trip to TBH. We stayed 3 days prior to a scheduled move to the Excellence next door. We enjoyed our stay but will likely not return. The hotel is beautiful & the staff is wonderful. We tend to stay at adults only resorts & this visit reinforced our decision. The young children were barely noticeable during the daytime. Dinnertime was another story. Meals at TBH tend to be a rather prolonged affair & most 2 to 10 year olds do not tolerate a 90 minute dining experience.
We also felt the night time activities were very limited as would be expected at a family resort. We may be old-timers but we are not over-the hill yet. We "closed down" the lobby bar (at 11 PM) 2 of our 3 nights. On a positive note, we found Hayden (sp?) the bartender to be both attentive & great entertainment by himself.
We recommend TBH for families looking for a upscale resort or couples wanting a boutique-type AI experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I found a great deal on the hotel through Expedia. With direct airfare, the price was lower than other all-inclusives we have stayed at in the Caribbean. We had the Ocean View Suite and the room was an excellent size for my husband and I. It had everything we needed - the minibar was well stocked with drinks and snacks. There was a walk in closet, and the balcony with the bed was a great place to read a book. The food was very good, although I agree with the other reviews, at times the meals seemed to be a bit long, but for us, it was not an issue. The staff was wonderful - very nice, very helpful, and very happy. We have only positive things to say about everyone from the bellman to the concierge. This is not the party spot, it was a great place to relax and unwind.

We never had an issue getting a place at the beach or the pool, and I did not notice people leaving towels all day and not showing up, as some of the other reviewers noticed. There was no need to make dinner reservations. We ate at all the restaurants, and for us we liked El Mar best for breakfast - the tasting menu is excellent and changes everyday. We liked Isla Grill best for lunch and Aroma for dinner. One note, the website says you cannot wear beach coverups, or casual gear for breakfast and lunch - we did not find that to be the case. It was very casual for breakfast and lunch - coverups were acceptable. Dinner it was a little more beach chic but not dressy by any means.

The turn down service at night was excellent. The grounds were beautiful and there was always work being done. The reasons I would not give this a 5 were some of the timing issues with meals (it was not really consistent with how long things took), the floors and the rugs in the room were not super clean, and the food quality - although overall it was really good, it was not always consistent. Better than most all inclusives, but sometimes the same dish was better than the day before or visa versa. And while I was in the spa, using the pool (as part of my spa treatment), there were men in there working on hanging drapes - this did not lend to being the most relaxing experience. I wish I could give it a 4.5.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to rest and relax for a week.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2wander2wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were on our honeymoon & the hotel took it upon them to make our stay most enjoyable. There food, service, staff & property everything was just great. The room we opted for was a Penthouse suite inclusive of all day dinning & alcohol. The bar was stocked with good full size bottles, the room service & food even at 3am was outstanding. The room was huge with a plunge pool, kitchen, two baths, veranda, in room Jacuzzi. All in all a great great stay

Room Tip: The hotel is not on the regular Hotel strech close to town but more than makes up for the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akhilesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Its hard to find a balance between tasteful modern ambience/decor (as displayed by the resort's minimalist cordoba/spanish style architecture and colour palate); good quality food and variety (my personal opinion is the quality of a la carte would be better than buffets, although the breakfast buffet is exemplary); family friendly environment without making it overwhelmingly childish (I hardly noticed that there's kiddie splash pool in the resort and there are ramps everywhere for strollers); adult oriented entertainment (wonderful outdoor lounge/sushi bar/swim up pool bar/wine/cigar/coffee tastings); and a focus on relaxation (spectacular spa!). The whole resort also felt very intimate without being intrusive.

The hotels consistently good ratings speaks for itself. Complaints about the food are unfounded (especially if its about soggy fries and dry burgers; I bet that reviewer didn't try Lupita's crab stuffed pablano peppers). However the desserts could do with a bit of an improvement. And if you knowingly go to a family resort and complain about kids then your judgement should be poor by default, and as a result should be disregarded.

Additional thanks to Alex at the beach for constantly bringing drinks and food. Sarasai (sp??) was also wonderful at providing over and above service.

Cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Ocean View Junior Suite on the 3rd floor in Building 2. Amazing view of the pools as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AduNashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place is amazing. We were here from May 3-9. Its the 2nd all-inclusive we've been to, with the other being Excellence Punta Cana last year, so that resort is my primary frame of reference. There were a few staff members I want to single out for their great service. Patricio took care of us after initial check-in & made sure we were comfortable despite the rain (It rained most of the first 2 days, but amazingly that didnt take away from our experience). Valeria knew us by name everytime she sat us down at El Mar & Aroma. Juan Garcia is the head chef & he made my wife & I a great private meal while giving us a tour of the kitchen & letting us watch him prepare the courses.

Rooms: We were in Hermosa 4, which is one of the beachfront casitas. We cant recommend getting one of the enough. So much privacy, away from the riff-raff from some of the larger parties at the hotel, and a great view from the top floor.

Food: You honestly learn a lot about the type of person that can come to a place like this and complain about the poor quality of the meals. You sit down for a dinner at Aroma, where the menu contains grouper, ribeye, sea scallops, duck breast, lobster bisque, lamb, beef tenderloin, among many other choices, and your appetite will be well taken care of. The quality of the entrees is high.

Beach: The water is very calm and nice to look at. A couple of days there was a lot of seaweed that washed up, but for the most part it was clean. I will say that there is not a lot of beach space between where the chairs are & where the water is. Its all a little cramped, but its no big deal.

Spa: We did the Aqua Viva Hydrotherapy twice. Includes the steamroom, sauna, a 2nd fancy steamroom, ice bath, a few water massages in the pool & an actual massage at the end. Only $37 if you book it ahead of time.

Random Items: The resort is small, so its only a short walk to wherever you gotta go. We each probably tipped $40 or so over the 6 days & felt that was appropriate. This place is wedding heavy. If you assume about 200-250 people are staying here at any given time, a couple wedding groups of 20-30 people can really take the place over. I think about 3-4 weddings occured during our stay. Hey, good for the couples & good luck in life, but its something potential guests should know about. We took a Hobie Cat tour, which is just a 30 minute or so ride in the catamaran with one of the watersport employees to about halfway between the beach & Isla Mujeres. This was great & I highly recommend doing this. There are quite a few small kids, and other than a few whiners they were good & not a bother.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jrlangf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.2 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,137 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#4 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloved Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloved Playa Mujeres

Property: Beloved Playa Mujeres
Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beloved Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' Adults only all-inclusive Hotel, in the perfect setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Southall Travel and LoveHolidays so you can book your Beloved Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing