We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon getaway (7 nights/8 days)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon getaway (7 nights/8 days)”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our all-inclusive honeymoon was supposed to be Mar 17-24 but due to snow in DC, everything got delayed by a day. However, the hotel was gracious enough to extend our stay by one day at no charge (thank you VDP!). Our overall hotel stay was great and we would definitely come back with rest of our family. The hotel itself was not crowded, the food was great and every staff was very friendly (the staff even greeted us with their head bowed as we were walking around the resort).

To your hotel: When you land at the airport, walk straight out of the airport to where the taxis/shuttle are. If you talk to guys inside the airport, they'll quote you high prices and will try to get you to attend their timeshare (saying they'll partially refund your transportation fee). So just walk out of the airport then ask one guy (he probably will quote you $40) and walk away and talk to another guy (he will quote you $20). I found out about this too late so we ended up paying $40 for a shuttle that went around that dropped off 6 groups of people (and most were paying around $20)! After our honeymoon, we paid $20 to get to the airport from the hotel on a taxi; and that's how much you should really pay.

Food: Davino was the best out of all restaurants, had breakfast there everyday and dinner there as well. Food at the Sushi place was very good so we ended up going there twice (would've been three had I not got UV-ray allergic skin reaction-we thought it was due to raw fish we ate). We avoided the Mexican place and did not eat there even once because we got disgusted by the flies we observed on our visit there during breakfast time; it is an outdoor/open area restaurant so guess it's hard to avoid those hideous creatures but I think they should have the food covered.

Visit to Isla Mujeres: we took a ferry to this island ($7 each) and it was beautiful both on the way and at the island! The sea water was crystal clear and so gorgeous. When we got to the island, we rented a cart and drove around the entire island. People complain this is a slow ferry (45 min ride isn't bad) and departure times aren't accurate (it had been pretty accurate-just check departure times with at the ferry ticket sales office).

Miscellaneous: I think the room service wasn't that good because it had limited number of menu items but it's pretty convenient. Also, please tip servers/chefs while you're there. The package does say tips are included but people in Mexico do not get paid well. And most of the money goes to the management so please do tip them, and they'll be very appreciative. I'm not talking about $10/$20 tips (you can if you want,) but I'm talking about $2/$2/$5 (breakfast/lunch/dinner) kind of tips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hokinizeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Dear hokinizeu,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,184
    1,039
    392
    172
    131
See reviews for
1,459
1,577
34
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite,TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed from August 13 through the 18th 2012. This resort is exactly what you look for when you want a true 4 star Experience. From the snack bar by the pool to be able to have an actual sitdown alla carte' Lunch The food at this Resort is top notch. While it may be a little off the beaten path compared to the other resorts in Cancun It is Has a nice private beach and an adult only infinity pool. It is also very close to Isla Mujures- a small island but have a couple of nice beaches and you can rent a golf cart to tour the island very cheap. I highly recommend taking a day to visit the island. Back to the resort- Staff are very kind a very polite and just like any all-inclusive situation a small cash tip goes along way to improve attentiveness and service. If you read the other reviews about poor service it is likely these are the same people who do not trip at all. The rooms are very nicely decorated, the bed is amazing, and each room comes with a private patio or balcony area. If you're ready to take a worry free all-inclusive vacation this resort is among the top in my book

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkizziar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Dear pkizziar,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from 5nights/4days at VDP. We paid a promotional rate for an all inclusive package plus our own flights so for what we paid we could not have been happier. We were required to go to the timeshare presentation (more on that later). We arrived @ 3PM and our room was already ready for us. We stayed on the 3rd floor. Our entry overlooked the construction but it was never an issue for us. It was always quiet. We were out of the room all day anyway. From our room we overlooked the pool, very limited view of the ocean, but again not an issue overall for us. We had a jr. suite with a king bed. The room was beautiful, clean and perfect for us.

Food/drinks: we had an all inclusive package. I have read that a red wrist band means a non member or all inclusive guest. Not sure. We had one. I never felt that we were treated worse if that meant either. We rec'd that band upon checkout, before the presentation, so not sure how they would know if we bought or not. As mentioned we had free access to 2/4 restaurants, as stated on the website. We had great meals. We had the bfast buffet everyday. We ate 3x at Davinos and enjoyed each meal. We did eat at the sushi place and we enjoyed that as well. I will say, as others have, that having to get a receipt for each purchase seemed unnecessary, but again never felt we waited too long. It was also good to see what the cost would have been so we could tip off that. Any of the food we did buy was very reasonable. Even the water in the market. More expensive to go to the movies. No complaints here about that. The drinks we got were fine. We only wish we knew that Tanquary was not top shelf or my husband would have had more. Even if some of the drinks are "watered" down a bit, they were free! The house wine is only chardonnay for white.

Beach/Pool: all great. Yes there is seaweed and a little bit of rocks but not a reason to complain. We are from New England and used to Cape Cod beaches. It is such a tiny thing to walk through. We never had a problem finding a place to be on the beach. We were up by 8AM daily and would go down and put towels out. They were never moved. I did not feel crowded at all. It is what it is. But to be on the beach in that weather, it was so worth it.

Activities: the best thing we did was go to the island from the ferry. This trip is so worth it. We have been to Cancun before but further North so did not know about this. We rented a gold cart and explored. It was so fun. Plus, the ferry trip over gives you a chance to see the amazing turquoise water. We felt the trip cost and cart rental were totally appropriate ($40 for cart)

Service: all of the waitstaff and resort staff were helpful and courteous. Every question was answered timely and to our satisfaction.

Presentation: If I have any "complaint" this is it. Again, we paid a super cheap rate for this trip so overall I can't complain. We knew we had to sit through the 90 min presentation, which included bfast with the member. We had al inclusive so the bfast really was not a treat, as I think it was meant to be. We enjoyed John, the member and sales guy. What got me was when we ended up back in the sales office with about 15 other groups. The room was extremely loud and overwhelming for me. I ended up with a migraine. It was just a constant roar and numbers and money. It got to the point where I could not even concentrate. Ultimately we did say no, which did take about 45 min to be heard. We declined b/c it sounded like more of a real estate investment and not a vacation plan. It is just not right for us. However, I could see why it is a good thing for others. In the end we were with John for almost 4 hours so be prepared. But back on beach by 12! But again, for what we paid it was a small price to pay. We were not hounded at all the rest of the week and I never felt our service was disturbed b/c we said no.

The one thing that I would have expected was free wifi. For those that pay top dollar I would think this would be frustrating as well. We only got it for 24 hours to download some books and we used our phones with an international plan. But in general I think all hotels and resorts should offer free wifi. This bothers me at any place I have to pay.

Overall, we would def go back to VDP even without the promotional rate. We did not have our kids but would consider bringing them as well. We are very low maintenance people and easy to please, but I do feel that what you will get at VDP is quality service and accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Dear Mary A,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a really nice resort. It seems fairly new. My only issue was its remoteness from the other parts of the city. The food was above average compared to other resorts I have stayed at. I would go back. For excursions over to Isle Mujeres the ferry is only a 5 min walk away. I thought the big pool close to the beach was heated too warm. The other large pool with the bridge towers had cooler temperatures though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmonjam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2016
Dear simmonjam1,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My return visit to this resort was not a disappointment. Checkin in was streamlined and efficient. Upkeep of the resort is terrific and the room very comfortable. We ate at La Casona steak house and at Hiroshi and the food was great. We also ate frequently at the beach cafe. We did not do all inclusive and with one visit to the local Walmart and several visits to the onsite deli market we easily filled out our meal schedule. Very family friendly. Beach keeps getting better and pools are very nice too. Second visit to the spa and it was terrific.

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2016
Dear Ann H,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It was a decent location. There was not enough beach room for me and everyone was piled ontop of each other at the beach. The resort was nice but drink prices were astronomical. Employees were very pleasant and made facilities worth while. I probably would not stay at this location again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2016
Dear Kasey E,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The resort is very nice, very clean, staff very nice and friendly. The food was not great.
inconsistance. Did not look like they had a real chef. fish very dry, t. bone was tuff,
i don't think they had a real bartender either. Spay great. Not one single piano bar or lounge.
Very good for family with kids. Couples i don't think so.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasasasasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2016
Dear Sasasasasss,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,010 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.2 mi away
Dreams Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing