We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation At It's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Commerce City, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxation At It's Best”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We bought our timeshare in Cabo San Lucas a few years ago. The is the first time we've used the property in Cancun. Between Cabo and Puerto Vallarta, this was by far the best. The resort is located on a section of the beach away from the "Hotel Zone." This is a great place for family and friends to unwind and relax. We didn't go to the pool area until after 10:00am.....and you could still find loungers by the pool and the beach. I would definitely venture into town where you will find more authentic Mexican food and at better prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlando H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Dear Orlando H,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,200
    1,041
    392
    173
    131
See reviews for
1,470
1,584
34
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have a timeshare at the Villa resorts in Cabo San Lucas, and decided to visit one of the other Villa properties in Cancun. The resort is very nice, it feels very luxurious and the staff are very friendly. Our room was wonderful, on the 8th floor facing south (toward the hotel zone) The furniture is comfortable and there is a full kitchen in the 1 and 2 bedroom units. We loved the activity staff especially Victor Edu Sababia our strength/yoga/pilates guru and Aida Itzel our energetic, super friendly dance instructor who made every activity fun! The member concierge staff were very helpful including Lulu, Rafeal and Denise (and many others whose names I sadly can't remember)

A few observations/warnings. The resort is approximately 30 minutes from the Hotel Zone (i.e. bars, clubs, other restaurants etc) There are free shuttles to several areas but they only run 1 or 2 times per day. The resort is much more relaxing than others in the hotel zone, but can feel a bit isolated. Also a trip to the grocery store to stock your kitchen is a bit tricky. There is a small market on site, but selection is limited and predictably more expensive than a grocery store. The resort is right next to the ferry to Isla Mujeres which is very convenient. The beach is nice and the cabanas are great. the wait staff on the beach are very nice and attentive (Thanks Merly!) but there is quite a bit of seaweed and rocks on the bottom of the swimming area. Also no waves to body surf while we were there (Maybe because of the island off the shore?) I had an problem with the Travel agency which is not owned by the resort but contracts with it. They would show one type of excursion but if you tried to book the discounted tour offered by the resort the travel agency would switch it to a different (i.e. not as nice) company/tour, or offer the one they showed you without a discount. The Manager Arlene was fairly rude to me and unhelpful when I tried to address this with her. Although the concierge desk tried to intervene on my behalf, unsuccessfully, I ended up booking my tour outside of the facility. ( I recommend that if you know what you want to do you can find and book many of the excursions online much cheaper!)

All in all a great week, very relaxing, with a few minor glitches. The all inclusive option is convenient but expensive. We ate breakfast and lunch in our room most days, and dinner in the resort restaurants and saved about $2500 (for our family of 6) thats a lot of drinks at the bar!
A good family or couple spot if you aren't looking for the CanCun nightlife scene.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor closer to the water. The north side is cooler during the day and offers a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Dear Jeff K,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We recently went to Cancun for a leisure trip and stayed here. Very clean, hotel that is away from the hubbub of the hotel zone.
What I liked: view from the 5th floor, the multitude of pools, kitchenette with microwave, jacuzzis, spa and beach that has complimentary activities like snorkeling, paddle boarding and kayaking. Also had a store nearby where we could buy bottled water, ice creams and other small stuff. Beautiful overall.

What I did not like: food was average, travel agency people sucked, too far from town and cold jacuzzis.

Overall most of the things I did not like were inconveniences that were either minor or solved by escalating to the reception staff that is very helpful . I'd recommend staying here as the pros outweighed the cons.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ishijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Dear ishijay,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

So I was not happy that I got stuck with Villas Del Palmar in Cancun as I deposited my Marriott week with Interval International and I really wanted another resort that I was recommended. Anyhow I took this resort but I was at ease as I started reading the reviews and they were pretty good, well I must say from the moment I check in in June 5th 2014 we were transported into a Mexican Mayan atmosphere paradise, the location in my opinion is perfect because is not in the Vegas style Hotel zone instead is just north of that in a family oriented atmosphere, front beach and my room views were stunning because no only do you see the beach you see the pools, the restaurants, the pool bars and isla Mujeres. The lobby is beautiful and inviting, while checking in I was given a on the house pina colada drink, singers at the lobby doing their thing, free ballet parking. I had a one bedroom villa that was stunning beautiful and clean, and the quality of the furniture was unreal. The landscaping of the resort was heavenly the Zama restaurant was awesome , the service and food was 5 stars, and then when I thought it could not get better we had dinner at La Casona Restaurant, I had New York steak and it was simply the best steak I ever had and my wife loved the Salmon, and my teen age girls loved the chicken platter they had. To wrapped things up the nightly activities the resort has is priceless , from dancing competition shows to the Michael Jackson show one night to the vendors coming at night selling Mexican theme souvenirs and goods, well I can go on and on about this resort, but if two things stands out about this piece of heaven is the friendliness of the staff and the beauty of the resort. I pray I can someday come back soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank TonyJan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Dear TonyJan29,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our first time to Cancun and we picked the best Resort possibly! The room, suite rather, was beautiful with amazing views of the ocean and the lush grounds. The pools are large and there is one for every taste but we enjoyed the ocean and the white sand so much that we hardly ever used the pools. The loungers on the beach were so cozy and comfortable that we never went back to any other options.
Overall a great experience, very nice staff (especially Merly Rubi, our beach waitress) and excellent food.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floors (we were on the 5th level) for maximum views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredlabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Dear fredlabq,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Hall, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My daughter wanted to go to Cancun for her 18th birthday, her roommate at school told her about the resort. We booked it for three people all inclusive. We arrived and no doubt the resort was beautiful but we checked in and was given little information regarding dining and activities. We were not told you had to make reservations for dinner and so when we went to eat after we checked in we were asked if we had a reservation, explained we did not know when we're supposed to. They did sit us since it was after 9pm. The food was not especially good. In the third day after returning from an excursion we had a message from the front desk. They wanted to tell me that we didn't receive our welcome package. I not down to get it and low and behold a map of the resort and info on dining. Of course the main reason for the "welcome package" was,mot try and talk you into a tour for their timeshare. When I explained that I wasn't interested they were not as friendly. The door men were extremely helpful and nice. Breakfast was good. It was about a 30 minute taxi ride to down town where all the restaurant and clubs were located. that was an added expense because it was far out, I would never stay there again. It was not worth the expensive price tag.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
Dear Miranda C,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our first time to Cancun, and to a Villa Del Palmar Resort and we enjoyed it very much!
The Hotel is tastefully done and is beautiful inside and out, the lush grounds and gardens so inviting. The pools are large and refreshing. The beach, though on the small side and had some seaweed that could be more attended to was still very nice. We had a one bedroom suite that was immaculately clean and had all the necessary items one could want. The restaurants were very good as was the food at the deli and market. Most of all we were impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff. Everyone from check in to check out, treated us with a warm and friendly manner, and were eager to please, making our stay so much nicer. A special thanks to Donovan (a very friendly and efficient waiter) in "the Bite Restaurant" who served us our last two Pina Coladas before leaving our Oasis of the past 5 days! Muchas Gracias to all at Villa Del Palmar!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and had beautiful views, especially from the hammock! Nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
Dear Lynn W,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,582 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.2 mi away
Dreams Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
16.9 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing