We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just got back from our 3rd trip to EPM. Virginia and her amazing staff managed to make this trip even more special than the previous two. Service seems to get more personalized every time you return. For my birthday we were treated to a special dinner at Chez Isabelle where the outdoor terrace was reserved for us only and treated to a special meal by the chef.For our last dinner at the resort, we had the most unforgettable meal ever at the Barcelona restaurant.Special thanks to Pamela,Bianca and waiters Martin and Alisven. WE are definitely planning to coming back here next year.This hotel is truly EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camilla_leclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,195 - 7,201 of 12,671 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I really liked the resort. It was clean and modern. The resort caters mostly to younger couples so it's always fun around the main pool. I would have liked a little more day and nighttime entertainment. It was a little boring at night after the show was over. I was not thrilled with the food. The breakfast and lunch time buffers didn't offer a variety. The restaurants for dinner, although there was a variety of ethnic cuisines offered, were not very organized. It's a first come first serve basis and every night was a minimum of 1 he wait for dinner. I was really looking forward to some authentic Mexican food and was extremely disappointed by the Mexican restaurant. The French and Asian themed restaurants were pretty good. All the bars were great. The quality of service in the bars was superb. Overall it was a good vacation I just wish the food was better and that it was a little more lively.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Travelerfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

First Time... WOW! If you have a problem with this adult-only all-inclusive diamond, you either haven't traveled much or you shouldn't be traveling. Pictures don't do justice!!!

Very Safe -- you go through 3 security checkpoints just to get in. Used Cancun Transfers from/to airport without a hitch. Check-in very efficient with champagne & cold towel while you wait. The massive main lobby very impressive. As you head to your room, you can't but notice the stunning beauty of the grounds and the attentiveness of ALL the staff.

Rooms clean, modern & very comfortable (Building #8 - 2 story roof top). Breakfast & Lunch buffets are extensive and have everything. The no restaurant reservation policy not a problem unless you eat after 6:30 PM. Chez Isabelle was our best dinner experience. During the day the live bands, loud music, games and most activities happen near the main pool adjacent to the Lobster House restaurant. At night, the entertainment and live bands moves to the Café Kafe area.

The beach north of the resort is adjacent to an exclusive golf course and we found it very save for long walks. The ocean water was 81 and clean -- although small grass/seaweed does accumulate along the shoreline.

Couple massages were relaxing. Yoga was inside but very good. Blue rafts are few but a great treat for floating in the pools with a beverage. Enjoyed bike tour. Beds on beach adjacent to Sol bar are relaxing and available to everyone.

Don't need Excellence Club to have a great experience -- Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Building #9 next to construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WealthFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent it was! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was amazing. The staff are super friendly and most accommodating. The rooms are very nice but the bed was too firm for us so they added a thick foamy to our mattress which helped a great deal. Just ask housekeeping! My husband spent two nights on the lounge bed outside. Just beware of mosquitos! The food thru room service was always hot and delicious but I preferred the restaurants. My favorite was the Italian. I loved spending time on the lazy river. It was quiet and relaxing. It was never a problem to find lounge chairs around any of the pools. We didn't spend much time on the beach as it was very windy. We took a hotel tour to Chitzen Itza. We also took a day and went to Isla Mujeres. Do that on your own. We only discovered the Martini bar on our last day. I'm not much of a drinker and they made me drinks that we're delicious. Overall I would recommend this resort to anyone. We want to go to the one in Punta Cana next time! I think we are too spoiled to stay anywhere else!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank LeAnne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Undoubtedly one of the best hotels we have been to!!!

If you are unhappy with rushing to make dinner reservations upon arrival at your hotel....if you dislike wearing a plastic identity bracelet to indicate which hotel you are a guest at, then Excellence Playa Mujeres in Cancun, Mexico is your hotel of choice.

They host 9 a la carte restaurants for dinner. No reservation required, just arrive at the restaurant of your choice, greet the friendly maitre'd, and you will be guided to your table. If, for some reason there will be a waiting list, you are given a pager and asked to enjoy a drink at one of the many bars until you are paged to present yourself at the restaurant. Just that simple....no rushing, no stress, completely accommodating. Delicious, well plated, gourmet food.
What a relaxing vacation!!! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I went here in June 2013 for my honeymoon and loved every second of it. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like royalty.

Room was great, spacious and luxurious. Food excellent and was never allowed to get hungry. Drinks were great and the minibar selection was outstanding!! Loved the daily turndown service.

Beach and pool were great and the waiter service outstanding. Loved the evening entertainment and were looked after by our favourite waitress cindy.

Loved every second and can't wait to return for our first anniversary in June!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marzipan8804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

It's April 21 and it's 1154 pm. Normally the sounds of the ocean and the breeze through the palms would be putting most at the resort to sleep. But not now, nope, we are all listening to the sounds of a neighboring building under construction. Since 9 am it's been piling after piling being pounded into the ground. It's loud....VERY LOUD. Boom boom boom. The hotel has placated some with free spa treatments, but frankly, this is absolutely ludicrous. I've posted a video or two on YouTube....this was earlier, at 10 pm.... http://youtu.be/zevF5fkGAZg

And it's now still going strong...three minutes to

http://youtu.be/MJ5GDv4JJ9o

I know it isn't their property and they have no control over it, so I just recommend that if you are going to consider coming here to spend several hundred USD/night.....wait until that construction is done!!!!!!

SHUT UP ALREADY!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
30  Thank Troutaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

First of all, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your vacations destination.

At Excellence Playa Mujeres, one of our main objectives is to deliver high quality services and facilities in a relaxing atmosphere for the enjoyment of our guests. Thus far, our visitors have experienced the luxury All-Inclusive lifestyle that the property has to offer.

It is of deep regret to hear that the new development being built outside our Resort and external to our control affected your perception towards your holidays with us. Nonetheless, be assured that we keep working every day to provide the ultimate Luxury All-Inclusive experience to all our guests.

On behalf of all the staff and the management at Excellence Playa Mujeres we extend our sincerest apologies for not exceeding the expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,888 reviews
4.9 mi away
Los Cuates de Cancun
Los Cuates de Cancun
#145 of 177 in Cancun
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
6,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: £290 - £534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing