We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic 5 starr beautifull hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
eindhoven
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“chic 5 starr beautifull hotel”
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We (my wife, our 8 months old baby and i) have been in La Amada for 1 week now.
We stayed in the swim up suite and had a chance to stay for a couple of days in the Ocean view terrace suite.
The swim up suite is brilliant, the rooms are great (big and beautiful, as shown on the website). The big terrace with a big 2 persons relax bed ends up in a small garden from witch you can directly access the swimming pool from.
This pool has Jacuzzis, relax beds and parasols. All pools are heated. There is a bar from which you can order drinks from. In the time we where there everyday somebody came to us to inform if everything was ok. 2 Times they asked us what they could do for the guests to improve their service. He also could give us a good advise where to go to in Cancun. Very helpful. The shower in the room is an amazing rain shower and has some other “showering features” . It was very big. Every room has an in room Jacuzzi which we and our baby loved!

The ocean view terrace suite is the same but has a huge terrace with a big round relax bed (see pictures) and a small swimming pool. The view on the ocean was amazing.
The big balcony/terrace on front of the room has the relax bed and breakfast table and looks over the pool and the ocean. Housekeeping sometimes forgets something but 1 call to the reception and it was taken care off.
The staff is great!!

The beach is also beautiful (a little bit windy in the time we were here, 20 Feb. – 8 March); lots of beds, towels, beach service etc.
First day we also saw seaweed however the second day it was removed. They did this everyday with a “ seaweed removing machine” ;-)
Sea was too cold for most people this time of the year to swim in I think, I was the only one in the sea.

You have 2 restaurants, 1 by the sea (closes 6:00 hrs PM) and the main restaurant where they also serve the breakfast. Breakfast is good, good quality of coffee.
The menu is nice, food is very good and prices are reasonable. Wines are fine (skip the Mexican ones).
One day the chef organized an evening where we could taste some Mexican cheesy dishes. The food and beverage manager let us taste his choice of wine.
Was a very nice and relaxing evening. (everything complementary on the house)
The spa we have only seen, we did not took a massage (to difficult with the baby) It was very beautiful.

We rented a car so we were free to go to the hotel zone (lots of luxury shops) and Cancun. Sometimes we went to downtown Cancun, it’s a 30 minutes drive. You have lots of nice restaurants there and can do some shopping.

The vegetation is all brand new, this means the plants are small. They brought in quite a lot of big palm trees however.
Our baby had the best time (especially in the Jacuzzi), we all loved the place.
As far as I can judge, this hotel is ready for business, its beautiful, not to big, relaxing, staff is friendly and capable AND you can bring your kids!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fitser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,832
    399
    123
    41
    27
See reviews for
931
1,930
73
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Our stay at La Amada was from Feb 21-25. The property opened to guests on Feb 6, so my husband and I expected there would be some "bumps" in our stay since we were there only 2 weeks after the grand opening. However, we were really disappointed in just how "unready" it truly was for guests still. Suffice it to say, this hotel has a long, long way to go before it can call itself a 5 staf facility. We are a very well traveled couple and have stayed in many fine hotels (Ritz Carlton's, etc).

In our estimation, the hotel was only about 15% occupied, thus you would think extra attention to detail would be given to each guest, but this was far from true.

Pro's:
-The property itself is very beautiful.
-The rooms are very large and furnished beautifully. Huge showers with multipe shower heads, walk-in closets, sleek white leather furniture; overall very chic and classy.
-3 pools with nice lounge beds.
-Good, reasonably priced food (however, read further in "con's").

Con's:
-VERY poor service. 1) We ordered room service several times, and they did not get the order right one time. We would call back for corrections, and they would say someone was on their way with the needed item, yet no one would ever show up. 2) Our minibar was only restocked one time, so we had to call after 2 days to have it stocked, and even then it was only partially filled. 3) We were asked only 1 time (in 3 days) poolside if we would like to order drinks.
-Language barrier. We found that no one really can speak English very well, so communication is somewhat difficult (we don't speak Spanish).
-By the time we stayed, they had installed privacy curtains around the jacuzzi tubs in the rooms (a previous review stated that only shear curtains were present). However, during our stay, they added area rugs to our room one day while we were out. Obviously the rooms are still not completely furnished.
-The beach was filthy with large amounts of seaweed and sand burs. Not anything like the flawless pristine beaches for which Cancun is known. On our last day bull dozers appeared to be clearing the beach rubble, but again, this should have been done before opening day.
-The gift shop was not open yet, which was very inconvenient. So popping in to purchase a pack of gum, bandaids, crackers, etc. was out of the question.
-The spa itself is small, but nice. However, the massages we received were less than satisfactory. In fact, we decided to not book any further appointments.
-The gym equipment was adequate, but they did not have headphones for guest use, nor did they have water available 3 out of 4 days.

The hotel is in an isolated area, which is nice. We stayed on the property the entire time, and although frustrated at times, we did manage to have a relaxing trip overall. We feel that in time (6-12 months), the kinks will probably be worked out. It is our opinion, however, that they were not ready to open when they did, and they should have waited until they could better serve their guests who are expecting 5 star service. The one saving grace for us was that we got a great deal on our stay with reduced rates, so we do not feel we were "ripped off". We hope with time the staff becomes more polished and professional so that this beautiful facility wil live up to all of it's promising potential.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ok5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Here are the good facts...
You can still smell the fresh paint, the hotel looks great! The rooms are beautful, exactly as seen on the website. The food is delicious. Valentine's day, while we were out to dinner, they had rose petals and lit tea candles in our jacuzzi. The staff is friendly.

The bad facts...
We had to run our jacuzzi for about 15 minutes to remove the "tarnished" water that was still in out pipes. The jacuzzis in every room have no shades or blinds only sheer curtains that reveal everything. The "private" pool incl. in the deluxe suites are not so private. The service takes forever. Our room wasn't made all morning, we had to call in after noon to have our room made up. The food orders are ALWAYS incorrect, and they charge you for whatever they forgot to include in the meal. The beach is not the cleanest I have seen in Cancun. The hotel is secluded, there's no other restaraunts around for miles.

For a new hotel trying to impress, I was disappointed. Definitely not worthy of the Excellence brand. Very disappointed.

  • Liked — The physical appearance of the facility is very beautiful.
  • Disliked — The lack of priavcy in our suite and the service.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TeamQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

It was my honor and privilege to be the very first guest to check into this new and fabulous hotel! From the minute I stepped into the door, the service was impeccable. Special thanks to GM Jean Francois and Diego (not sure of his exact position there but he is a real asset to the establishment) for their ever present attention to guests and their whims and needs.

My two sisters and I had the best time just hanging around the resort and relaxing. In the three and a half days we were there, we never left the hotel grounds. For us, there was no need to. Everything we were looking for was right there. The beach is beautiful and well kept with lounge chairs, big fluffy beach towels, round cushy lounge beds for two, thatched shade 'huts' for those who don't want the direct sun and staff to bring you water, drinks or anything off the menu.

We ate at Isla Grille the poolside restaurant and also, Aroma, their main dining restaurant in the main building. We also had snacks and drinks at the courtyard lounge, Lupita. Everything was delicious and well presented. Prices were very reasonable. This is not an 'all inclusive' facility so it was nice to see that the food and drink items were not overpriced. The breakfast buffet was complete with pastries, fresh squeezed juice, amazing array of fruits, cheeses, meats, yogurts, etc. Anything you could possibly want. You can also order 'hot' items off the menu. The french toast was fabulous.

We also had two treatments at the spa on two different days. A massage and a facial. Their spa facilities are really something to see. Even if you don't go for a treatment service, we can partake in the sauna, steam, hydrotherapy pool, 5 types of showers with different flows, waterfall, rain, etc. Really cool and different. There are so many options in the spa so be sure to check it out. The staff is warm and helpful and will give you a nice tour. One of my sisters used the gym on two occasions and really enjoyed the equipment. My other sister and I peeked in there, and it was fabulous, but we were mostly interested in doing some quality lazing so we didn't partake. :-)

They were still working on a few finishing touches but nothing that interfered with our stay.

I have not written a review before but felt compelled to after staying here because the overall experience was so exceptional. I would not hesitate to recommend this property and have already passed on the info to many of my friends and co-workers. I will definitely return to La Amada whenever time permits as it is the idea winter weather getaway for me. This is a gem of a property and if you have an opportunity to go - you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank SueC456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.2 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,576 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
10.7 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloved Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloved Playa Mujeres

Property: Beloved Playa Mujeres
Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beloved Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' Adults only all-inclusive Hotel, in the perfect setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Prestigia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beloved Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing