We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly flawed but still excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Slightly flawed but still excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Visited this hotel last November and only just getting round to writing a review - wont go into detail as lots of people describe the ins and outs of room locations and restaurants (where the food is generally excellent) but would say requesting the right room is very important depending on what kind of holiday you're after, the hotel is slightly schizophrenic in that there are rooms in very quiet areas and there are rooms right next to the main pool which is generally full of loud drunk middle age Americans trying to re-live the spring breaks of their youth, not pleasant really.
The staff are phenomenal but in a slightly formulaic way, almost without exception. Would totally recommend a visit to the nearby island, go under your own steam rather than on an organised trip for more freedom and fun.

Room Tip: We were in room 4003 and it was about as far away from the drunks as you could get :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cidermonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,348
    1,377
    345
    131
    72
See reviews for
498
9,231
92
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,045)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This resort was just wonderful...Staff was great.
Food was wonderful..rooms were great,pools great,room service great..
The only thing I have to complain about.....THE WEATHER!!!..It did rain everyday but 2 days we were in cancun...But a bad day in cancun is better than a good day at work...
we also used berwick travel....Kelly is wonderful...We have used this travel agent before and will do so again.....Thanks Kelly...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We decided to return to EPM having had our first holiday (Oct/Nov 2012) somewhat impeded due to my other half suffering with a broken ankle just before our holiday... and so, what with the fantastic faciltites and level of service etc - we thought it would be nice to return to enjoy them "properly".

We booked our return for 28/11/13 - 13/12/13. we contacted concierge to request a room in the same block as per our previous visit. Any correspondence was responded to quickly, efficiently and always positively by Vilma Montalvo.

Upon arrival, our request was fulfilled; the welcome of cold flannels and champaign whilst bell-boys take charge of luggage and reception complete check-in, is most welcome after a long journey from Manchester Airport. You are immediately concious that your holiday is starting with the hotel taking care of you and doing what they can to ensure you are feeling welcomed and relaxed as soon as possible!!

The rooms (we had junior suite - standard room), are exeptionally spacious, Queen Size bed; literally a "living area" with corner sofa, large flat screen TV, DVD player; walk in 'wardrobe' also containing the safe, iron/board etc; 2 x hand basins, deluge shower & power shower (walk in) / Jacuzzi and not forgetting the balcony - another large bed and table/chairs... each room provides comfort including tea/coffee facilities, daily restocking of water/juice/beer/wine/crisps/chocolates as well as having your own "spirits (Rum/Whiskey/Vodka etc)

The overall layout ensures that should you require a more "lively" atmosphere, you can locate around the main pool area (music/entertainment team etc), or if like us, you prefer peace & tranquility, you can locate around one of the other pools or especially around the lazy river (which tends to be the most peaceful & quiet of place to be). All in all, there is somewhere for everyone. Loungers are always available, with fresh clean towels near by (if not already placed on the bed) around the pools or beach.

There are bars located around the hotel grounds which allows staff to efficiently look after peoples needs, or, if you fancy a little walk - its somewhere to go to get water / juice / beer / drinks - whatever you fancy! (even a little ice-cream machine next to the Kafe Kafe - which is rather nice mid afternoon)

Food - Excellent choice / varied themed restaurants (worth checking you daily information sheet to see which one is closed, as one or two are closed each day). The French restaurant tends to get "full" rather early/quickly, we only managed one visit (bearing in mind we have had effectively 4 weeks holiday there). House wine is fine, you can pay an additional fee for other wine, but personally, I found the house wine absolutely fine with every meal.

Room Service & Breakfast/Lunch - great for mid-afternoon if you do not want to go to the restaurant or the fresh pizza hut (it it well worth noting & definately recommend getting a pizza from there - he is located at the bar near the beach... really really good pizza!) The buffet restaurant for lunch would satisfy any palete, anything from freshly prepared sushi, salad, burgers, steak, fish, rice, chips, pizza, varied fresh breads etc etc.. The same can be said for breakfast, anything from Eggs Benedict to simply cereal/toast or sausage/bacon, pancakes, french toast, vast selection of fruit, or freshly made (you decide on ingredients) omelette.

Staff - Should you request anything or have any questions, they are more than happy to help! We had several calls from various concierge enquiring if we needed anything. Personal visits from Efren and Wilberth (Concierge Manager) ensured our second holiday was the most memorable.. so much so, we are hoping to return later this year (as a rule, we do not like to return to the same place)

Tips - tips are at your own discression. We felt it appropriate and definately deserved to tip regularly due to the service we experienced.

Money/Exchange - there is a cash machine located in reception, or if you already have peso's but require "smaller currency". Reception have the facilities to exchange both dollars/sterling etc into peso or "change larger pesos into smaller" for tips etc.

Other info - dress code, it is preferred that gents wear collard shirts and trousers or smart shorts (not bermuda etc) when dining of an evening, ladies - dressy/smart-casual
(Even though this is the hotels 'policy' on numerous occasions men dined out in blatent beach attire, now if this was in a casual restaurant that would be OK.. but personally, I dont want to be in a "fine a-la-carte" restaurant having made the effort ourselves, to be sat near a "sandy/unwashed/hairy,dirty footed man" - but maybe thats just us being picky?)

Drinks - Huge selection of cocktails to try, and if your "tipple of choice" is not listed - ask. They have a decent selection of beers as well as brand named spirits

Wilberth (Concierge Manager) along with the concierge team ensured our holiday was beyond our expectations!! If you are unsure of anything, Cocierge are located on ground floor of each block or in reception, they welcome any questions and do all they can to ensure you have a memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank monkeycoco28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Playa Mujeres.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the amazing staff, the high quality food and drinks encountered at our Restaurants and bars, and lastly but no less important, our Resort facilities.

We all look forward to welcome you on your 3rd visit, and to provide you with another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying that my review may very well be "clouded" by the fact that we had cold & rainy weather for 4 of the 6 days we were there!!

Overall Atmosphere
The resort is lovely and very expansive. They have a nice common area/square where they apparently have live music and events daily. Unfortunate lit rained most of the time so we didn't get to see much of it.

Rooms
We were supposed to have an ocean view room but we certainly didn't see the ocean from our room. We were on the ground floor so that may be the reason. Showers are great and we love the lounge bed on the patio which we used a lot due to the rain. The beds and pillows were not very comfortable. We both had major back issues the whole time as a result.

Service
We found the service to be quite inconsistent! The folks at the Excellence Club were very polite when they said "no" to most of our requests. They were very inflexible! It got to the point where we just didn't want to go in there!! We were with friends who were not in EC and they would not allow them to sit on the beach with us. So we sat on the "other side" and found the service to be sparse there. We often had to go to the bar ourselves to get drinks.
The wait staff was very good. The drinks were just OK and varied depending upon the bartender. Go to Agave and get your margaritas!!!

Food
Food was generally good for an all-inclusive. We loved Basmati, Agave and Lobster House. We were disappointed by Chez Isabella and Barcelona. The breakfast and lunch buffets were good with a lot of variety.

Again, I may have had a totally different impression if the weather was better. Of course that's not EPM's fault, but it seemed to bring the worst out in the resort.
We will probably not return!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We deeply regret the weather was not the best but we definitely appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Start with the good... Great facility. Beautiful grounds and the river-like pools are wonderful. A few of the problems were not their fault however they could have been a bit more accommodating. It was unusually cold when we went January 6th and it rained for four days. We asked several times if they could do something about the heat in our room before we finally found someone with the sense enough to remind us that the rooms are not equipped with heat as it rarely needs to be heated there. This took two days of asking before we asked for another blanket... Which didn't get but luckily it warmed up and we needed the AC... Lol. As it was cold and rainy, the hot tubs outside are warm tubs. We asked if they would raise the temperature to a normal 100 in a hot tub and time after time they said they would talk to someone. Obviously the staff are trained to never say no or we can't. We had to go to manager to hear... Nope we won't raise the temperature "we are within specifications". When asked what specs were, 93, less than body temperature. I get that when it's hot out a hot tub doesn't need to be hot but when it's cold, a nice hot tub above body temperature helps you warm up.

We spent the extra money on a swim up room.... Waste of money!!! Don't spend it unless you request a room that gets sun and don't plan to sleep in. We didn't realize until it got sunny but the sun never shined on our sun beds. There is a small bed that sits on your porch so that you can rest outside your room. Very nice however on the upper floors you can relax and fall asleep on those beds but on the swim up you can't really get comfortable as anybody can walk up to your outdoor bed. Another thing about being on the first floor... You hear everything as the walls are paper thin. Starting at 7am the trolley carts with all the glasses and room service go by your door. The floors are a bumpy tile and it sound like a freight train every 3 minutes or so. Could not sleep in one day. I get to sleep in very seldom and unfortunately didn't on this trip either.

As far as the staff... Hit or miss. Some are extremely nice and professional and some are there just to do their job. There are two restaurants by the pool, Lobster House and The Grill. They are connected and could be mistaken that it's one restaurant. Here is my issue... The Lobster House is the only place on the property that serves lobster. While at the Grill we asked the Assistant Manager at the Grill if our server could walk over and serve a lobster with our steak. He said he couldn't do it but I could walk over and ask. The manager was very apologetic and really understood my frustration. At an all-inclusive you'd think that a small request would be handled. Why could he say no to an easy request but no one would say no to an impossible request like making the heat work in my room without being equipped with a heater. I walked over to the Lobster house, a mere 10 yards and asked the main manager that happened to be the head of both restaurants. I was happy to hear his response... "Let's take care of this right now". He walked over with me to the other manager and said to him, "You now have the authority to deliver from The Lobster any item that a Grill customer requests." Very smart move on his part. Take care of me and let's me know that he intends to take care of every customer.

I would like to try the place again but at those prices there are many options.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank Netadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for having chosen Excellence Playa Mujeres as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the info you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I made the decision to book our stay here based on all the rave reviews on this website. We were really glad that we were steered in the right direction! We usually stay at Le Blanc and were convinced no other resort could steal our hearts away! I have to say that all the positive reviews really helped guide us… and we were really surprised at some of the negative reviews on here! Anyways, I'm going to make my review as specific as possible because all the info that I am going to give would have really helped in making my decision to stay here faster rather than debating back and forth on which place to stay at.

Booking:

After looking at a ton of sites I felt that Expedia was the easiest, cheapest and offered the best flights.

Where to request your rooms:

Okay so the main areas (restaurants, main pool, lobby, theatre, etc .) is where I prefer to stay near. To me, it's really convenient to just walk out of your building and have everything right there. The ONLY con is that the noise level can get high at night. Each night there is live music or shows playing but they only go till 10:30pm-ish so if you plan on staying up till then, then you should be fine. I love walking out on my balcony day or night and seeing everything that is going on. The rooms that are closest to the main areas are the 600 and 700 buildings. I believe 800 and 900 could be close too. If you prefer to stay further out then prepare to have a bit of a walk to all the events, pool, restaurants, etc.

Rooms:

I went through a long debate on whether to get the swim up suite or the 2nd story terrace . I'm really glad I ended up going with the terrace but that's my own preference. You should only get the 2nd story terrace if you actually plan on spending a lot of private time up there. It's large, with a huge sun deck, and a fairly large private/personal spa/pool. There are also outdoor showers for your use. The view is amazing if you can request a prime location. If you want the water temp turned up for the spa then you can call them and they will send someone up to adjust that for you. If you prefer to be part of all the action then get the swim up suite. The only thing I didn't like about the swim up was that there seemed to be hardly any privacy.

I LOVE the layout of the rooms! The shower was HUGE and could probably fit like 4 people! There is even a peekaboo window into the bedroom where someone can watch you shower. The entire bathroom itself is not private. If you are sharing with friends or family I suggest you be very comfortable with them seeing you naked and seeing/hearing/smelling your bathroom activities. Seriously. Who designed this and why??!! The toilet area is like a public restroom. The frosted glass doors do not reach all the way to the top. Also you can see thru the doors on each side. There is a huge echo in there so any sound made from the ripping of toilet paper to a pin dropping in there can be heard. The sink area features double sinks and a view into the bedroom. Everything is LOUD in these rooms. So if you go to the restroom at night or wash your hands you will wake up whoever else is bunking with you.

The rooms are really large and offer a little living area with a sofa as well. I believe all of them come with an in room jacuzzi but I could be wrong… I know for sure the swim up suites and the 2nd story terrace rooms have the in room jacuzzi. Loved this feature! There are windows next to the jacuzzi that open up into the patio so you can get a view of the outside. There is a flat screen TV on the wall that features quite a lot of channels but alas, most are in Spanish. And I confirmed that the reviews were correct, there are free 24/7 porn channels at your disposal. LOL.

The bed! As nice as the room was, I did not ever get a good night's sleep here. 1) The bed was hard and springy. The mattresses are not high quality. I took the advice of other fellow reviewers and requested a pillow top to be added onto the bed. This definitely helped but still wasn't super comfortable. The bed has a ton of pillows but not one was of high quality. All were either thin, flimsy or small.

Minibar: I wasn't impressed with the selection of alcohol. Jose Cuervo and Smirnoff?! You're asking for one hell ova hangover everyday. I won't touch the stuff. Come on, for the price people pay at least let it be Absolut Vodka! We called the front desk and they said we could upgrade to Stoli for an extra $40 which we did. If you purchase your rooms and selected to be a part of the Excellence Club during your stay you supposedly get better liquor in your room FYI.

Maid service: They came in twice a day and were always consistent with cleaning up and keeping everything nice. A++++

Restaurants:

The food was definitely better than expected (saw a lot of bad reviews on here on the food) but not the best we've had in Cancun (Le Blanc had the best food by far). Didn't get to try them all so you won't see all of the restaurants listed. I'll break it down below:

Toscana Buffet (Breakfast and Lunch): I give this place 3 stars out of 5. They need to add more variety to the daily selection. It was the same stuff everyday. Also, the temperature of the food was never hot enough. I wasn't impressed with things they offered such as tamales, fried tacos, flautas, etc… they were all overdone, hard and chewy. Towards the end I was only eating the fruit, pastries and juice. Service was okay. Nothing to rave about.

Toscana (Italian Dinner): For dinner this was one of our favorite places. I give it 4 out of 5 stars. The service was really good. We were served by Ignacio and he was the best waiter we had at the resort. If you love pasta and anything Italian then make sure you try this place out. I tried the linguine and the lasagna and enjoyed them both. The portions are fairly large here.

Spice (Asian): This place was forgettable. The service wasn't up to par and the food wasn't that great. I give this place 3 out of 5 stars. We were hungry and ordered 2 appetizers each as well as 2 entrees each to share and the waiter made a comment about it. Just a note: The portions at the restaurants can sometimes be small so we like to share and try out different things. I'm a huge foodie so my appetite can be voracious. Anyways, we felt like he was making us feel bad for ordering all the food but we finished everything nonetheless. We pay good money to stay there so we deserve to order whatever and how much

Lobster House:

Breakfast - 3 stars. Nothing special. Your usual a la carte egg dishes and waffles/pancakes. Service was good.

Lunch - 3 stars. Again, nothing special. The wings and calamari were not that warm and were chewy. Had shrimp tacos here and they were mediocre.

Dinner - 4 stars. Surprisingly the lobster was really good! I tried both the grilled and the steamed and I actually enjoyed the steamed more. It was softer and tender. The lobster portions were huge here! Service was the worst here. We waited for a while to get seated (the host was nowhere to be found for awhile) and everything from getting our orders taken to getting our food was lengthy. We were definitely getting impatient here.

Agave (Mexican Dinner): One of my fave dinners! I give this one 5 stars. The service (Luis) was impeccable and the food was amazing. I wish I had come back another night but didn't get a chance. Endless chips and salsa/guac! I had the Beef Tenderloin and it was amazingly tender and tasty! YOU MUST GET THE TRES LECHES CAKE! To die for! The only dessert here that I really loved!

Barcelona (Mediterranean Dinner): This one was forgettable. Service was okay and food was the same. Had the steak and it was a bit chewy and fatty for my taste. 2 stars.

Basmati (Indian Dinner): 4 stars. I was a bit skeptical about this place but it turned out to be pretty good. My only complaint was the service once again. Nonexistent and slow. Took forever to get our orders taken, for drinks to arrive and for food as well. It was almost impossible to find your server here to ask for anything.

Olas Grill (Pizza): This outdoor spot is by the main pool. The pizzas are REALLY good! But can be a long wait if the pool is particularly busy. But well worth it! 4 stars!

Room service: 24/7 room service which I took full advantage of! They offer your usual nachos, burgers, steak, etc. After 10:30pm it's a limited menu though! You can have alcoholic drinks sent up to your room too! Make sure you remember to tip!! Just because the fine print says that your all inclusive fee includes tip doesn't mean everyone gets a good share of it. These people work really hard so a couple bucks every time you are served is well appreciated.

Dessert selection could use a little variety and upgrade!

Entertainment/Activities:

I was quite pleased with how many activities there were. There was volleyball/water volleyball scheduled 3 - 4 times a day with lots of fitness classes, tennis classes, archery, games, etc. Every night there were shows like magic shows, acrobatic shows, live music, casino night, etc. There's a nice theatre area where the shows take place. My only complaint was when I was here last week, it rained so much that they canceled a lot of the activities. I think they should have more indoor activities as a back up to keep people busy during bad weather. There was absolutely nothing to do but eat and drink and that gets boring after 3 days of rain.

Gym: Didn't expect much but loved it. Enough equipment for everyone to use and well stocked with cold water and fresh fruits. There's an empty studio next door where they hold their fitness classes. They have classes everyday ranging from Crossfit, Kickboxing, Yoga, Water Aerobics, etc. I took the Crossfit class and couldn't walk right for 3 days. lol.

Bars: They give you bottom shelf liquor for everything unless you specify! The highest level of Vodka they have is Stoli, SOMETIMES Ketel One. Their drink menu caters to everyone… strong martinis to fruity slushy drinks and assorted margaritas. Again I'd like to recommend to tip your bartenders. They work long and hard and barely get anything from your all inclusive fees that you paid to stay there. Never had a bad bartender but most are not that friendly (not genuinely at least). My favorite bartender here is Fabian and he works out by Olas Grill. He knows his stuff, great mixologist and fun person to talk to. He's engaging, friendly (genuinely) and gives great customer service. Tell him Jen from California says hi if you see him! He makes a great California Zombie drink!

Beach: Not as beautiful as other parts of Cancun… small private area that's for hotel guests only. You get a view of Isla Mujeres across the way. Water has a lot of sea kelp and is not that clear. All non-motorized water sports are free such as paddle boarding, kayaking, windsurfing, catamarans, etc. They offer jet ski rentals as well which was quite fun!

WIFI: SUCKED!!! No WIFI at all when I was in my room. Only when I was out and about. And even then sometimes it was slow or would go in and out.

Pools: The only pool worth visiting is the main one and it is heated. Forget the lazy pool if the weather isn't at least 90 degrees because it is COLD!! They don't heat this one. I couldn't even get into it at 85 degree weather. The jacuzzis could all use some tweaking… some were lukewarm, some cold and others scalding hot! So hot that people were screaming the second they got in.

All in all, I would definitely come here again on my next stay. I enjoyed the community feel and this place actually felt like a resort… not a hotel. They could def use some tweaking on the service and some of the food but other than that, the resort is break taking, well kept and top notch. I would recommend to EVERYONE. You definitely won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We last visited Excellence Playa Mujeres in December 2012 having been to EPM on 4 previous occasions and 4 times to Excellence Rivera Cancun before that. Each time we had such a memorable and fantastic experience. As previously stated, Excellence Playa Mujeres is most definitely our home from home.

In 2012 we visited EPM twice; 2 weeks in May and another 2 weeks in December such is our love of this hotel. As we had experienced the Excellence brand 8 times in a row, we seriously considered where to go next for our 2013 vacation that was new. We know the world is a big place and there are so many places to visit. Ultimately though, what we want as a couple is a resort that is dependable, value for money, great service, great food and drink in a beautiful location. We looked high and low on Tripadvisor and came basically to the same conclusion that, yes there are many places in the world, but we as a couple feared we would not find these same qualities elsewhere and thus returned back to our second home. This is a view shared by so many repeat guests I have met there in the previous years.

There was a compromise this time in that we decided to split our vacation by spending 6 days in the beautiful Beloved hotel next door and the remaining 8 days at EPM, placing our faith still in the Excellence brand. This was arranged through Blue Bay Travel in the UK who I was very impressed with and shall definitely use again.

I have written three previous reviews for EPM and therefore by default this review will be shorter than those previously. I didn’t want to repeat too much of what I had written before , but I did want to reaffirm our love of this beautiful and special place in our hearts.

Our transfer from The Beloved hotel was via a golf cart which took us swiftly from lobby to lobby to be greeted by the ever efficient attention of the bell boys. Of course there was the usual chilled face towel and a lovely glass of cold bubbly and a 'Welcome home senor ….....'. As usual, the smell of the lobby of citrus oil is always amazing and we are always impressed at the beauty of its design. The lobby and areas were as expected, decorated with Christmas trees and decorations. As you walk along so many staff were saying welcome back!

We were swiftly checked in by Sandra, the then Guest services manager and Dalel from Excellence Club lounge in with the usual efficient manner. Like last time, there were many ‘welcome home’ greetings from the courteous staff who we have grown to know and respect. Where everyone knew us by name yet some of the staff were new.

We had an Excellence Club roof top terrace in building 8 overlooking the ocean, Isla Mujeres and the Steak house etc, but a little closer to beach this time and the views were great. It was close to everything that mattered to us namely the club lounge, the club beach and all the restaurants.

The RTT are amazing with a fantastic choice of premium top shelf liquor of which you could change should you prefer something different. There were the usual green tea Bulgari toiletries, cheese plate etc and a beautiful flower arrangement. On the roof level there was a large soft day bed, sun lounging bed at the far end and of course the trade mark plunge pool with Jacuzzi jets and wall mounted water flow outlets. The water was a little cool, but you can on request ask for it to be warmed up. To be honest, you quickly get used to it and I like a cool water hole to retire to in the mid day sun. There is a new addition to the rooms this year with a Nespresso coffee machine and a variety of different coffee capsules. We had our usual mattress and feather pillows instead of the foam ones which gives a better sleep.

Like our last visit, we ate breakfast mainly in the club lounge on this trip, which is more than adequate for us with an occasional room service breakfast. We enjoy the lounge for breakfast because we are not normally breakfast people, but there was enough to chose from the cold section which included cold meats, smoked salmon, yogurts, muesli, fruits etc. From the bar area there were a variety of different pastries, toast, juices, speciality coffees and something different each day in the warm stores. You have access to newspapers, computers and the huge television. Exactly what the club experience is all about in my opinion.

During our 8 night stay the weather was generally free from rain , but many days were a mixture of cloud and sun, but not as much sun as last December when we had just one day of intermittent rain and thunder. Tuesday was a complete wash out and it threw it down for around 24 hours non stop! However as always when it rains here for any length of time a well oiled machine kicks in. They very quickly had a coffee station with sandwiches, cakes and pastries and a Mayan coffee station set up in the Martini bar area and management including Virginia, Eric, Wilberth (head concierge) Alexander (drinks manager) etc were very much in attendance. I have noted this on many other occasions over the past few years and is good to see. Las Olas, normally on the beach, set up in the theatre area.

Again we spent a great deal of time at the Excellence club beach and the staff there were fantastic. Carolina had now left the club beach area and was now promoted to excellence club concierge staff. It was great also to see Mariana, Manuel, Ceasar and Fidel there, the ever happy beach bar waiter who sometimes intuitively predicts when you want your favourite drink and brings it to you before you have thought of it yourself! We just love Manuel at the excellence club beach concierge , he is always so happy and very attentive. We remember him from last December when he was training and has been promoted since. Mariana too is one of our personal favourites, such a lovely warm young lady.

On our second day I was lying sun bathing on the beach when I heard a very familiar voice say 'hello senor......' I looked up to see my old friend Alfonso Fernandez who used to be a concierge at the Excellence Riviera Cancun a few years ago. I just couldn't believe it. He is one of the nicest, most charming people I have ever come across in Mexico and he will be a great asset to have back in the Excellence family again. He is now again back in concierge and will I am sure form part of the backbone at EPM. Another day we were again treated to the ever smiling face that is Eric Cervantes, assistant general manager who we have come to know well. We shared stories about history both in Mexico and in England.

At the Excellence beach there are what are known as Excellence moments. There was a Excellence moment on Sunday with a classical Spanish style acoustic guitarist David who we met last year. There was a great variety of tapas such as large grilled mussels in their shells, king prawn skewers, etc with a variety of wines and sangria to wash it all down.

A new addition to the Excellence club this year is a chocolate extravaganza on Wednesday around 4pm which as the name suggests everything is chocolate themed. Such as chocolate martinis, truffles, chocolate fountain with fruit skewers, chocolate cake, etc.
As this holiday at EPM was shorter than last years, in terms of restaurants, Its even harder to condense into just a few words, but here are our best bits.

Las Olas – this is a beach side rustic place to pick up hot snacks which vary day to day. Sometimes burgers, chicken, steaks, fajitas etc all with accompanying warm side orders in warm stores together with a variety of salads etc. Quite often there is a band playing here or music piped onto the beach when there isn’t

Sol Bar – located towards building 9 and pool end of the resort this bar, apart from being a bar of course, cooks a wide range of great freshly cooked to order pizzas that you can take away back to the beach in the appropriate pizza takeaway boxes. Great idea, but get there early as there can be a 15 minute wait sometimes at the busier part of the day around midday.

Agave restaurant – The food is always good here and we had an assortment of different Margaritas including our favourite, tamarind margaritas and Strawberry and Mango versions which were great. As last year, the Mexican food was themed to a particular region of Mexico. We shared a meal with a lovely couple we met last December from New York. They have been to EPM probably around nine or ten times! The evening was very humid, but amazingly and much to my surprise, no sign of any mosquitos.

Toscana – It was nice to be welcomed back . We visited just once this time in the evening. We tried the lasagne this time as my wife had raved about it on our previous trip and wow she was right. We had it as a starter and was probably the best lasagne I have ever tasted. We had steak and scallops for our main course all of which were really delicious. We also visited this restaurant one lunch time on my wife’s birthday and were treated to an amazing lunch to celebrate the special occasion . The chef Leonardo and our waiter Javier went the extra mile and many thanks both to them and also to the legend that is Javier Cambranis. We have known Javier ever since Excellence Riviera Cancun days going back as far as 2008.

Flavor Market – Again, another great restaurant which we love. We particularly like the excellent fillet steak and blue cheese sauce and scallops with puréed peaches. We visited the Flavor Market on Tuesday evening and was served by Ivan who we met last year. Ivan is part of the furniture and knows the menu inside out. We had a variety of tapas for starters and then the most amazing piece of sea bass we have ever tasted which melted in the mouth and then introduced to executive chef Rafael Cervantes such an honour who had cooked it!

Spice - We attended the weekly managers cocktail party near cafe cafe and met the management team. The night ended on a high when we visited Spice and had an amazing meal courtesy of our old friend Ruben who we knew from the ERC from a few years ago and is the new manager. One of our all time favourite people and I know he will take the Spice to new heights. The chef for our meal was Alvaro. Boy is he good and both my wife and I agree it was one of the best Asian meals we have ever had. He has only been at Spice for two months and is amazing. Our lovely waiter was Saturnino Tamay

Basmati – Another good restaurant. The starters are always amazing. The poppadum's were a little hot last year but its good to see that they are now the regular type. I must say there is definitely an improvement in the quality all round this visit, particularly on the main course which if I am honest, have been a little watery in the past. Finding high quality Indian chefs in Mexico is a challenge. We had the chicken and lamb kebabs and lamb samosa. Both the chicken and lamb were very tender. For mains we had the Chicken Korma and Lamb Rogan Josh both of which were very good indeed. We were welcomed back by manager Juan and our old friend Oscar our server.

Chez Isabelle –Finished off Mondays celebrations with an amazing meal at Chez our favourite restaurant and were treated to a great tasting menu by Nestor the trainee sous chef who is such a great chef and we wish him well. Thank you also to Pedro and Raul. It was nice to see our old friend Pedro the manager who we really like. Another gentleman who always delivers excellent standards of food and service. The food in there is amazing and the waiters are very professional. When they bring your dishes to your table they are covered in a dome like stainless steel cloche and after a short tres,dos,uno - your food is ceremoniously revealed in a theatrical manner which is always amusing. We also visited Chez on our last night and were blown away by our experience. Again Nestor cooked an amazing meal and is very passionate about what he does.

Spa - as part of the same birthday occasion we visited the Miile Spa and experienced a new and amazing spa treatment called Sacred Nature Ritual which lasted about 80 minutes. As you may know from previous visits I am a convert to these spa treatments. In common with last year's treatment it was an amazing experience with all the senses being stimulated. Warm oils were used in conjunction with hot stones to massage all over the body and added to by smells including basil and rosemary that were wafted under your nose as you lay there. Patricia and Miriam were our therapists. Patricia who we have had for the past three years. Both were amazing. Big thank you also to Niyelli the spa manager. An incredible experience.

General and Cleaning staff - all are amazing and work very hard and always have an 'Hola' as you pass them.

Bars – Cesar & Hugo in the Martini Bar – both work at such a pace they almost blur and again recognised us from last year and are to commended on their hard work.

Concierge – a big thank you to Wilberth head concierge who was extremely attentive during our stay and always was enquiring if everything was to our satisfaction and we remember him from last year. All the staff in the club lounge especially Dalel who is a star.

I was sorry to see that Mariana Lojero is currently not head concierge at present, who most visitors will know well. Such a beautiful and dedicated guest services manager who worked tirelessly and helped make so many guests stay that bit extra special. I know in my heart she will return and I look forward to it.

Lastly a huge thank you to Virginia Amador general manager. She always takes so much time and effort into making our stay so special. She works tirelessly six days a week to ensure EPM remains at the top of its game. The experiences she has given us will live with us forever.

I spoke to two couples this vacation who we met on our last December trip in 2012. A couple from New York who have travelled the planet over 50 years and a Canadian couple in a similar position who were on their tenth visit. They both have one common message which I agree with. Where ever they have travelled, they cannot find anything that surpasses all the aforementioned criteria I look for in a holiday.

Excellence delivers such great levels of service, accommodation, food and drink to all its guests. What you will find though is that loyalty is most definitely rewarded. In total friends and family on our recommendation have visited Excellence on no less than 14 individual trips and again some of those are repeat guests and are looking to return.

One night after our meal my wife and I took ourselves away from the main hotel and walked onto the beach to watch an amazing display of meteorites which visit in early December each year. We counted no less than 8 in 15 minutes! As we lay there with our drinks looking up at the stars and the clouds passing over the full moon reflecting on the sea and the lights of Isla Mujeres across the water, I realised that I am a lucky man. We know no better hotel than the EPM and we shall return again and again. I know there are sometimes negative reviews regarding EPM, but I simply can't see what they see. Its all down to personal experience and speaking for myself mine are only ever great.

My only solitary recommendation, would be that the X lounge located near the beach was made better use of. To those who don’t know about it, its an outdoor lounge area right next to the beach near the Sol Bar that is usually open in the evening. It has lounge type beds and comfortable chairs. Its such a great asset , but doesn’t seem well frequented. Its nice sometimes to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main areas to chill out in such a place. It lends itself to having chill out music playing and a permanent late evening bar person. I would have thought this would be attractive to newly weds who want to spend some romantic evening time together. A similar one was at the Moon Palace hotel many years ago and we enjoyed the nightly experience and the ambience it created.

All the staff made our stay so extra special and we shall, as loyal customers, return as soon as we can. Photos will follow soon.

Room Tip: If you do experience any issues on your arrival that you are not happy with please let them know. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank deputymarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Resorts.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to our Resort facilities, the high quality food and drinks encountered at our Restaurants and bars, and lastly but no less important, our staff. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests but reviews like yours serve us to motivate us even more; we have forwarded your message to all our Department Managers.

We all look forward to welcome you once again and to provide you with another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,239 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Savannahville Tours N.V., Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing