We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once... twice.... three times Excellence!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Once... twice.... three times Excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We visited Excellence Playa Mujeres for the 3rd time April 6-13. It's always so wonderful anticipating going back every year hoping that it's just as good as the past times, and in fact, this was our best experience yet.

Cancun airport on Saturdays are busy, but we made it through the long customs line and out of the airport in about an hour. Lomas Travel took us the rest of the way... a nice 30 minute drive complete with some cold cervezas picked up at the local 7-11!

Arrived at the front entrance, and there is nothing better than pulling up to those big wooden doors, being handed your cool towel and glass of bubbly, then hit with that awesome scent of the main lobby. Welcome Home again!

Had a wonderful experience catching up with a few folks in the lobby and then was escorted to the Excellence Club lounge for check-in. We got to the resort around 12:30, and know that rooms are not available until 3:00, which is no big deal to us. It always gives us a chance to hit the Martini Bar and re-connect with our man, Fidencio who mixed us some nice mango margaritas and some mini beer shots. Then off to the Grill for lunch and our time in paradise has begun!!

I've wrote 2 previous reviews so won't go into a whole lot of detail, but a few things that I would like to point out... the service and food were better than our previous 2 visits to EPM. I am always amazed at how hard these folks work (morning til night 6 days a week) to help you have a wonderful vacation. New menus at Agave and also Toscana were a nice surprise. We also loved the new pizza oven at the Sol Bar. We love how the resort is maturing in terms of the manicured landscape.

Had some pretty nasty seagrass the first couple days, then magically it all went away the last 5 days of our trip. No resort can prevent this, but when they do have it, they work hard with a tractor to remove it. It was very breezy every day. 3 of the days you couldn't even get the hobie cats out. It did help to keep you cool in the hot sun. Pool temperatures were perfect. Caribbean was still a bit chilly. Didn't really notice much in terms of the 'towel game' or saving seats. They did a pretty good job of policing this at the EC beach. Asked room number and if you had breakfast yet.

A few new things this time that I'd recommend... the Tamarind Margarita. Amazing. Get one at the Agave Mexican Restaurant. A drink called the BBC (Bailey's Banana Colada) - a big hit with our group. If you are Excellence Club, they have 'upgraded' wines in the lounge - my wife was raving about them. Different wines than the standard throughout - like Malbecs, Ports, etc.. If you are EC, you get to do the 'hydrotherapy circuit' at the spa for free (not including tip). It was amazing. Definitely take advantage of this and book with the concierge. Liquor in our room consisted of Grey Goose, Bombay Sapphire, Don Julio Reposado, Johnnie Walker Black. High end, good stuff.

We dined at all restaurants except for the Lobster House and Barcelona. Our favorites were Basmati, Agave, Spice, Flavor Market, Toscana, Chez Isabelle in that order. I think we have a new favorite in Basmati. Both the food and service were excellent. We ate their our last night and it was a wonderful way to end our vacation.

We had the exact same room as last year (9052) which is an EC swimout. Private, convenient and after talking to Chief Concierge Mariana Lojero, she asked "How is your room?" ... I said, "Great - it's the same one as we had last year!"... She said, "I know. That is YOUR room." Just a little bit of the service and personal touches that we love about the resort. I did notice an increased effort to do more for EC guests this time around. Setting up special tables for you for dinner, and things like that. Nice touches.

A few people stood out to us this trip.... first off, got the pleasure to meet Dalel, one of the concierge in the Excellence Club. What an amazing young lady. They all are great in there, but she stood out and was so friendly. I'll try to remember some good chocolate next time down! Can't wait to see her again. Jesse, the concierge in the main lobby. Outstanding service and a great guy. Maria at the EC beach. Works so hard and is so sweet, even when she was not feeling well. Carlos, Mariana and Manuel - the EC Beach concierge. Wonderful people who take great care of you. Raquel and Jesus at the main pool... so hard-working and always have a smile on. Alexander taking wonderful care of us with many drinks at the Building 9 pool. Fidencio at the Martini Bar and Miguel at Sol Bar. And I believe his name was Enrique - the pizza guy. Amazing stuff. The entertainment staff - old amigos like Edwin, Addiel, and new ones like Luis, Enrique and Adrian. Always make my time there more pleasurable. Oscar, the waiter at Basmati - best server in my opinion at the resort. I had the pleasure to meet Eric, the new Assistant GM, and he's a really nice guy who is all over the resort making sure everything is in order. You can tell he loves his job. And I can't forget about Virginia, Vilma and Mariana, who always takes such good care of us. I hope there are some new St. Louis Rams and Cardinals fans at the resort?!

I can't rave enough about this place. I recommend it all of the time and we will keep coming back again and again. If anyone has any questions, please PM me - I'd be happy to answer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank 1travelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,224
    1,363
    344
    129
    68
See reviews for
491
9,112
90
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,999)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlatna, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Travelled April 13-20, 2013. After all the research and planning and reading others reviews, our 8 day dream came true, only it was better than planned, if that was possible. Everyone was very friendly, restuarants were good, food was good but portions were small, but enough. We enjoyed the Spice restuarant the most. We had one incident with a waiter. We talked to the manager about it and next thing we new we got a phone call from the conciere to follow up on the problem. This hotel lets nothing go by without a follow up. Total customer satifaction is their way of allowing you to enjoy your vacation stay with them. We stayed in 9451 with EC Roof Top Terrace. It is the end room and very private and quiet. We will request this room again. At fist we thought we were far from everything but once we got our bearings, we found we were very close to everything. The nightly shows were OK. Took a cab to Market 28 in Cancun for souveniers. Just $40 for round trip and the cab driver waited for us, about 2 hours at no extra charge. We told the bell captain we needed a cab and the cab was there in just a few mintues. We spent a lot of time in the room and on the RTT. Every day they came in to restock the frig, someone else came in to add fresh fruit, cleaning people came in to clean but we never were sure what time there were coming in. Every evening some one came by and gave us a little fancy snack. Liquor cabinet was restocked daily too. We read about teh beds being too hard. For us they were perfect. There are a couple of gift shops in the hotel. Be aware, they only take pesos or credit cards, not US dollars. Even though tips are included, we went with a roll of $1 bills and tipped as we felt like. It was usually very appreciated. Dress for men around the area was shorts and t-shirts or swim suits. But for lunch and dinner a polo type shirt and slacks are requested. Although one evening I forgot to change clothes and went to dinner in shorts and t-shirt and there was no problem. Also don't forget to stop by the soft icecream dispenser and have a cone. We also did the couple massage. Very professional and very nice. Highly recommend it. Everyday they have message specials. Swim up rooms are less private. You will enjoy your trip. We are talking about going back and will request the same room.

Room Tip: Our RTT was awesome, great view from room 9451, nice and quiet and convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was our seventh vacation to the Caribbean side of Mexico and first time that we visited a resort north of Cancun. After much research and having stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun the previous year, we decided that this newer related property would be a good choice. After reading many reviews and booking into the club level, we knew we were to proceed to the Excellence Club location. But for whatever reason, we were told to wait in the main lobby for about 15 minutes. We were then taken to the club side of the resort and after another longer wait in the lounge; we were finally summoned to sit down and to check in. I emailed about 10 days ahead to inform them that it was my wife’s birthday on the day of our arrival and requested a room on a high floor and received a prompt reply that they would decorate the room for her birthday and would do their best to accommodate our floor request but that it was subject to availability. When we sat down to check in, we were told that the higher floor rooms were not available and we were placed in just the opposite of our request, lowest floor, room 8154, just above the swim up rooms (we were told the swim ups were also booked). Overall, the room was spacious, and well maintained, but unfortunately our room was not decorated for my wife’s birthday surprise. Perhaps someone more demanding, had gotten our room? The bed was a little hard for my taste but still pretty comfortable. The first day’s impression was kind of a bummer, and was concerned about the bad start and what the rest of the vacation had in store for us. Thankfully, our experience at the resort improved with each day.
There was a great choice and variety of places to eat throughout the day. Our favorite evening restaurants were the Italian, Lobster House and the French. Each course in all the restaurants was presented so delicately and the quality of the food was great. Breakfast was good with plenty of options. Lots of fruit, pastries, hot food and local options. Room service is available 24 hours. We used it twice, both at breakfast. Tip…..Best is to call the night before and tell them what you want and the specific time the next day you want it. Make certain that you are detailed in everything you want (i.e toast, butter, jam). Don’t expect it to come if you didn’t include it in your order. Also, we ordered it the last morning of our stay and it made for a less stressful morning for getting ready and packing for departure. The buffet at lunch was my favorite. I especially like the soups and the grilled to order fish and meats.
The buildings and pool area were kept so clean and staff could be seen daily carrying out maintenance. All the staff, from housekeeping to waiter/waitresses to bar staff was so friendly and helpful. All had a smile and 'Ola' when passing throughout the day. The bartenders and staff in the Excellence area of the pool where we spent a lot of our time were outstanding.
Three days into our eight day stay, we received a call from our booking concierge that another room to our original request was now available and asked if we would like to move. We politely declined as we were pretty settled in and didn’t want to pack up and move. I was impressed that they were in tune to our initial request and wanted to make certain we were satisfied. This professionalism and attention to detail was impressive. After a seemingly bad start, we can honestly say that we had a wonderful time here. Met some wonderful people and can say that we will definitely be returning and would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marsumeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a far from typical experience so this review may not set normal expectations of the resort.

My wide and I spent 10 days at epm in April and was our second time at the resort. We booked an EC room and in an RTT room (first time). As we start the check-in process in the EC lounge a gentleman named Jesse (head concierge) tells us he has an offer for us, and anyone else checking into an EC RTT room. He also points out quickly that we are free to refuse if we don't want to take part. I was very skeptical as we have traveled for years and 'special deal just for you' comes up a lot and I find it annoying especially on the first day of travel.

Jesse explains to us that they have over booked the EC RTT rooms by one for the weekend and even though they have a room for they are asking we consider a downgrade to a normal EC room for 2 days and in exchange they would give us an imperial suite (with all that goes with it) for the remainder of our stay (8 days). I initially say no thank you, especially since we had other friends joining us in 3 days and we didn't want to start changing things. Suffice to say my wife intervened and we ended up agreeing to the change. We got a high room in building 9 with a great view (and a view of the IS we were going to be in). It was a good decision, the move went smoothly and for 8 days we were treated like kings. Jesse called us once a day to ask about where we want dinner any other requests etc... We really enjoyed the view and the massive roof top patio.

We have never made use of a concierge on vacation but this time we made more requests and it felt that anything we asked for we got w/o question. For example we wanted end tables for the roof day beds, and we got them in 10 min.

The service was simply outstanding. For example one of the couples we were traveling with booked a normal room and requested a king bed. They didn't get it but the check-in staff were nice enough to offer a move the next day, we didn't think much of it as we understand that when you book a room type and make requests the requests are best effort. So that night when Jesse called we mentioned it. The next day we run into Jessie on the EC beach and he says he was able to get management to ok an EC room for them in building 8b so we could all be together on the EC beach. No one asked for this or expected it.

One night we had a roof top party for the 6 of us with private bar tenders at sunset, it was a blast. Oscar worked the bar (he is a wizard) and Alexander kept us moving, fed and happy (Special thanks guys).

The service level remained constant right to the end. The odd time we ate as six they always had tables prepared for us, room service was prompt and any small mistakes were rectified quickly and politely.

The food and drink service was solid. We never found any delays once we got our first drink delivered. The new menus are hit and miss for us. We liked the tuscana changed, but Lobster house no longer does steak an eggs for breakfast, minor but I miss it. Also Flavor still has some interesting food and good service but we would appreciate it if they modified their model to bring out small numbers of dishes in multiple ordering sessions quickly, more in line with a tapas experience.

The resort was very full, towel games were 'less' than last year for sure at the pool and river. The EC staff were vigilant and keep tabs on who was coming and going and if you were done for the day.

All and all we are very impressed with the resort and the area. I don't know how we couldn't be with the story we get to tell. A fantastic group trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rjmarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Travelled April 10 - 17th and wasn't sure how this place would compare, as we've been to Sandals Antigua, Sandals Emerald Island, Valentin in the Mayan, etc., all 5* resorts. This place is by far the best we've been to so far.

The beach is a beautiful beach for walking, nice white, powdery sand and nice, clear, shallow water before it gets deep. Plenty of chairs with shade on the beach, provided you showed up before 10:30. After that, plenty of chairs in the, but not shade. Lunch available on the beach every day -- quite good, and one day is the "western" day and they had the mechanical bull on the beach which provided some entertainment for a while.

Main pool is nice with float mats that can be used to float around the pool. The pool was quite warm -- not cool at all. Once again, plenty of chairs under the shaded palapas until at least 10:30. If you arrive later, you're out of luck-- but then you could always find something around one of the lazy rivers or other pools. All chairs have fresh rolled up towels on them every morning, so you don't have to worry about bringing your towels back to the room every day. Also, fresh towels are available at any time during the day as the towels stations are restocked frequently. If you want a more quiet atmosphere, the lazy rivers or one of the small pools also provide shaded umbrellas and/or chairs in the sun. The water at these areas tended to be a bit cooler, and some of these areas are more shaded than the main pool.

Bar service was excellent. It didn't matter if you tipped or not. Whether you sat at the beach, the pool, or lazy rivers, there was always someone coming around asking if you wanted drinks. And you didn't have to wait long between rounds. There is the pool bar along with another large bar outside the pool area. Fresh stone-oven pizza available daily at this bar. Fast, friendly service, all the time. There is another bar just outside the main lobby area -- great place for before dinner and before/after the show drinks. There is another outdoor bar but it was closed while we were there. The Martini bar in the lower level of the main lobby had an excellent variety of martini's, and other top shelf liquor. There wasn't anything missing. Service was fabulous -- Gustav is the best!

Our rooms were in Block 7 -- we had pool swimup. Beautiful rooms, spotlessly clean, and no problems with maid service or bar restocking. Our rooms were always cleaned at a reasonable hour -- no problems.

Wonderful selection of food and certainly no complaints. Lunches can be down at the beach (outdoors), or at the Grill (restaurant above the main pool). We did not try the buffet which is inside the Italian restaurant. We tried all the dinner restaurants except the Mexican and Indian -- all good. If you are still hungry after eating what you have ordered, there is no problem in ordering more items. Service was good, you could eat at your leisure without feeling rushed. We never had to wait to get into any of the restaurants. There was a Mexican fiesta one night and a Caribbean buffet down at the beach other evening (we didn't go to these).

I would certainly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return. A fabulous holiday and well worth the money.

Room Tip: If you retire early, do not get rooms on the ground floor (swim up) in Block 7 as you will hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori_D_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just got back from our second trip to Excellence Playa Mujeres .Just when we thought it could'nt get better than last year it did. All the extra little details they do makes this resort a notch above everybody else. Staff is truly amazing, will go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. Definitely looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camilla_leclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Grafton, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

My husband and I had an amazing vacation at the Excellence!! Everything was perfect :-) loved the 24 hour room service and use of my own personal "x-box", that is where the food would be placed if you didn't want service directly in your room. The room was gorgeous and extremely comfortable. The restaurants offered delicious choices, top notch service and nice atmosphere! Each night there was a show to enjoy, we had the magic show, Michael Jackson show. Mexican night and more....tons of fun!! the pool and beach couldn't have been better, loved the brick oven pizza poolside, the grill on the beach and pool bar!! We met the nicest people from all over. We will definitely be back to The Excellence, "A1" and more!!

Room Tip: We like building 7, that was near all the action and not too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#3 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,093 reviews
9.9 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing