We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
el cajon, ca.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We'll be back.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great way to end our trip. We arrived after staying 1 week at a large resort in the hotel zone. 3 nights all-inclusive. Easy to find and only about 15 minutes from downtown Cancun. Beautiful resort with the most friendly staff ever. We stayed in a large one bedroom suite. Large kitchen, 2 full bathrooms, giant balcony with full sized table and chairs and a couple of lounges and hammock, 2 large flat screen T.V's. The restaurants we ate at were very nice with great service. We also had room service which was nice. Pools and landscape were top of the line. The kids had there own pools and the resort was always pretty quiet compared to the crazy loud resort we had left. Wished we could of stayed there the whole time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepere24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
Dear pepere24,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,119
    1,017
    383
    168
    128
See reviews for
1,408
1,545
34
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This resort is absolutely amazing. We stayed for three nights in a one bedroom ocean view suite. The moment you arrive you feel like you are in a true Mexican vacation. I loved the Mayan decor. Every staff member has a smile and is willing to assist with all if your needs. The ooms are immaculate. The room honestly looked as if we were the first ones ever using it. You want for nothing here. They have thought of everything. The market in the front has everything you need. The restaurants were delicious. We tried davino and zama. Davinos breakfast is amazing. Try the spinache orange juice. Also the guacamole at zama is a must. If you are looking for truly blue sure wter at a beach you will not find it here. We didn't mind this, even though that is what we are used to when traveling to the carribean. The water is warm and we spent alot of time in the ocean. The rocks and seaweed are there, yes, but you can get past this. The ferry didn't bother us at all. This resort is twenty minutes out of the hotel zone which to us was another plus. This is not a party resort in the least , which was great for us. There's nightly entertainment which goes until about 930, which u will hear from your room. I cannot forget to mention the spa. Absolutely top noth spa service. Jungle like setting. Vapor steam room, and most relaxing facial. Don't miss this. In regards to the time share info, I only received one phone call and politely declined. We had zero desire to hear about this, and were not asked again. If you are on the fence about going there, you should give it a try!!!!

Room Tip: If you have small kids who go to bed early, front rooms hear the music until 930.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
Dear gina I,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I went to Mexico for vacation with my family and this resort was breathtaking! It's made for everyone. My mom adored the spa. My dad was crazy about the decor & gym. My sister and I fell in love with the pool! Everyone is beyond friendly and sweet. The staff make you feel SO welcome. The restaurants are to die for as well. Although I did miss American food back home I found a new love for Mexican food at the resort. The waiters are incredibly sweet & hilarious! The resort always has show at night near the pool which was so much fun to see. I didn't want to leave!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Thalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
Dear Thalia C,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel itself was absolutely beautiful! We were welcomed as soon as we arrived with piña coladas. After check-in, we sat down with concierge to go over the hotel, but opted out of the "90 minute" tour to try to sell you a time share. The room was very nice, clean, and loved the hammock on the balcony. Also, there were plenty of chairs by the pools and on the beach.

On the other hand, the beach is one of the major downfalls for the resort. We had previously stayed in the hotel zone where the water is breathtakingly blue. The water is full of seaweed, rocky, and not clear. There are signs by the pools that indicate heated; therefore, it is like swimming in bath water. It was somewhat annoying that you had to sign a receipt for EVERYTHING. On the receipt, there is a place for a tip, which made you feel like you had to tip for everything, even though it was all-inclusive and tips were already included in the package. Also, there were not many food options if you did not make reservations for one of the restaurants.

We took the ferry over to Isla Mujeres 2 days to spend time on their beautiful beach, which I would highly recommend. After returning to the resort, we would lounge on the far right end of the beach where it was really rocky; however, our server, "Geovany" was AWESOME. We opted to relax down there rather than swim in the ocean because of him. Special shout out to our friend Geovany for making our vacation more special and memorable.

Overall, this is a very peaceful hotel. If you would rather spend time by the pool instead of the ocean, this hotel is for you. The beach is why I come to Cancun, therefore, this was an average hotel in my opinion and will not return to this particular resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
Dear Jenna M,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We just visited for an all inclusive timeshare promotion week of June 2 2014. We were very pleased with everything---We liked the mid-size (we usually vacation at the very huge Mayan Palace, and this was a refreshing break from that large resort), the location, the amenities, the restaurants and especially the staff. The only thing that took some getting used to was the belching car transport ferry just to the left of the resort beach, but that was only for a few minutes a few times a day.
The beds were the most comfortable in Mexico--unlike the rock hard mattresses in most Mexican resorts and hotels. The room was well appointed, even having a mini kitchen in the lock-off room. My husband loved the hammock on the porch.

Special kudos to the enthusiastic activity staff of Pedro, Tonya, Alexjandra, Victor and Eric the Amazing bilingual MC. We went to some sort of exercise class every day, yoga, water aerobics or Pilates. The staff kept the classes fun There was some sort of entertainment every night---much appreciated unless you wanted to go clubbing.

The restaurants had a great deal of variety, and we enjoyed trying some new Mexican (and Greek!) specialties. We went to the outdoor buffet one of the days for variety and liked that too. We found there were hangouts---the lobby bar and patio for after show socializing. We took the stinky ferry to the island that protects the beach one day, and zipped around the island on a golf cart---we particularly enjoyed the park at the end that traverses the bay and Atlantic ocean. We did not experience any of the service problems or delays reported by other reviewers, and were quite delighted all in all.

Room Tip: Try to get a room 4th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
Dear Beth K,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at Vila del Palmar for 6 nights. The resort is approximately 25 minutes from the international airport. The resort is north of the Hotel zone and across from the Isla Mujeres. Upon arrival they had one desk clerk available to check-in resort attendees. It took approximately 1-hour to be checked in. We stayed in king-bed suite and the rooms were good. The beds were average. The layout of the room was good and we had a 4th floor balcony that looked towards the ocean.

We purchased the all-inclusive option for our trip. The restaurant lacked variety. We ate several times at the restaurant in the middle of the resort. The food was OK. The design of the restaurant was very nice as you sat next to small pools.

There is a small pool bar but this was a very busy place and the service was bad.The best drink bar is the small thatched bar close to the rooms! This is an underused bar area and most resort residents do not frequent this bar.

The evening restaurants are slow. Dinner at the these restaurants average approximately two hours. So, if you have nothing planned after dinner then this will be OK. However, I did not want to stay in a restaurant for longer than an hour so we can enjoy evening shows and other amenities. When ordering pool side food and drinks plan on an 45 minutes or longer. I often went to the pool bar to get the drinks as the wait time was 5-10 minutes. Order two drinks at a time!!!

Overall, the resort is nice. The reason I give this resort an average rating is the less than average service and food quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
Dear Scott M,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked the Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa with another couple for 5 nights and 6 days, all inclusive, through a timeshare promotion. Transportation to the resort was included but not back to the airport. Our rooms were very spacious with a nice large balcony with a hammock (which we didn't use and took down). The beds were very comfortable. The view was over the swimming pools with a bit of a view of the ocean. We checked in early before our room was ready and were given the opportunity to change into swimsuits in their hospitality room and enjoy the pool. We decided to eat lunch and enjoy our books waiting for our friends to arrive. There are a number of restaurants we were allowed to participate in, and the variety and food was very good. We had prepaid gratuities (didn't have a choice) but we tipped bar drinks extra, and the drinks kept coming. We took the ferry (literally right next door) over to the Island for under $10 each. Other people tried to discourage us from this particular ferry used by the local people but we thought it was great. When we arrived, we took a taxi to a local beach to spend the day. A few topless sunbathers on the beach, for those that might be offended. We decided to take the water taxi back to the mainland instead of the ferry for about the same price and it ran every half hour. Unfortunately, we had to take a taxi back to the resort for about $15. Water aerobics and water volleyball we participated in. We did the timeshare, supposedly 90 minutes and we were out of there in 2 hours. Our appointment was 9:30 including breakfast but we had already eaten so that cut our time down, then we were on to the presentation. Low pressure, we showed little interest and commented that we weren't interested, just fulfilling our obligation for the all inclusive. We were passed on to two other people but were still able to get back to the pool in 2 hours. Tip: don't ask questions or they think you're interested. All in all had a great vacation and would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carolerose85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2016
Dear carolerose85,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
8.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing