We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our first time at EPM, having stayed at a couple of other resorts on previous trips to Mexico. Overall, we had a fantastic time and would love to go back in the future.

We booked the junior suite (least expensive room) and were super surprised at how nice the room was. The pictures really don't do the room justice. We also didn't upgrade to the "excellence club" and felt like that was the right decision for us. We didn't feel like we were missing out on anything by not having it although I guess we really can't compare.

The beach did have quite a bit of seaweed during our first couple of days. There were several staff members out there trying to clean it up, but there was so much of it, that not a lot could be done about it. However, as the week went on, there was less seaweed, which made the beach look much nicer. If your primary concern is the beach, then this may not be the right resort for you.

The food was really good overall. We enjoyed the breakfast at the Lobster House a little more than the buffet, but the buffet did have a variety of foods for those that like to sample a variety of things for breakfast. For lunch, our favorite was the pizza from the Sol bar--probably would have eaten it everyday if we felt like pizza for lunch everyday would be okay! They also had a different type of food every day at the beach... some days were better than others. The "tex mex" lunch food was really good, but the burgers were just okay. We only went to the buffet lunch once, but there seemed like quite the variety for lunch there too. Our favorite dinner was Chez Isabelle- the filet mignon was wonderful (actually the whole meal was wonderful). Service at some of the restaurants seemed somewhat slow compared to the other resorts we have been to, but it didn't bother us too much.

The nightly entertainment at EPM was the best of any of the resorts we have been to in Mexico. My fiance especially liked the Madonna show, while the Michael Jackson show was my favorite. It also seemed like there were more activities throughout the day for those who wanted to participate than at the other resorts we have been. For entertainment, this resort would get an A+ from us!

There were a couple of negatives during our stay. About half way through the week, there was a bad smell (like sewage) outside. Not sure exactly where it was coming from, but we did notice it off and on for several days. Also, on our last day, our keys to the room got deactivated prior to checkout. We had been to the beach and the pool in the morning and when we got back to the room to finish packing, both of our keys wouldn't work. We went the front desk and they took care of it immediately, but it was a bit of a hassle, especially since it was not checkout time yet and we were in a bit of a rush at this point.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time here and think this was a great place to escape reality!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hokiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,384 - 7,390 of 12,264 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

We love this hotel, the facilities are great, the grounds are immaculate and the rooms are as good as anywhere else we have been. What raises it to another level is the staff who are brilliant from the top down.

All the staff we met were so polite and always had a smile and a greeting for us. The guys who deserve special mention are Ruben, the manager of Spice, Gloria, table service at CafeKafe, Christian, table service at the French restaurant, Rodrigo, bar at CafeKafe, Vilma, concierge and Franchesca, manager guest services. You guys are fantastic, thank you.

I won't repeat what so many other people have already said about what a great place this is, my only additional comments are as follows:

Roof Top Terrace - We booked a roof top as the holiday was for our 35th anniversary as a treat. We loved it, we enjoy the peace and quiet and found it very relaxing during the day to come back after breakfast and just chill out. The plunge pool was a godsend on the hot days (there were a few!). The only downside was no waiter service but there was always room service and the fridge in the room. One suggestion would be a waterproof cover for the sun bed as some mornings after rain at night it was soaked and took a while to dry out.

I have seen reviews where people complain their room is not cleaned, mini bar not stocked etc. if this happens to you pick up the phone and speak to the staff, if your issue can be sorted they will sort it as soon as possible. We had a couple of days where our room had not been cleaned by 3.00pm, we called and it was done before 4.00pm.

The area around the Spa is a "quiet" area, if you want to be noisy go to the main pool where the action is. On a couple of days a large group of 12 based themselves in the Cabanas opposite the Spa and got louder as the day went on (and they drank more), I am sure the people who were having a relaxing Spa did not appreciate the noise and, contrary to what you might think, the rest of us are not interested in what you have to say!!

We have already booked for next year which speaks volumes for how highly we rate this hotel, Virginia and her team do great job and we can't wait to see them again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLauries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We are long time members of Palace Resorts and have stayed at all of their resorts including the 5 star LaBlanc. This resort is the BEST by far! We have thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will definitely return. It is beautiful and clean. The rooms are spacious, food is beyond excellent and the Basmati Indian restaurant is by far the best Indian food I have ever tasted. Oscar (the waiter there) is the most amazing waiter! All of the people there are wonderful, but Oscar stands out as being the most charismatic and personable employee at the resort. If you stay here, you will not be disappointed. They go above and beyond to ensure your stay is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelliSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from the Excellence, Playa Mujeres. We had a lovely experience. I was treated like a princess the whole time. The staff is very warm, friendly and very entertaining. Always smiling and ready to please. Our room was very beautiful. It was equipped with a whirlpool tub looking out over the pool. The rain shower was a great way to start and end the day. Breakfast at the buffet was outstanding. We spent much of our days poolside. Our pool waiters Ever and Angel were above average in keeping us supplied in drinks. Migeal the waiter at the beach restaurant Las Olas was always available for anything I needed. Cesar the bartender at the martini bar was amazingly fast. He provided us with the bottomless martini .Alexander the beverage director surprised us and brought bottle of Chardonnay to our room for us to enjoy before dinner. The entire staff was very charming and willing to serve. The pizza oven by the beach was a nice touch. The Mexican pizza were absolutely delicious. My husband and I both agree this is by far the most plush resort we have ever stayed at. We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 7. It was close to the pool and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This trip was booked as a surprise birthday celebration for my mom’s 60th. .. This hotel was AMAZING!! My Travel Agent offered several option for All-Inclusive Resorts in Mexico, however after reading tons of reviews on TripAdvisor.com AND seeing the Hotel rank was voted “Traveler’s Choice 2013 Winner” we immediately booked the trip

It’s a bit of drive from the airport.. maybe like 20 minutes or so, and after passing through two large Guarded Gates who verified our names and length of stay (which I loved, felt secured) we were greeted with warm towels and glasses of Champagne.
It was that moment when my mother looked at me with that “OH MY GOODNESS” look, she was instantly impressed!

The staff was unbelievably pleasant and beyond accommodating. While being escorted to our room, our bellhop was awesome! As he escorted us to our room, he gave us a mini-tour “Lunch is served here, from blah to blah.. Martinis are delicious at…” and when he asked our names, I was sure it was just to be courteous.. not like he’d remember them. OH NO YES HE DID!! Greeted us by name every time we saw him during our stay. But I have to say my Love was Rueben! He took care of us every day for breakfast.. we even tailed him to the Lobster House for lunch. OMG this guy was sooooooooo nice if I could’ve fit him in my suitcase, he’d be in Atlanta right now! Beyond sweet, beyond accommodating. Seriously the sweetest guy.

Our room was fantastic! We kept laughing at the “Mini-Bar” because there was nothing MINI about it. Literally full sized bottles of alcohol and treats, replenished daily! Our room was on the 1st floor a “Junior Swim Up” across from the Spa which was perfect because there’s a “Lazy River” that flows through the resort. From our patio we could hop right into the water, which was pretty cool!

If you’re reading this you’ll want to know the food and cocktails were awesome!! The French restaurant had the best Filet I’ve had in years.. you think Hotel steak, you think Banquet food.. OH non uh! This was Steakhouse - Chops qualify. And again excellent service.
We spent a lot of time at the Martini Bar.. where no one’s glass was empty!

Again the trip was for my mom’s 60th… I was sure for her b-day dinner they’d sing Happy Birthday.. maybe bring by a slice of cake which would have been great. Hmph! Welll…… it started with the Concierge calling to wish her Happy Birthday that morning and continued from there! From a bottle Champagne and chocolate cake being delivered, to the staff decorating our room.. Dinner was perfect! The table was decorated adorably and the staff sung again. Mommy was definitely a Happy Birthday Girl!

Also want to mention, we met a bunch of lovely people. Mostly couples honeymooning or celebrating anniversaries.. we even got to watch a Wedding! Everyone is so nice.. a shout out to Linda and Paul! We’ve made plans to visit them in Boston or meet again at Excellence!

Don’t hesitate .. Book this Hotel right now! You definitely won’t be disappointed….

Room Tip: Definitely enjoyed the Swim up suite / It's right of the Lazy River / It's 1st floor so no f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our first visit trip to Mexico-but certainly not the last.We were unsure what to expect,but our expectations were wildly exceeded.The resort is beautiful in every respect,position decor in the rooms and throughout the resort and the restaurants are all first class. But what sets this resort apart from all others is the warmth and genuine feeling that all the staff want to make you feel as if you were at home and want to do their utmost that even the smallest request is dealt with immediately .
If you want to be super critical you can always find something to complain about. However you can rest assured it will be dealt with efficiently by the caring staff.
We opted for the club excellence which gave some additional benefits,separate areas by the pool and beach plus lovely little extras in the room which was worth the small extra cost.
We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank school48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Hotel is fabulous! All the staff and installations are magnificent!
If you are looking for the best confort and luxury, go for the Club Excellence rooms, many advantages and exclusive áreas and services, we highly recommend it. It was the perfect end for a lovely vacation in Mexico.
We highly enjoyed the Spa and the activities.
Go for it, you will not regreat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarelicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,559 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel del Sol
Hotel del Sol
#117 of 177 in Cancun
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,989 reviews
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: £310 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Holiday Gems, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing