We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Anniversary EXCELLENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“50th Anniversary EXCELLENCE”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

WE chose the EPM for our 50th wedding anniversary after research on Tripadvisor and stayed for 2 weeks March 18th to April 1st. What a brilliant decision as the EPM was, without doubt, the best hotel based holiday we have ever experienced.

What made it so special? it was the staff, room (block 5), food, weather, beach, restaurants, hotel grounds, service levels, shows, premium brand drinks, etc; but most of all being treated so special for our anniversary.

When we arrived we had a glass of Champagne and wet flannel after the 11 hour flight. Shown to our room there was a bottle of Champagne, flowers, chocolates and heart shaped towel with rose petals.

Many thanks to Guondoline Flores, Concierge, for all your excellent service and arrangements making our anniversary so special. Our room was decorated on our last night with rose petals from the bed, with beautiful double swan feature, leading to the Jacuzzi decorated with heart shaped petals and candles. Very, very much appreciated. We had a special champagne breakfast in our room and decorated table for our evening meal. It was also my birthday during the holiday which was celebrated with many thanks to the staff and decorations.

Thanks for the phenomenal service and attention to detail from ALL the very well trained staff but we must especially mention; Shenily who greeted us every morning/lunch at the Toscana, Fredy for his fabulous service in the outside Toscana morning/lunch, Rubbin inside the Toscana and Nancy for her fabulous omelettes.

We tried all the marvellous restaurants and our favourites were Chez Isabelle, Spice and The Lobster House. We loved the powdery white sandy beach and service from Raul. Yes there was seaweed for 2 days after high winds but it was soon cleared up and we had 10 days of clear turquoise water. Beach sunbeds were always available.

The nightly turndown was more than just for the bed linen but also more clean towels (2nd time each day) tidy room with cleaned shower/bathroom and Jacuzzi.

The theatre shows were very good and the bands/singers were also of a high standard. Once again, thank you EPM for making our anniversary SO SO special and memorable. This really is a 5 star plus hotel.

Room Tip: Block 7, 6 and 5 for evening sun. All rooms same layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BandHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,484
    1,385
    350
    134
    73
See reviews for
503
9,360
92
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,095)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 22nd March to April 5th.Room 4302. First off I have to say the staff and facilities at this hotel are top notch. Food is excellent in all restaurants and from room service. The beach is great with plenty of sun beds. The mini bar in the room is stocked daily with soft drinks and beer. You have litre bottles of spirits available as part of your inclusive deal. Really you couldn't ask for more from an all inclusive resort 10 out of 10. The only problem we had is the hotels location. This may not be a problem for some but you are isolated. A taxi ride into Cancun is not cheap at around £35 return and prices for goods at the hotel are quite expensive. All in all a great experience but wouldn't go again due to isolation. An idea for the hotel may be to run its own shuttle service into the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Swiss_tony22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embro,ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Traveled with friends for 1 week starting March 11/14. Flew out of Toronto with Air Canada Rouge, which did not have the best service.
Can’t say enough about this resort. Have also stayed at Excellence Riviera Cancun, but must say this is the best resort we have ever stayed at!
The food was amazing in all restaurants, except maybe Mexican which was just OK. The lobster tail stuffed with the seafood medley is amazing at the seafood restaurant. No reservations required, but sometimes there was a small wait at some of the a la cartes at dinnertime, but just went to the Martini bar for a drink first. When ordering red wine at dinner, we were given a choice, not just the usual house red. At lunch, you could get a fresh made pizza made by the Sol bar, dine at the beach where they had a different themed lunch each day, or you could have lunch in one of the a la cartes overlooking the ocean/pool. Toscana’s was also open for buffet at lunch.
The main pool was heated, and was a great place to meet others. There is also a lazy river pool which is quieter but water was “cool”. The beach was nice, and yes there is seaweed which washes up on windy days, but they clean it up the best they can ASAP. They could use more huts on the beach so you don’t have to play the towel game in the morning. We stayed in Building 7, which was fairly close to everything. You can E-mail the resort in advance requesting this building or another (based on other reviews-thanks for doing this Vilma!) We had a view of the courtyard, where they have live music at night. Room was very nicely appointed, wonderful shower, and there is a nice sun bed on your balcony, which comes in handy after a day at the pool/beach. Room service is 24/7, which we took advantage of in the morning some days. Service was very quick. Room was always made up by the time we got back from the beach/pool in late afternoon, and also had turn down service each night. Room fridge was always well stocked.
Service by staff-outstanding!! They made an effort to learn your name, always smiled when greeting you, and also got to know what you drank. You could also get lunch brought to you at your pool/beach chair if you asked for a lunch menu. Many thanks to Eduardo at the Pool Bar, Caesar at the Martini Bar (the fastest bartender ever), Gladys at the beach, Juliana and Yesenia around the pool, Adielle (lovely) and Joseph in Entertainment, and Wilian who serenaded our group outside the theatre one night. Very nice touch.

Would love to return to this resort some day, and hope they get the Excellence in Jamaica open soon to try it out. Would highly recommend this resort to anyone!!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 7 which was just a short walk to everything. Right now there is construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gecko59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

On March 16th, my husband and I, along with good friends checked into the Excellence Playa Mujeres Resort in Cancun. Immediately we were greeted with a class of chilled champaign and a cool white cloth. From that moment on, we treated to the most wonderful holiday anyone could ever experience. We were transported from a cold, nasty winter in Canada to a warm, inviting and absolutely beautiful resort. During our nine day stay, we were amazed everyday. The organizational skills of this management team and staff at this property were nothing short of OVER THE TOP! We did upgrade to the Excellence Club and were quickly taken to the Club House to get checked in. Within 20 minutes we were in our rooms with our luggage. The room 8166 was lovely. We overlooked one of many beautiful pools with the ocean in the background. The room itself had a well stocked bar and fridge. Everything you could possibly want was there. The quality toiletries, wonderful huge shower, electronic safe, very large closet, plenty of hangers, fresh flowers and fruit and most important - everything was spotless. We met up with our friends in about one hour and were in the hot tub immediately. The pool side service was great. Staff were looking after guests wants and needs constantly. During our stay, we were always treated with the most respect. It was amazing to me how the staff knew you names.You always felt safe and secure. A typical morning would start with either a walk on the beautiful, clean beach, or a trip to the well equipped gym and then a leisurely breakfast. Gloria, the little gal at the door (Toscana's) always greeted with a beautiful smile. Gustavo was always our waiter. What a lovely person he is with such an amazing attitude. He always went out of his way for us (and I'm sure he did that for everyone). Many thanks to him for always making sure Poppy was happy. One day when we know Gustavo had the day off, we went to the Lobster House for breakfast. Unfortunately, I didn't get the name of the waiter, but he referred to us as HIS family. Service everywhere was outstanding.On the second morning, I went to the concierge to see if I could get different pillows. When our room was cleaned up and we returned from the beach, 2 goose down pillows were on our bed. We usually had lunch Las Olas at the beach. It was delightful and always entertaining. All the staff there were very friendly and looked after your every need. We tried most of the restaurants for dinner. They were all delightful. We had many very special evenings during our visit. The evening at Spice was just so much fun. We had made some new friends and we all gathered for a very entertaining dinner. Our chef that evening guided they way for all to have just a wonderful time. The most special day for me was March 24, my birthday. My husband went to Dalel. She just went out of her way to make the day so special. First thing in the morning, our room was decorated with balloons and streamers and a lovely birthday cake when we returned. When we left the room, a gentlemen handed me a lovely lilly and said have a wonderful birthday. That evening was arranged to have dinner at Chez Isabelle. This was a surprise for me. At the Martini Bar, Naikare (Guest services manager) approached me (who I did not know) and said "your table is ready". She guided us up the stairs and lead us out to the balcony, which was decorated with candles and balloons and just a beautiful evening. We had a wonderful dinner and lost track of time. The restaurant closes at 10:30 but we stayed until about 11:15 not realizing the time. Not a word was said. Returning to our room was unbelievable. Rose pedals were all over the floor, a lovely cheese tray on the table with a bottle of wine, roses in a heart shaped towels on the bed and a bubble bath drawn. Around the tub were roses and candles. Now that was a birthday I will never forget. The following night, Naikare asked where we were dining. I told her that I was not quit sure because there was going to be ten people and we would like to go the the Lobster House. Within 10 minutes she returned telling us our table would be ready at 7:15. She was just outstanding with her service and so very pleasant. Overall, this resort was just amazing. We must commend all management and all staff. We did have several occasions to chat with the General Manager, Virginia. She was very approachable. The resort always keeps the guests well informed with the Excellence Times in your room every evening during turn down service. You always knew what was going on through out the day and evening. There was so much to do or nothing if that is what you wanted (as everything was done for you). We played Texas Hold-em on a regular basis. The dealer, Adeile, was great. Bar service was always there. We meet so many people and had such great afternoons playing cards. The entertainment was so much fun every night. The "White Party" was just a beautiful sight to see. All the white lights and white linens and white covered chairs were gorgeous on the beach. All the live music every night and dancing the night away was just overwhelming. We met people from all over and I was surprised at how many Canadians were there. The attitude of management and staff at Excellence Playa Mujeres makes all guests comfortable, relaxed and ready for a wonderful holiday. We could not have asked for more. Our sincere thanks and gratitude to all. PS. To our travelling partners Steve (Big Daddy) and Marilyn, can we do this again sometime?

Room Tip: We met many people and everyone loved their rooms. If you would like a larger view of the ocean ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time of sharing your experience with us.

It is a pleasure to know that you chose us as hosts of your birthday and that we were able to exceed your expectations making of this celebration a unique and memorable experience.

We are pleased to know that your relaxing vacation with us was highlighted by the courteous attention of our staff, comfort room accommodations, and enjoyable food & drinks in our restaurants and bars

At Excellence Playa Mujeres we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction. Comments like yours have always been of great assistance in fulfilling this mission. We all look forward to welcome you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 3rd trip to cancun in 4 years. Previously we stayed at the sensatori, azul and el dorado royale. We thought that we had stayed at 3 of the best but in the excellence we think we may have peaked! The warm welcome with a glass of champagne and cold towel was lovely. The transfer to our room was very informative and friendly by bellboy Eric without being too long. I am vegetarian and sometimes struggle at the best of hotels but every restaurant offered a separate menu which was as delicious as the last.
My husband Ray a great seafood fan loved the Lobster House! Another favourite was the French restaurant. It could be difficult to get in but the concierge Vilma was very helpful and we managed to eat there twice.
Only slight criticism we could find was that the hotel was further away from the hotel zone - previously visited and enjoyed - than we thought. The hotel did not have any shuttle or transport available and a taxi costs $35 each way. This would be the only reason that would stop us coming back again to a truly fabulous hotel and staff. Thanks gwenda and ray

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I've traveled to many places & visited plenty of resorts in the last 15 years, by far this place has earned a full 5 star rating! !
Great food, service with special attention to details. The staff is/was exceptional in all its restaurants bars. In particular, the guys at the lobster house, Tinotiau, Freddie, Cesar !!
The resort is immaculate with a superb staff & remember to keep in mind, you get what you pay for! !!!
A fabulous vacation spot.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our second, 2 week winter vacation in a row at the wonderful & beautiful Excellence Playa Mujeres. Just when we thought, that reflecting on our vacation here last year could not get any better…well guess again!!

From the moment we arrived and were welcomed “Home” by Diego and escorted to the Excellence Club check in, it was obvious to us once again, that this really is the most amazing resort we have visited.

The Excellence Club concierge mentioned to us that we were going to be very happy with our room as they had upgraded us to one of the roof top terrace suites. What a room and what a view. We spent a lot of time in the evenings up top, just taking in the view and pinching ourselves that …yes…we really are here!!!

For anyone who has any type of food allergy or concerns, the staff here will go out of their way to ensure that all your dining will work right, just for you. Deb must have gluten free meals, and while the menu offerings at all the ala carte restaurants is very accommodating with an excellent selection of gluten free, the servers and management at each of the restaurants went out of their way in preparing special sauces for any meals, and also bringing out her own, freshly made gluten free rolls so she could enjoy them with her meals. We dined in all of the ala cartes and we can honestly say, that not once were we disappointed. The meal portions were just right. You were not over filled nor were you still hungry for more…and if you wanted to try something else, you can simply order more as you wish to. We much prefer this style of evening dinner as opposed to the usual buffets as we find the portions are just right, that we are comfortable when we are finished and that we are not wasting left over food.

The grounds at the resort are immaculate. Everything is absolutely beautiful and spotless. The staff works very hard to make certain that everything is just right. You will find there is nothing that anyone here would not do to make sure that your stay is the best ever.

For both of our stays here, we have stayed in the Excellence Club. For us, the extra it may cost is well worth what ever the cost may be. This year we stayed in room #8160 and I am not sure that there would have been a room in the resort with any better view than we enjoyed.

To start listing all the staff who treated us so special would take another three pages, however I believe it is important to mention a few starting with Diego the doorman who greeted us upon our arrival and took us to our room. Vilma – travel concierge who looked after our private transportation to Tulum for a wedding we attended. Talk about stress free!!. Hugo – Martini bar host, Nike – Our special friend and Customer Services Manager. Not only did Nike find us every day..just to check that everything was good..she had dinner reservations for us every evening at the restaurant of our choice..and let me tell you she went out of her way for us!! Juan..the Manager at Basmati who once again looked after us every time we dined here, and also had a beautiful going away romantic dinner prepared just for the two of us on our last night here. Pamela our hostess at Barcelona..what a sweetheart; Ernesto..our server at Agave, Cindy, Jesus & Fidel our poolside servers, Gloria our hostess everyday at the Barcelona breakfast buffet. A very special thank you to Freddi who looked after us so well at breakfast every day..and was also our private server in Agave for our special private dinner.

Our final, most heartfelt thank you is to the General Manager of the resort..Virginia Amador. When you meet Virginia, you very quickly can see where the dedication and commitment to Excellence, displayed by all the staff here, comes from. It is common to see Virginia visiting the guests poolside at 9AM and then see her mingling with guests at 7PM at the Martini bar. The hours she puts in, and the energy she has is reflected in everything and everyone at the Excellence.

We cannot thank Virginia and her staff enough. They continue to surprise us each time we are here, and for everything they have done for us and for all the guests at the Excellence Playa Mujeres, many…many thanks and we are looking to visit #3 in 2015!!

Room Tip: We are not sure you will ever find anything better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Playa Mujeres.

Thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our resort facilities and atmosphere, the food & drinks quality encountered, evening entertainment, and the outstanding service provided by our staff members, who always attended to your needs. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests but reviews like yours serve us to motivate us even more; we have forwarded your message to all our Department Managers.

We all look forward to welcome you on your 3rd visit, and to provide you with another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,386 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing