We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customer Treated like Royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
North East UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer Treated like Royalty”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I would like to start off this review by thanking Virginia and Mariana and the whole of the EPM staff for making this our best ever visit. We have been visiting this resort since it opened in 2007 and each trip always seems better than the last one. Upon arriving at the resort we were upgraded to the excellent club and were given room number 9165 overlooking the ocean, the room was stunning and the roof top plunge pool came in very handy due the gorgeous weather we had all week. You expect some perks for being loyal but this was an unexpected exceptional treat as we are more than happy to stay in any room as they are all beautiful and we rarely used the Excellent Club.

The flowers which were delivered to our room as a welcome gift from Virginia made the room smell wonderful all week, thank you, the other gift was very nice also..... We love this resort and as the gardens have matured over the years it looks lush and beautiful. Standards and service have also got better also with each visit.

I could go on and on about all aspects of this resort but people have covered what I would say so I wont bore you. We dont use the beach and just lounge around the pool all day next to the bar, you can always find somewhere to lounge as there are plenty of beds and no one seems to get up early to reserve anything, people might get confused but the staff put rolled towels on each bed to save you a trip, if its rolled up its available. We find the food and drink great throughout the resort but we only ate in a couple of restaurants this time and I would like to name names to say a massive thank you to individuals.

We ate in the grill in few times and found the food and service to be amazing, a great big thank you to the following; Armando Pedraza the Boss, and to Angel and Gaston, I would also like to say a massive thanks to Julio Palma the manager of the lobster house for the special things he sent to our table, you are all what makes the EPM excellent.... We loved the chocolate covered strawberries with the message come back soon spelt out on the plate on our last night, thanks guys

We also ate a few times in the Indian Restaurant 'The Basmati' and loved the food and service in here also, they made us feel special on every occasion. A big thankyou to Captain Jose Juan Loper and his team, Jessica, Luis and Iris, we always felt special eating here and were treated like royalty.

We would also like to say a massive thanks to Wilberth our waiter at breakfast and to all the bar staff and waiters around the pool and resort for keeping us topped up all day and night with drink. I would also like to mention the entertainment team for keeping us laughing and smiling for the entire week, a great set of lads, I would employ you all back here in the UK

We are very well travelled and have yet to find a better resort, as well run as this or with better service. We like our holidays to be stress free, we dont need to be entertained or fussed over 24 hours a day. We think this is the most perfect place and it meets our needs perfectly we just wish it was five hours closer to the UK.

Thanks EPM for making our last visit brilliant, we will hopefully see you all again very soon

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9165 ocean view which was very nice. We also like block 7. We dont like swim up ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UKBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,614
    1,394
    360
    140
    74
See reviews for
516
9,476
93
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Overall, this was a fantastic vacation experience. From the moment we set foot on the property the service was excellent, the staff exceedingly friendly, and the accommodations outstanding. The workout facility had better equipment than many commercial clubs. The pools were crowded, but because of the design you never felt cramped. The property is wonderfully isolated from all the craziness of Cancun and even had a great running path. Probably the most outstanding was the food. I have been to many all exclusives were the food was all buffet style and frankly often sub par, but here you had several (at least 4 we sampled) five star experiences in dining. This was very unexpected and the crowning glory to a stay that exceeded expectations. We have been to several all-inclusives in Jamaica, and frankly, Excellence puts them all to shame. I look forward to returning frequently. One final note, if you can upgrade to the Excellence club and the suites, do it!...it is definitely worth the extra you pay.

Room Tip: upgrade to junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runningRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We love going to Mexico. In fact, we have been 5 times in the past year, staying at resorts like secrets the Vine, Capri, Maroma Beach, Excellence Cancun, Valentin...BUT, Excellence Playa Mujeres is our new favorite place.
Everything others have said about this resort is true. We stayed in building 9 (Excellece Club) in a rooftop terrace suite. The accomodations are superior. The only issue would be that it has a few years on it. The pool on the roof was a little faded (but fully functional), the bed a little more firm than some people would like. That is the entire lists of things I saw that could have been improved.
One of the ways we judge a resort is by if you feel comfortable there; like you belong. The staff and also the other guests make this a very warm and inviting resort. It is large, but not overly so. Easy walking to anything, no need for shuttles here. The food was all top-shelf. The drinks as well. The beer selection was also better than most...they even had Bud, Bud Lite, Carlsberg, and of course the popular Mx beers.
My recomendations: If you go, spend at least 5 nights. Eat at all of the restraunts...they are really good.
The house wines are all good, but they also have a pretty extensive wine list for extra fee. $35-100 range.
Building 9 had very good ocean views.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

To sum it up .........it just doesn't get any better.
We returned home last night and talking it over with our entire group of 8, the concensus was "the best", and we have been traveling for 13 years together,
The service is beyond any other resort, every day they go one step further to make you trip exemplary. Virginia I want to tell you that whatever you are doing, don't stop. You have made this hotel stand out from all the others, and we have stayed @ Riu, Iberostars etc etc and as good as they are, you surpass them all. We don't repeat hotels, but all of us want to return next year and stay for a few days longer then usual.
The food - wonderful
The beach - wonderful
Pools - wonderful
Rooms - wonderful
You can get up leisurely in the morning and find lots of seating, which is not always easy for a group of 8. No towel games required.
There are not long line ups for anything. Just the way it is layed out, you are never crowded.
We were fortunate to meet some wonderful people from England......and we became fast friends immediately. Hello to Hillary and Nick, miss you terribly. See you in 2 years for the wedding..........
I won't go on because perfection is perfection.........................not one single complaint.
thank you excellence hotel for upholding your name and giving us a wonderful experience,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank holidayme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Place is very beautiful. Food was not up to par. There is no buffet in the evening so if you want a snack you need to go to the main restaurants. Food choices were a bit odd. Never heard of an Italian restaurant serving ravoli stuffed with duck! Indian food, really! French that you did not recognize what the food was on the menu! We are from NY and NJ so we know real food. On day 4 is when we got sick from the seafood restaurant. That did us in for the balance of the trip. We found out that others also became sick from the same restaurant. We went 2 days without eating at all after that incident. Only ate pretzels provided at the bar.

For the price would not return.

Room Tip: Stay away from the club and open area. There will be no sleeping until shows are done late in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at EPM the first week of April. Like everyone has said, it is a very beautiful resort with great service. We did have a few minor issues but overall this is a great place.
Breakfast at the buffet is nice, lots of choices and eggs to order. We did the Lobster House for breakfast a few mornings and had good hot food and great service, but with only one cook working, it was a little slow.
Lunch on the beach was great. Burgers, dogs and chicken one day, tacos another, fish another day, all cooked on a grill on the beach. My wife had the pizza one day, not like at home. The Grill was fantastic for lunch, the service was great and the steak sandwich was the best. One afternoon we split a steak sandwich late for lunch and went back for dinner with another couple. We had the same waiter and he kept bringing me Victoria’s before I could even finish the one I had. When we were leaving, he brought me one more and said “one for the road”, just great service.
The chair game was kind of funny, we were always up early and found chairs easy but seeing all the chairs around the pool at 7 AM saved with no one around was stupid. I have pictures of a woman saving 9 chairs around the pool all morning, crazy.
The drink service around the main pool was great most of the time. Jesus was just incredible; he was the only waiter around the main pool and did a fantastic job. He would remember our drinks from before and usually bring another round before we asked. One time we were in the pool and our drinks were empty and my wife said “we need Jesus”, I don’t know how he heard her but he came running from clear across the pool to check on us and get us another round. Now that was great service, but on occasion, he was slowed down by bringing food orders out to people around the pool. If they had someone to bring food out around the pool during lunch it could make all the difference.
The restaurants were nice but a little inconsistent. We had dinner at the Chez, very good onion soup. My wife had the sea bass and liked it; my filet was over cooked and a little tough. We had great steaks and service at the Grill, but the ribs were good one night and very tough another night. We tried to get something other than the one steak offered at the Lobster house one night only to be told that they couldn’t bring something from the Grill next door but they had a Tenderloin Brochette with Shrimp. I didn’t want the shrimp so they made them up for me without the shrimp. Three skewers of many large tenderloins on a stick with onion and green peppers really made my meal.
The rooms are great, king bed with a topper was very comfortable. A big walk in closet, nice day bed on the patio with a Jacuzzi. The shower was huge but the bathroom was all open and caused a little problem in the middle of the night when turning on the light. The only problem we had was our room sometimes was not cleaned before 5 PM, and we left every morning by 7 AM. People have now posted that we could have said something but I feel that all rooms should be cleaned in a timely manner in a resort like this. Again maybe they were just a little under staffed.
The bartenders at the Martini Bar and Café Kafe were fantastic guys. After the first night Gustavo at the Martini bar would have my Margarita and my wife’s drink to us before we ordered, and always with a smile and friendly hello. He went out of his way to make our time much more enjoyable and talked with us when he could. He worked very hard but always seemed happy. Cesar was a mad man behind the bar at Café Kafe, so busy but always attentive. He would remember us and make sure our drinks were never empty. These people really made a difference to us.
The music at the Café Kafe was really nice; we danced a few nights which was fun. We didn’t catch many shows, the MJ show was fun, but most nights we were just too tired and went up to our room.
All in all, the place is wonderful. We met some wonderful people and hope to keep in touch with them. The view was not for me, I like the total water view not with the island in the way. The food and drinks were plentiful and very good as was the service. Sometimes it seems a little under staffed but mostly it was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_M69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here for a week in April for our honeymoon. We had recently been to mexico in november to Blue diamond. So we had some comparison in the area.

The food was good, mostly better than blue diamond with the exception of breakfasts. There were plenty of restaurants and surprisingly spot on indian food! We also really liked the french place, italian place, and the Mediterranean place. The lobster house was just ok. The drinks were stronger than blue diamond, and I would say better. They make an amazing lemon drop. I liked how portions were reasonable. That way we were able to try a lot of things without gorging ourselves.

The pools were great. We don't love being in the middle of the crowd and most days we could avoid it in one of the lazy river pools. The last two days of our stay a wedding party came and took over one of the pools with a football game.

We were in the excellence club, hard to know if it made much of a difference. I don't think it was truly necessary. The room was decorated nicely on our arrival and my birthday occurred while I was there and they decorated again and brought a piece of cake! It was very sweet.

The room was nice; however the rooms at blue diamond spoiled us. I asked for a mattress pad on arrival after reading these reviews and that seemed to make the bed fine.

We went to isla mujeres one day. That was fun...a bit of a rough ride and my husband nearly got sick. We had hoped to go snorkeling but it was closed because of roughness in the ocean. You can walk to the easternmost tip of Mexico, and that was beautiful! In the town you can rent golf carts and drive around the streets....It was a nice day out of the resort.

Overall it was a lovely relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: we were in 7251. It was a bit noisy with one of the bars below, but we didn't mind!and we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,425 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,509 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing