We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$580
US$544
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$395
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$590
US$566
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Finest Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
US$485
US$455
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$416
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$194
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$24
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$48
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riu Dunamar(Playa Mujeres)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,435)
Filter reviews
4,435 results
Traveller rating
2,510
1,163
426
194
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,510
1,163
426
194
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbite barone bedroom suitevilla groupcar ferrytime sharefast ferryzama restaurantall inclusive packagemurphy bedall inclusive planferry to isla mujeresfull kitchenper devicewasher dryertimeshare presentationhammock on the balconysushi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,678 - 2,683 of 4,435 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Where do I start? Let me say the only positive thing first...The facility is beautiful. When you get into customer service, ease of use of the restaurants, quality and price of food (with the exception of the Sushi restaurant which was excellent) it's a thumbs down for our group. You have to have reservations to be seated in a restaurant, and who knows what or where you want to eat 2 days prior? We had a group of 15 and could never get a table before 9pm. They would lose our reservation or just deny that there was any availability even though 70% of the restaurant would be empty. Our entire group was bewildered at the lack of willingness to work with us and make us, the paying customer happy. I do feel that they favor the people who are all-inclusive vs ones who arnt. The deli is by far the best place to buy food, best price and best tasting. The market has extremely limited inventory. They will sell vodka but no bloody mary mix, peanut butter and jelly but no bread. Do not think that you will buy groceries and make meals in your accommodations because the supplies are very limited. The location of this resort is very far from most everything so a taxi ride to town is about $30 one way. The drinks are less than desirable - premix and expensive. The beach was nice but there is a lot of seaweed in the ocean which washes up on the sand and I find gross. The pictures of the nice clean white beach is photo shopped - they are not like that at all. They do try to clean them up with a tractor but it doesn't last long. Air Conditioning went out one day and the condensation in the room was so that the floor was like an ice rink. When returning to our room later that evening we found water pouring from the vent in the ceiling in the kitchen. They did fix this in a timely manner. The ATM did not work the entire week we were there. It's like they have you over a barrel, like they don't want to accommodate you in leaving the property. I have been an owner with VDP for 11 years and this is not what I'm accustomed to. Definitely disappointed in this property and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Vicki R,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went there for a week and had a great time. We had a 1 BR and it looked brand new. The property is only 4 years old. The staff is super friendly and very accommodating. They also give you the option to pick the days you want all inclusive.

The only negative was the location. It is in North Cancun and about 25 minutes from downtown.

But still, I would highly recommend this place and they had the best bartenders at the Tiki Hut.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Michael K,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The list is long.. I am normally not a picky consumer but over all was disappointed everyday with service, selection and things to do. It was like being stuck on a cruise ship with no options and cant get off.

The setting is beautiful, building and location. It is great if all you want to do is lay on a dirty beach, get your own drinks, and pay big dollars. We were there 7 days and did not even get the experience of authentic Mexican food. It is a $30 taxi ride 1 way to town if you want night light. Resort shuts down at 9:30 pm, no night life al all....... not one bar is open with music. I am 50, brought our 18 year old son and had nothing to do.
definitely think twice about this one. the boat trip to the island was the best!! I would go and stay on the island but never back to Villa del palmar .

The swimming pool was as warm as it was out side. It was murky and dirty looking , not refreshing at all.

the maid service was the BEST thing happening at the whole resort. Hats off to the housekeeping department. Everyone else from the front desk to the restaurant were the worst I have ever experienced. Unprofessional and untrained, very few speaking English. communication was horrible.

We wont be returning .
thanks for letting me vent. A waste of $4000

Room Tip: we were on the 8th level , beautiful balcony and view. loved it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank unhappycamper253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear unhappycamper253,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This was the most relaxing and fantastic vacation we have had yet. We chose the all inclusive package and took advantage of poolside snacks, room service, breakfast buffets, dinner buffets, and the restaurants. The mango tango drink was soooo good! We had an open tab by the pool every day do we didn't have to sign receipts each time. Some had said that tipping each time got quicker and better service. It did not. Our waiters were quick and polite no matter if we tipped or not. There isn't a dessert menu at the poolside bites food place, but our attendant went to a nearby restaurant and got their menu and brought us anything we wanted from it.

Every single restaurant (we didn't try the sushi place) had super tasty and beautiful dishes.

I am not sure why some reviewers have accused employees if being "sharks" or any name other than polite and helpful. Not one time were we asked to buy a timeshare or watch a timeshare presentation. We weren't hounded by anyone.

The rooms were clean and huge. We had a one bedroom suite. When we got to the resort, they put us in a king bed deluxe room. We are a family of four, so that wouldn't work. Our bag carrier guy called the front desk and had us upgraded to the king bed one bedroom suite with two bathrooms and a queen Murphy bed in the living room at no extra charge.

All in all, I will definitely be back. We stayed at Atlantis at the Bahamas last year and won't be back there after experiencing the top notch service we had here. There is no comparing the all inclusive meals and deluxe rooms of Villa Del Palmar to the rooms and food at Atlantis. Plus the pools were super crowded at Atlantis because cruise ships dropped passengers off there. That doesn't happen at Villa Del Palmar.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear Nicki C,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

In an overall sense the hotel was quite acceptable with good rooms and excellent surrounds however the property has some drawbacks. Firstly the beach is only average as was the food in general and the property is a long way from the Airport [extra charge] and is pretty much out on it's own. We found the wait staff good but some of the lower level management very off handed on occasions and yes BEWARE of the high pressure Time Share presentation we lost half a day as well and the staff are paranoid you might go to an opposition presentation AVOID ! We did not take the all inclusive option [$105] and finished a long way in front even though we ate and drank well certainly a personal thing but do your math prior to taking it. To sum up you could possibly do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear Robert H,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews