We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Value - not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little Value - not recommended”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The junior suite room we stayed in was very large, comfortable, clean and well air-conditioned . The pools are nice. However that was just about the best part the rest was a major disappointment. The hotel is all inclusive but you are expected to tip, tip, tip non stop. The food is terrible and comes in very small"gourmet" looking dishes that lack flavor but are laden with oil and sugar. The only meal that is buffet style is breakfast which is actually good. You pay extra for transfers from and to the airport. The landscaping is poor and the white concrete and sand reflect the heat and make the summer high temperature feel so much warmer. Shortly, you would be better off spending your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Junior suite rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Beloved Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us.
We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food, service and facilities.

Allow us to apologize for the bad impression acquired, due to the gratuities given to our staff members. We certainly appreciate all guests who recognize the hard work done by them, even though these are not mandatory or expected by any staff member.

We are disappointed to read that we fell short on your culinary expectations. We take great pride in providing the freshest of ingredients and creating both simple and also creative dining experiences.
We also would like to remind all of our guests that if you want to eat something that is not in our restaurants, please let us know, and our Chef will be more than happy to prepare a special meal for you, if the ingredients are available.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,724
    389
    120
    41
    27
See reviews for
927
1,829
73
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel was absolutely 1st class! Everything was clean, the staff were outstanding, and after staying in other resorts, this place is definitely in a class by itself. The only downsides to the resort: the pool is warm (kind of like taking a bath) and the French restaurant wasn't our favorite. However we ate at the sushi bar every night for a night cap & it was phenomenal! I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I vacationed at The Beloved in March 2014 with our 14 year old son. We decided on Beloved after staying at Excellence next door the year before for our anniversary.

It was just as we expected and hoped for. The service was fantastic from start to finish no matter where you were on the resort.

We decided to rent a beach cabana for 4 out of our 7 days, Daniel and Alex at the beach were outstanding and constantly checked up on us to make sure we didn't want for anything.

Ceaser(manager) was great as well, he meet all requests quickly and followed up to ensure everything was to our liking( even if he had to run all over the resort t find us). Heyden at the lobby bar made some of the best drinks I've ever tasted at any resort thus far and service was impeccable, great conversations and always remembered mine and my husbands drink of choice.

Overall a fantastic resort, and one we will definitely be returning to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This visit marked the third yearly trip at the Beloved for our family. In prior reviews we rated this hotel as excellent, but somehow the Beloved management and staff know how to improve even on the excellent rating. I will focus this review on the recent updates on the resort.

Starting with dining, there are now 3 breakfast options, a chef's table by the water at El Mar, an a la carte at Isla grill and a buffet with various bountiful stations at Aroma. For lunch, in addition to the two a la carte restaurants there is a new beach stand offering a different beach snack option each day. El Mar is now open nightly as a seafood reastaurant while Isla grill has become a steakhouse. These add to the mediterranean fare at Aroma and the gourmet mexican inspired cuisine at Lupita for dinner. The lounge bar continues to offer sushi and ceviche. These dining options are all for a hotel with a total of 109 rooms. As always, there is absolutely no wait to sit down for breakfast, lunch or dinner at wherever you choose.

The beach is great for swimming with plenty of shade and new beds were added to the beach and the pools this year. We took advantage of the beach for almost 12 hours each day! Entertainment has been improved, although to our opinion it was never lacking in the past. This is the kind of resort that things are done quietly without disturbing the need of some guests to simply relax, read or nap at the beach. Catamarans, kayaks, paddle boards and other non motorized water sports are offered free at the beach. The beach staff is happy to take you out on a catamaran tour. Motorized water sports including jet skis and parasailing are also available on site for a fee, as are various offsite excursions that can be booked at the lobby. There is aqua aerobics, cross-fit classes, bicycle tours, jogging, beach games, pool table, table tennis etc, but even free hand massages by the spa staff at the beach. We witnessed many couples taking advantage of the state of the art gym, and super relaxing spa facilities. Nightly there is live music and even space to dance at the lounge. There are usually instrumentists at the aroma and lupita restaurants. Heyden the bartender at the lobby bar should be highlighted here at the entertainment section as a true mixologist. By 11PM this family resort is quiet to give guests the opportunity to rest. No disco club and none of the amateur shows that most other resorts offer. The beloved offers simply elegant quality entertainment. We love reading reviews in tripadvisor to learn about the places before we travel and reading reviews afterwords makes us feel transcended to the places we have visited. I find it interesting that the only poor reviews for the Beloved come from people who are looking for disco bars or nightly noise. If this is your vacation style, please consider booking at the excellence next door, many reviews state this and also the hotel website accurately portrays the relaxing experience of the hotel.

What makes The Beloved great is the quality of everything they offer and how well they achieve their mission, with the best customer service we have experienced at many luxury resorts. This clearly starts from the top with the hands on management of Mr. Gabriel Garcia who is always available and genuinely seeking guest feedback about the hotel. You can see Patricio the service manager at anytime of the day roaming the grounds of the hotel and engaging with guests about their experiences. Do things ever go wrong? Of course something can go wrong or break, just like in our own residencies. In the three years we have visited the only incident for us was this year with the AC which broke down. In 2 minutes after we reported the problem the technicians came into the room, and the ac was fixed within 15 minutes. Another 15 minutes later we got a call from the service desk to confirm that everything was in order. The level of customer service is exactly what sets this place apart from the other hotels. The following are some of the people who with their dedicated service, genuine care and smiles made our stay extra special: Edgar at bell services, Cristina and Jenny at check in, Enrique at the concierge desk, Christian, Antonio, Concepcion, Susana, Freddy, Cesar, Mary and Teresita at the restaurants, Alex at the beach and David at the water sports shack, Jose and Karen at the spa, and of course Heyden at the lobby bar. What a great group of people, thank you and we hope to return soon. The Havari party.

Room Tip: We stayed in an oceanview terrace suite in building 3 facing east - excellent views from this locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EvaHav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Beloved in July and had an amazing time. The level of customer service offered at this hotel is in a class of it's own. Any request that is made by a guest at this hotel is executed in a short amount of time AND a phone call is made to your room to ensure the service was completed. They don't miss a thing. We felt well taken care of at all times. The food is amazing and the property is impeccable. What a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanya t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Beloved Hotel is amazing!!! The grounds are beautiful, food is delicious, and I couldn't ask for nicer accommodations!! The staff aim to please and go above & beyond (especially Eduardo & Eric). My son & daughter-in-law chose to have their wedding there because they loved it so much when they vacationed there and it was everything they imagined. We couldn't have had a more perfect day!! Thank you to the amazing staff @ The Beloved Hotel!!
Will definitely be returning!!

Room Tip: Every room is awesome! We didn't feel the need to have a room with a pool because we preferred t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

General: This hotel is way prettier in person...somehow pictures just don't capture it's beauty! The lobby smells amazing......wish my home smelled like that.....I don't even know how to explain it other than very relaxing and calming! No crowds and very peaceful.

Traveler Tips:

1) Each day clean out the goodies/treats they put in the mini bar food tray and save the items in another drawer in the room, they will replace the food each day and then you can use all the treats you saved up for the return flight/travel home. At the airport a mini bag of chips can be $3 or more dollars so it helps to stock up on the treats and bring them with you when you travel!

2) Please go to El Mar restaurant for breakfast! I really hate buffets/mass market food in general and consider myself a foodie who loves the experiences that go along with trying new foods....if you are the same you will love el mar for breakfast! We went there almost every morning.....you will not be disappointed! Most of the times we went, we were the only couple there....so it was like having a private breakfast on the beach....so beautiful! You do not order food for breakfast there, instead it is a 7 course tasting menu....small samples of wonderful foods....each day is different too! Eat what you like, and don't eat what you don't like.....they are small portions so do big deal. The Guava. kiwi, and plums that were cooked were AMAZING!! It will take about an hour or so to go through the whole process....but you are right in front of the ocean....so relax and enjoy. Probably not the best for small kids with short attention spans....but for couples this feature is great! Daniel was our waiter here and he is wonderful! The milkshakes, fruit plates, and bread/jam plates were always a hit with me!

3) If you want the plunge pool and a good view of the ocean go with the casitas.... we got a plunge pool on the 3rd floor of building two....still an awesome view....but it was more of the pool, castitas, and then in the background the ocean far away. If you are wanting just the ocean....go with the casita plunge pool option. You will be happier if that is what you are looking for.

4) Plan on attending the Bonfire 7pm and Fire show 7:30pm on Thursday night! The BEST fire show I have ever seen---we are talking about a man on stilts and a guy who does stunts with his feet (this is our 7th all inclusive hotel we have been to, and the Beloved has the best show!) If you go to the Bonfire at 7pm you will get the best seating for the show that starts at 7:30!

5) Try the eel nigiri sushi @ the Lupita Lounge....I only eat veggie rolls (which I ate plenty of here, but my husband had me try it......WOW....who knew eel could be so tasty! So try it....you won't be disappointed....this coming from a person who does not like fish....so you know it's good! :) My husband tried everything here, and said it was on par with the restaurants we have back home...very high end and of good quality....all made by Luis....who was great!

6) Be prepared to wait for meals......we never experienced a wait for a table, there were always plenty available....but be prepared the dining experiences here are usually lengthy and can take time for ordering and getting food....not necessarily a bad thing if you are expecting this but if you want to grab something quick...sushi bar or room service is your best bet. I often brought my phone with me to occupy the time if needed.....free wifi all over the resort so you can get on the internet from your phone with no problem at all.

7) No need to pack googles, snorkel, boogie boards, or towels- they have plenty to loan you at no charge....save valuable space in your suitcase! Bring extra sunscreen.....only place to get more that is any where close is the shop on the property....way over priced as they all are ($20 or so).....this is common, so bring more than you need and save it for latter if you don't use it all.

8) Seaweed on the beach are just little clippings or blades of seaweed grass that wash up to shore (they have a tractor sand cleaner that gets rid of it, however by the end of a day it is usually back) Not a big deal at all the water and shore where you swim is sandy with clear water. We saw a starfish easily trough the water one day.

9) Most of the excursions are far away....we took two trips through seasons tours (they have a desk in the lobby). Pedro was awesome in recommending trips for us, however most of the trips are very far to travel...so expect this.

A) We went on the Garrafon park trip in Isla Mujeres, we had an hour drive to the dock, waiting for everyone to board (TONS of people on this boat-100-150????, another hour or so trip to Isla by boat, explored Garrafon park (3 ziplines over the water, snorkel by the shore- didn't see many fish, ate, and toured the sculpture garden), then another 1 hour boat ride to drop off people for a dophin excursion, and then another 15 min to downtown Isla Mujeres to shop for only about and hour before having to get back on the boat for another hour and 15 min to pick up the Dophin excursion people, transfer boats and return to Cancun, plus another hour to get back to the hotel (after waiting for all of the passengers for our van and stopping at various hotels to drop them off). The beloved is in a world all it's own so you will most likely be the last group to get dropped off on the return of an excursion
For $109 per person, plus $15 per person round trip transfer, and a $9 per person dock fee....for a total of $266....we really wanted to go to Isla Mujeres, but we felt like we were traveling ALL day with only a short amount of time to do stuff. It may be better to just go there yourself so you can be on your own agenda. Glad we went, but would do it differently if we had the chance.

B) The other trip was Rio Secreto and underground cave river trek...which was awesome....but still far away with a large amount of travel time. ($109 per person with transportation).


10) Dress code is enforced (which I liked, it keeps it classy) and they will turn you away if you don't meet it.

Unique things this hotel has to offer:
1) a room service locker/cabinet to put your used room service dishes in (they come back and collect it with out disturbing you) , so your room is never dirty with dishes in it.

2) Aqua Viva circuit at the spa was unique and different from other water circuits we have done at other spas around the world.I do not believe it is worth $50, but it was included with our massage and we enjoyed it.

Suggestions for the Hotel:

1) Bonfire: Consider including gram crackers and Hershey chocolate bars to the treat stand by the bonfire....so in addition to roasting marshmallows, everyone can make "s'mores" for dessert to. There could even be a "S'more gourmet menu" that could include adding other things like a reese's cup or oreo cookie crumbles, and caramel!

2) Spa was peaceful and calming however the actual rooms are very plain, generic, and minimalistic. The massage was very good and we loved it. However something to consider: We had massages at the Marival Residences World Spa in Nuevo Vallerta last year and those rooms had themes that were tastefully decorated to go along with a country....I got the Italian one so the room looked like something your would see in Tuscany........it was a whole experience not just a massage. The Italy themed room: got a chocolate truffle to eat, foot bath, got to smash grapes in a bowl, bath in a hot tub with wine poured on you, and then you got your massage.....it was such a memorable experience because it was tailored to each rooms theme. For example: Japan, Russia, America, India, Italy....etc. You can go to there web site to see the rooms. Different concept, but it was very memorable.

3) Perhaps offer an evening yoga class on the beach at night


Overall, a great place that I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank sunblock098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Beloved Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.2 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
2,813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,261 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 182 in Cancun
5,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloved Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloved Playa Mujeres

Property: Beloved Playa Mujeres
Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beloved Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' Adults only all-inclusive Hotel, in the perfect setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beloved Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing