We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Nearby Hotels
US$579
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$542
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$475
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finest Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$420
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa(Playa Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$216
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Dunamar(Playa Mujeres)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$493
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$481
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,154)
Filter reviews
4,154 results
Traveller rating
3,481
448
145
44
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,481
448
145
44
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslupita loungela amadaplunge poolaroma restaurantlupita restaurantstory casitabeachfront casitanatura barroom serviceaqua vivaocean view terracesushiboutique resortbeach conciergeswim up barseasons toursour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,282 - 2,287 of 4,154 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Beloved in July and had an amazing time. The level of customer service offered at this hotel is in a class of it's own. Any request that is made by a guest at this hotel is executed in a short amount of time AND a phone call is made to your room to ensure the service was completed. They don't miss a thing. We felt well taken care of at all times. The food is amazing and the property is impeccable. What a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanya t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Beloved Hotel is amazing!!! The grounds are beautiful, food is delicious, and I couldn't ask for nicer accommodations!! The staff aim to please and go above & beyond (especially Eduardo & Eric). My son & daughter-in-law chose to have their wedding there because they loved it so much when they vacationed there and it was everything they imagined. We couldn't have had a more perfect day!! Thank you to the amazing staff @ The Beloved Hotel!!
Will definitely be returning!!

Room Tip: Every room is awesome! We didn't feel the need to have a room with a pool because we preferred to spend our time on the beautiful beach.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cstarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

General: This hotel is way prettier in person...somehow pictures just don't capture it's beauty! The lobby smells amazing......wish my home smelled like that.....I don't even know how to explain it other than very relaxing and calming! No crowds and very peaceful.

Traveler Tips:

1) Each day clean out the goodies/treats they put in the mini bar food tray and save the items in another drawer in the room, they will replace the food each day and then you can use all the treats you saved up for the return flight/travel home. At the airport a mini bag of chips can be $3 or more dollars so it helps to stock up on the treats and bring them with you when you travel!

2) Please go to El Mar restaurant for breakfast! I really hate buffets/mass market food in general and consider myself a foodie who loves the experiences that go along with trying new foods....if you are the same you will love el mar for breakfast! We went there almost every morning.....you will not be disappointed! Most of the times we went, we were the only couple there....so it was like having a private breakfast on the beach....so beautiful! You do not order food for breakfast there, instead it is a 7 course tasting menu....small samples of wonderful foods....each day is different too! Eat what you like, and don't eat what you don't like.....they are small portions so do big deal. The Guava. kiwi, and plums that were cooked were AMAZING!! It will take about an hour or so to go through the whole process....but you are right in front of the ocean....so relax and enjoy. Probably not the best for small kids with short attention spans....but for couples this feature is great! Daniel was our waiter here and he is wonderful! The milkshakes, fruit plates, and bread/jam plates were always a hit with me!

3) If you want the plunge pool and a good view of the ocean go with the casitas.... we got a plunge pool on the 3rd floor of building two....still an awesome view....but it was more of the pool, castitas, and then in the background the ocean far away. If you are wanting just the ocean....go with the casita plunge pool option. You will be happier if that is what you are looking for.

4) Plan on attending the Bonfire 7pm and Fire show 7:30pm on Thursday night! The BEST fire show I have ever seen---we are talking about a man on stilts and a guy who does stunts with his feet (this is our 7th all inclusive hotel we have been to, and the Beloved has the best show!) If you go to the Bonfire at 7pm you will get the best seating for the show that starts at 7:30!

5) Try the eel nigiri sushi @ the Lupita Lounge....I only eat veggie rolls (which I ate plenty of here, but my husband had me try it......WOW....who knew eel could be so tasty! So try it....you won't be disappointed....this coming from a person who does not like fish....so you know it's good! :) My husband tried everything here, and said it was on par with the restaurants we have back home...very high end and of good quality....all made by Luis....who was great!

6) Be prepared to wait for meals......we never experienced a wait for a table, there were always plenty available....but be prepared the dining experiences here are usually lengthy and can take time for ordering and getting food....not necessarily a bad thing if you are expecting this but if you want to grab something quick...sushi bar or room service is your best bet. I often brought my phone with me to occupy the time if needed.....free wifi all over the resort so you can get on the internet from your phone with no problem at all.

7) No need to pack googles, snorkel, boogie boards, or towels- they have plenty to loan you at no charge....save valuable space in your suitcase! Bring extra sunscreen.....only place to get more that is any where close is the shop on the property....way over priced as they all are ($20 or so).....this is common, so bring more than you need and save it for latter if you don't use it all.

8) Seaweed on the beach are just little clippings or blades of seaweed grass that wash up to shore (they have a tractor sand cleaner that gets rid of it, however by the end of a day it is usually back) Not a big deal at all the water and shore where you swim is sandy with clear water. We saw a starfish easily trough the water one day.

9) Most of the excursions are far away....we took two trips through seasons tours (they have a desk in the lobby). Pedro was awesome in recommending trips for us, however most of the trips are very far to travel...so expect this.

A) We went on the Garrafon park trip in Isla Mujeres, we had an hour drive to the dock, waiting for everyone to board (TONS of people on this boat-100-150????, another hour or so trip to Isla by boat, explored Garrafon park (3 ziplines over the water, snorkel by the shore- didn't see many fish, ate, and toured the sculpture garden), then another 1 hour boat ride to drop off people for a dophin excursion, and then another 15 min to downtown Isla Mujeres to shop for only about and hour before having to get back on the boat for another hour and 15 min to pick up the Dophin excursion people, transfer boats and return to Cancun, plus another hour to get back to the hotel (after waiting for all of the passengers for our van and stopping at various hotels to drop them off). The beloved is in a world all it's own so you will most likely be the last group to get dropped off on the return of an excursion
For $109 per person, plus $15 per person round trip transfer, and a $9 per person dock fee....for a total of $266....we really wanted to go to Isla Mujeres, but we felt like we were traveling ALL day with only a short amount of time to do stuff. It may be better to just go there yourself so you can be on your own agenda. Glad we went, but would do it differently if we had the chance.

B) The other trip was Rio Secreto and underground cave river trek...which was awesome....but still far away with a large amount of travel time. ($109 per person with transportation).


10) Dress code is enforced (which I liked, it keeps it classy) and they will turn you away if you don't meet it.

Unique things this hotel has to offer:
1) a room service locker/cabinet to put your used room service dishes in (they come back and collect it with out disturbing you) , so your room is never dirty with dishes in it.

2) Aqua Viva circuit at the spa was unique and different from other water circuits we have done at other spas around the world.I do not believe it is worth $50, but it was included with our massage and we enjoyed it.

Suggestions for the Hotel:

1) Bonfire: Consider including gram crackers and Hershey chocolate bars to the treat stand by the bonfire....so in addition to roasting marshmallows, everyone can make "s'mores" for dessert to. There could even be a "S'more gourmet menu" that could include adding other things like a reese's cup or oreo cookie crumbles, and caramel!

2) Spa was peaceful and calming however the actual rooms are very plain, generic, and minimalistic. The massage was very good and we loved it. However something to consider: We had massages at the Marival Residences World Spa in Nuevo Vallerta last year and those rooms had themes that were tastefully decorated to go along with a country....I got the Italian one so the room looked like something your would see in Tuscany........it was a whole experience not just a massage. The Italy themed room: got a chocolate truffle to eat, foot bath, got to smash grapes in a bowl, bath in a hot tub with wine poured on you, and then you got your massage.....it was such a memorable experience because it was tailored to each rooms theme. For example: Japan, Russia, America, India, Italy....etc. You can go to there web site to see the rooms. Different concept, but it was very memorable.

3) Perhaps offer an evening yoga class on the beach at night


Overall, a great place that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank sunblock098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Beloved Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This summer we went back to Beloved. We loved it even more than the first time we went in summer 2013. First, the aqua massage pool in the spa is AWESOME!!!!! I got a massage one day and did the aqua massage another day. (The aqua massage is included when you purchase a service and they will let you do it on another day.) Really... it is AMAZING! The second great thing was that the restaurant El Mar on the beach is open for breakfast. It has a fixed breakfast menu that each morning focuses on a different state in Mexico. You get 7-8 small plates that include juices, fruits, breads, cheese, eggs, etc... We did this two mornings in a row and had the place to ourselves around 8 AM. The other thing that I really liked is that the Kids Club was open for longer hours this year which was really nice. Also, they have started serving dinner at the Kids Club so that parents can drop off their kids to eat if they want to have an adult meal at Lupita. (Our son was not 4 so we couldn't use this but we'll definitely use it in the future.
I do have a few dislikes but they are not major. First, we travelled with another family and weeks before coming, as well as, days before our trip we requested to have rooms next to each other. This didn't happen. We took our baby monitors so that we would be able to sit together on the patio after the kids went to bed. We were to far apart for them to work. Second, last year we stayed in Bldg 2 and this year we were in Bldg 3. The wireless in Bldg 2 last year was a lot better than in Bldg 3 this year.
Beloved really is a WONDERFUL resort and by far my favorite place to visit for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HIngram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Perfect beachfront casita facing the beach that melts into the turquoise caribbean sea water, amazing gourmet cuisine and a warm permanent attention of the entire staff, made our stay at " The Beloved" an unforgettable luxurious vacation experience. We had our private pool and a jacuzzi in the room and resting in our patio we enjoyed the view of palm trees and beautifully arranged desert gardens. The resort has 4 different restaurants from beachy to fancy, offering high quality mexican and international dishes. You can also enjoy beach buffets or have your meals under your beach umbrella. If all this does not suit you, believe or not, you can call for room service. At night we attend themed dinners and then went to Lupitas Lounge Bar to enjoy live music ambiance. Ready for fun we did all kind of non motorized water sports that the resort provided for free. We think that the hotel staff take the catch saying " what ever when ever" for real, always predisposed to fulfill our desires. In that sense our regards to: Sarai..Yasimi..Cristian and Lorena from Aroma restaurant. Luis and Alberto from El Mar and Isla Grill restaurants. Beach waiters Jorge..Alex and Jose !!!!!. Luis from the front desk. Bell boy Cristian. Lobby barman Heiden Santili and Lifeguard David. Thanks for you all. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Beach front casitas near main pool have best acces to beach
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 280Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews