We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An anniversary to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We returned to EPM for our 5th visit but also to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary having married here in 2008. The reason we return is simple, we have found something that works for us and we would find it hard to replicate anywhere else. In the past we have been looked after fantastically well and this occasion was no different, in fact, it even surpassed everything from before. This review is not one sided as some may feel as the number of repeat guests we see or speak to over a few beers in the pool is testament to something being done well
The management team, led by the tireless Virginia Amador, have a very hands on approach to management, never hiding away in an office but walking amongst the guests constantly gauging opinion making a very visible presence.
Nothing stands still at EPM and the team are always making changes and improvements which to me is another plus point. The one thing that is constant is the excellent staff that really make this resort a home from home and I will be naming a few of those that truly went the extra mile for us. Whilst these guys are a credit that does not detract from the hundreds of others that work tirelessly to provide a fantastic vacation for everyone.
Whilst we do not generally take part in many of the activities we did do the wine tasting which was hosted by Martin, the sommelier. This was a superb event providing us the opportunity to taste some excellent Mexican wines and his knowledge is very comprehensive. We also took the catamaran across to the island which is something that I would really recommend. The trip out, the hiring of the golf buggy was seamless but the real experience came on the trip back where we were lucky enough to see the turtles we were looking for but a large pod of dolphins who decided the catamaran was their plaything for a while. Liam, the aussie skipper extended the trip so we could enjoy the true way to see dolphins, the way nature intended.
Generally, the food is of a very good standard and each restaurant is unique but for us there are two that merit a special mention. Both the Flavour Market (FM) and Basmati were our stand out restaurants as the staff made each visit a really memorable experience. Our sincere thanks go to the captains in both, with Ivan (FM) and Oscar (Basmati) the most attentive and excellent waiters and Sara (FM) and Jessica (Basmati) the most welcoming hostesses. A special mention to the young chef in the Flavour market who cooked a special tuna dish for us one night, that guy has a real future
As previously mentioned the reason for our visit was to celebrate our anniversary. This was really memorable. We were treated to a surprise meal by the team. A table had been set up in the wedding pagoda with a red carpet, red curtains and the large red chairs from Barcelona, the meal and the occasion was totally unexpected but something we will never forget
I would like to make a few special mentions and I make no apology for repeating some of the names who others have lauded as these guys do provide excellent customer service
The Excellence Club staff led by Dalel for making us feel special. The club pool concierge team for looking after us everyday, Carolina, Mariana, Lidia, Manuel and Paul and a special mention for Adan, the incomparable barman.
There are many visitors that have mentioned Cesar in the Martini Bar but when you see this guy in action, you can see why, a true star. He is well supported by Gustavo and Heydi, who has a great smile
The hostesses at Toscana at both breakfast and Lunch, Gloria and Jacqueline are really welcoming and Wilberth who served us throughout our visit. One last mention is for Luis in Agave who introduced me to the delights of a Tamarind Margarita
One thing to close on is a special thank you to Vilma, for everything
We will be returning in December, a booking with Blue Bay Travel already done

Room Tip: Building 8 High floors for a good sea view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greygooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you, and be part of your vacation.
We are delighted to read that you have found a romantic and peaceful getaway at our resort and that we have succeeded in creating an excellence experience for your anniversary celebration. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to the quality of food & drinks encountered and the service provided by our staff. Allow us as well to confirm that Martin, Ivan, Oscar, Sara, Jessica, Carolina, Mariana, Lidia, Manuel, Paul , Adan, Cesar, Gustavo, Heydi, Gloria, Jaqueline, Wilbert, Luis, and Vilma will be congratulated for the excellent service provided.
At Excellence Playa Mujeres we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another romantic getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,966)
There are newer reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,722 - 7,728 of 11,966 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was our fourth visit in a row to EPM and it seems to get better each time. We do our yearly vacation for hubby's birthday and our wedding anniversary every year and have yet to even think about going elsewhere.We were there this year for July 4th and the celebration they put on was just fantastic. Even fireworks on the beach. The weather wasn't the best the week we were there but that didn't matter. The resort had nothing to do with the weather but the staff was just as friendly and helpful in all areas as the previous years. The beach seemed very much improved as far as the sea grass compared to years past. Food, rooms, service, grounds and staff wonderful. There is not one negative we can review of this adults only (fantastic) resort.
A few people we really wish to acknowledge are Adan at the excellence pool bar, Carolina and Marianna. Daniela, the new guest service manager was also exceptional. If you are looking for a wild and roudy club atmosphere this isn't the resort for you. It's an elegant and quiet adult atmosphere. The swim up bar is somethimes a little on the wild side but fun. Love the fact they are sticking to the dress codes for the resturants. We just returned a week ago and are ready to book again for next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OklahomaBeachperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

First and foremost allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres for the 4th time as host of your vacations.
It is our pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations, making you feel relaxed and pampered all the time. Our commitment is to make of every guest experience, as exceptional and unique as it can be.
Please be sure that Adan, Carolina, Marianna and Daniella have been already congratulated for providing you an outstanding service.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and have another opportunity to pamper you with our service creating another experience to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My fiance and I spend 5 amazing days at this resort to celebrate my birthday and our anniversary. The rooms, amenities, and service is impeccable. Upon arrival after a long flight, we were given an ice cold glass of champagne and a cool towel. We were toured around the resort and introduced to our private concierge. He welcomed us to our room and when we arrived they had filled our entire room with balloons, had a big birthday cake waiting, and drawn a bath for us with candles and roses. It's was amazing! We had an ocean-view room with a private pool on the upper deck. It was completely worth the extra we paid. All the restaurants around the resort had amazing food. The spa was fantastic. We had a beach side couples massage and after they set up champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for us. I don't think I've had so much champagne in my life and I loved every second of it. This resort has it all and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The excellence package add on is completely worth it. You get access to a private lounge with snacks...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jigganilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We enjoy writing a review about the hotels that we have stayed in. Previously stayed in ,The Secrets Maroma, Secrets Capri, Eldorado Royale and Sea Side Suites. This review is so easy to write about. From the moment my family- there were six of us- arrived we knew that we had made the right choice. Check in was simple and quick. It was nice to be greeted with champagne and a cold towel. On the way to our rooms the bell boy explained to us all what we needed to know about the restaurants and bars.
Arriving in our room we were delighted with the layout. It was one of the best rooms we have stayed in. It had a large balcony with a double day bed to relax on. We were surprised at the amount of soft drinks and full bottles of alcohol that was supplied. The hotel had a great variety of restaurants but we were not able to visit all of them as we were there for only eight nights.
There were a number of themed nights, one of which was a Caribbean Night set on the beach. We really enjoyed this while watching the sun set. My wife and I were treated by our family to a romantic candle lit dinner on the beach. This again was very elegant and enjoyable. Our favourite restaurant without doubt was the French Restaurant – Chez Isabel. Service in this restaurant like all the others was impeccable.
We did not upgrade and we were delighted with our view overlooking the resort from block 7. The swim up rooms had a grassy area to walk over to before reaching the lazy river which had no stairs leading into the pool. If you were elderly or had a disability these rooms would not be suitable.
I must congratulate our concierge for his prompt action when we and others had to complain about the noise and behaviour from a large number of guests, who were playing their own music, extremely loudly, shouting and behaving inappropriately. This was in one of the lazy rivers directly below our room. I am glad to say that this did not happen again and for the rest of the stay we enjoyed the peace and tranquillity that the hotel offers.
The beach is divided into two sections. One area is reserved for those who have upgraded. My only complaint is that for the other section here were no padded mattresses on the sun loungers. The beach itself has lovely soft white sand but there is a large amount of black sea grass washed up onto the shore continuously. The hotel tries to remove it daily. You cannot walk very far in either direction on this beach. If you are a beach lover the Secrets Maroma has a stunning beach.
The staff, food, entertainment and weather made this holiday a wonderful memorable experience. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danielsanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you very much for giving us the pleasure to serve you and your family this past vacation.
We are glad to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, highlighting the quality of food encountered at our restaurants, the courteous attention of our staff and the comfort room accommodation & amenities.
It is our greatest pleasure knowing that you and your family left entirely satisfied with your vacation. Once again thank you and we look forward to pampering you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Excellence was an incredible resort. The staff was amazing and outgoing. We really enjoyed talking to Julien at the Smoothie Bar about the local living. Know that if you are honeymooning or celebrating your anniversary that YOU MUST show proof via a certificate.There is pool side service and beach side service which is wonderful if you don't want to move. The room service food could use some improvement. The live shows were very entertaining. The most important thing is that we felt safe and well taken care of. We will be visiting again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was an amazing 10 year anniversary get away! Would go back in a heart beat! Everything was awesome- room, food, service, amenities! So happy that we chose this resort! Close to the airport as well. You don't feel like you are in Cancun. Very private and first class. So relaxing and just what we needed/wanted to celebrate our anniversary!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an indoor/outdoor jacuzzi, and view of private pool
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbsegerlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Excellence Resort July 4th 2013. We had so-so weather, better the last 2 days we were there. The beach was not as nice as we were expecting but that didn't matter because the service was outstanding! Having drinks and food brought to you on the beach was heaven. The French restaurant was our favorite. We loved that it was Adults Only. And if you stay in the Excellence club part of the resort you get additional amenities and peac and quiet on a private beach area. We were also very impressed with the Fourth of July celebration they put on including fireworks!! We haven't stopped talking about it and cant wait to go back with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jhazlett5212003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,635 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 176 in Cancun
5,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#7 of 176 in Cancun
5,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: £308 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing