We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Couples Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

What a treasure. We stayed in the rooms with the pool on top. This was our second visit, and this time we brought friends. Concierge service, snacks, drinks, pool were out of this world. All the restaurants had plenty if seating and had good food. The pools and beaches were spectacular. The amenities appear new and very well maintained. Also, only 20 min from airport.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,662 - 6,668 of 12,113 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the E.P.M. for 10 days during early April. Our reason for visiting the resort was the wedding of one of my wife's relatives.
First impressions whilst driving along the impressive driveway was tidy, safe (three security checks) and so close to the sandy beaches. When we arrived we were certainly not disappointed with white flannels to cool us and champagne to arouse us.
We were politely shown to our room overlooking the "lazy river" and were very impressed with the facilities. The eight restaurants were able to excite our taste buds and the staff were very attentive. Special mention to Alfredo and Freddie who greeated us personally and always with a smile. We had one little incident with the jaccuzzi bath but our maid Mario Moo was there in a flash and sorted the problem with a smile!!
The daily activities were excellent - loved the cycle rides, archery, volley ball, rifle shooting, "taster" activities including massage, scuba diving - which lead to a proper trainig session and diving 30 feet to the underwater museum. A first for me (a pensioner). Veronica was a brilliant activity organiser and gave very interesting info during the bike rides.
The wedding was very professionally organised and I'm sure the 60 guests would confirm that.
Certainly would recommend to folk who are happy to be entertained or just want to relax. Did hire a private car with driver to visit Chichen Itza so we arrived before the 30 coaches!! A great day out especially as we missed the only rain (deluge) in Cancun.
Finally the only moan, which we did mention to staff whilst there, was that some of the areas by the swimming pools were very slippery when wet - we saw at least three people fall over - one looked serious!! But the only negative. The 9 and a half flight from London Gatwick was worth it though next time a stop-over in N.Y. would be easier.

Room Tip: Rooms by the Lazy River are probably quieter. Rooms with 6000 code
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarka74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My girlfriend and I went for 5 nights , just for a break from our busy life. (March 2014)
We left our husbands home and all we wanted to do was lay by the pool and someone brings us drinks and food, instead of the other way around. We did just that. We were treated like Queens. The shows were great, the food was great and we had a great bartender Angel Omar. He was so nice and they all were. We are coimg back in Oct, 2014, with our husbands. Cant wait.

Room Tip: Ask to stay by the main service desk, on the first floor , due you get on the other side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harleygirl260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife and another couple in November 2013. This is an absolutely fantastic place and we couldnt' recommend it more.

For our honeymoon we stayed at Sandals Montego Bay - got a lucky upgrade to the presidential suite with a Butler. The other couple we stayed with also purchased butler level accomodations at a Sandals in Bahamas. We all agree those were excellent trips, BUT we each felt that this resort was actually better than either of those two.

Big reasons why we loved the trip and why we felt that way:

*No reservations at restaurants is much more vacation friendly as you don't have to plan out your trip on day when with regards to when and where to eat.

*No butler reserved spots on the beach. While we were on the favorable side on this at Sandals - it doesn't feel right that you can't get the primo spots on the beach without a butler. At Excellence you absolutely can and do..and without the added cost.

*Food was excellent - easily 4 of 5 stars in quality and diversity of offerings. On par with the best restaurant you actaully go to. (Will fall short of that one you save for the 50th wedding anniversary, making partner celebration, etc).

*Room service was absolutely top notch, best we have ever received in terms of quantity and equally as good in terms of quality and friendliness.

*Modern and up to date. Ammentities and styles that we are accustomed to including wifi for checking in at home.

*Excellent job of making it a resort worth exploring. It's design resists the urge to have "my area" and "your area" that can be prevelant at other locations.

*Extremely good value as well.

You absolutely will enjoy this location, we recommend to everyone we see.

Room Tip: Wouldn't buy the upgrade. You get two little pools, a fresh fruit tray and the best views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreedomFan147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Excellence for 4 nights earlier this month and had a wonderful time. The rooms and staff were great and the property was beautiful. I would highly recommend Excellence to any couple looking to get away and relax. The only reason this was not 5 stars was due to some construction going on next door. While this did not directly affect our room situation, we had several friends inconvenienced by piledrivers and jackhammers during early morning hours. If you reserve anytime in 2014....make sure you don't stay in building 9 and you'll be good. - One more tip *The Spanish Tapas Restaurant is the best on the property

Room Tip: Do not stay in Building 9 - Construction next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MESHELBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First, I have to point out how disappointment I am in Excellence. Our stay there was good but I really have to question whether we got good value for the money. This was our honeymoon and Excellence has a great Honeymoon Package that was suppose to be included with our stay. Keep in mind that when we got married in September our schedules would only allow us to take a full week off in February. Excellence has a policy that the package is only available if you travel within 3 months of your wedding day. Knowing this both my travel agent and myself requested that we would use the resort if they would extend the package to us. After all, this was our Honeymoon and we were going full out with the best suite and VIP package. After a few emails back and forth the resort agreed, in writing to both me and my travel agent, to give us the Honeymoon package. It all started with dinner on the Beach which was NOT what it was cracked up to be and was charged $175US which was suppose to be included int the Honeymoon package I mentioned earlier. I will give the hotel this, when the head concierge realized that our Beach dinner did not go well, he did his best to make up for it. Now, here is the issue I have, I did not want to make an issue over the $175 but wanted to have a word with the Resort Management and/or customer service when I got home to find out why I was charged and perhaps discuss it. To this day, after countless emails back and forth and trying to get someone on the phone to explain why I was charged something that the resort promised me in writing, NO ONE has ever called me back. I did get some emails PR emails stating "We did our best" but not once did the company even bother to address my concerns. To put things in perspective, my wife and I were thinking to make Excellence our Destination for our annual winter vacation where we would did not mind spending extra money to stay in the VIP section of the Hotel in one of their top suites. But now, since no one could even be bothered to get back to us or even attempt to reconcile this tiny issue, the thousands we would have spent on the resort will be going to some other high end resort. As someone who runs their own business, losing thousands in order to keep your hundreds does not make sense. It is really too bad, since the food and service was good but because of this one little thing Excellence went from a 5 star rating to a 2 all because the company could not be bothered to make one phone call. Excellence, I hope it was worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main area if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank LeeAssistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

First of all, allow us to thank you for taking your valued time to share with us your comments about your stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

At Excellence Resorts we have 2 different Honeymoon packages. Please note that the Beach Dinner and Spa services are part of the: Excellence Honeymoon Package.
When a guest does not have included those amenities in their romantic package, the guest will be informed and an additional cost will apply.

Our corporate customer service department remains at your disposal at customerservice@excellence-resorts.com in order to further discuss the matter or in case you require any future assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Playa Mujeres for 9 nights over the Easter break. The hotel was excellent in many aspects including service, food and drink quality. The staff were extremely pleasant and made our stay more special. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well serviced. The restaurants were varied and food quality was really good. We particularly enjoyed the French, Thai and Indian restaurants.
The lobster house was disappointing at dinner ( our first night) and at lunch one day. This was as a result of the mediocre service and 'appetiser sized' portion of lobster. I would recommend the extensive buffet lunch in the main restaurant.
We booked our 2 rooms through travel republic and were able to pay a supplement for an additional guest in the 2 nd room - very expensive option as we paid a single room occupancy which was only £400 cheaper than a room for 2 persons. We then had to pay the hotel a supplement of $220 per night. This meant we paid almost £1000 more for our second room. There was no room for negotiation on this or consideration for our situation.
The setting of the hotel is lovely, on a sandy beach with turquoise seas. It is however isolated which is different to visiting the hotel zone. Building work next door caused some noise disruption although not obtrusive for us. Some rooms overlooked the building works.
All in all a relaxing, lovely holiday. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Block 8 is central and has pool or sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,687 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: £300 - £595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Savannahville Tours N.V., LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing