We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had my wedding here and loved every second I was there. Everything was kept in immaculate condition (the pools, the restaurants, the grounds, the rooms, etc.), the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating, the food was terrific and everyone that traveled with us had an incredible time. The construction next to building 9 was a problem, but the resort staff made every effort to make my guests happy and moved them to a different building as soon as they could or offered them upgraded rooms. The beds are hard, but are surprisingly comfortable and sleep great. I had no back issues from the bed and had no problems falling asleep every night. I highly recommend this resort for anyone who wants a relaxing, laid-back getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT in building 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,610
    1,394
    360
    140
    74
See reviews for
515
9,473
93
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I am lying in my bed in block 9 (excellence suites) trying to sleep but can't due to pilings being laid on the new block that is being built behind us. Spoke to a concierge today but they didn't bother to call back. Beautiful resort but not any good if most nights you can't sleep. If you have booked then I feel sorry for you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
25 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
At Excellence Playa Mujeres one of our main objectives is to deliver high quality services and facilities in a relaxing atmosphere for the enjoyment of our guests. Services and facilities are continuously monitored for this purpose. Thus far, our visitors have experienced the luxury All-Inclusive lifestyle that the property has to offer.

It is of deep regret to hear that the new development being built in Playa Mujeres Community outside our Resort and external to our control affected your perception towards your holidays with us. Nonetheless, be assured that we keep working every day to provide the ultimate Luxury All-Inclusive experience to all our guests.

On behalf of all the staff and the management at Excellence Playa Mujeres we extend our sincerest apologies. Our corporate customer service department remains at your disposal at customerservice@excellence-resorts.com in order to further discuss the matter or in case you require any future assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We just came back from celebrating our honeymoon with a somewhat mixed reviews.

The pros to the resort: modern rooms and facilities; well-kept grounds; roof-top pools; clean beach; great French and Mexican restaurants; live entertainment; prompt housekeeping when called; spa hydrotherapy circuit.

Cons: bar areas and some restaurants not well staffed; staff do not seem to enjoy working there; the entire 9-block is next to a 24 hour noisy construction site; random housekeeping, pool and bar refresh schedule; lack of variety in live entertainment; stuffy patrons; money exchange always a challenge; non-air conditioned fitness centre; red ants in bathroom; small breakfast buffet.

All in all we had an okay time but would not return. We prefer resorts where staff seem happier to be there!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Melita_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We just returned from Excellence and are so happy with our choice of resorts. We have been to several all-inclusive resorts in Mexico and feel that the service, staff and overall experience were the best we have encountered. I admit I spent too much time reviewing this resort on-line and was "apprehensive" (my apologizes to Excellence Club) when we were given a room in building 9, close to the construction. The resort bent over backwards to make us happy, and really, the room was great. We never really felt any consequences of the construction, we were out in the morning and back to clean up for dinner. Please don't get worked up if you are in building 9, all of the rooms are wonderful, as is the service.
The staff were all great, extremely professional and very gracious, especially the Excellence Club, the concierge in building 9, and Dr David (thank you).
We had the best food of any resort we have been to in Mexico, really enjoyed the pizzas poolside, dinners at Agave, Spice and breakfast at Barcelona.

The spa experience is a must.
Enjoy your visit, we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We returned last week from this hotel it was clean, friendly, the food was first class especially at the Barcelona Restaurant, the manageres and all the staff were first rate and spoiled us with there food and drink, there steaks are to die for, you must pay them a visit, Everyone work so hard to make sure you enjoy your holiday. This hotel has to be visited if your visiting Mexico.

Room Tip: Take plenty of mosquito repellant if in a swim up room. we stayed in 400 rooms nice and quiet there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We are up in the air flying back home and my wife and I both agree that
we had an absolutely, fabulous, wonderful experience at Excellence.
If ever a resort were better named, I know not. We stayed at the best of
the best. Of course, the facilities, beach and pools were perfect, the
suite luxurious, the water spa treatment was splendid and totally relaxing,
the dining absolutely exquisite- one restaurant better than the
next, although the special meal served Chez Isabella to celebrate our
anniversary was clearly the highlight and perfect way to end our stay.
What struck us the most, besides what I just stated, was how hard working,
gracious, friendly and attentive to every need the staff at Excellence
were. We felt like royalty as everyone could not do enough for us.
And then there was Naikare, a concierge, who clearly is the best of the best- making
every day so special and unique for us. And for that we are extremely grateful
and fortunate. And for those who wish to sail- look up Victor, he taught my wife how to sail.
So I end this note by wanting to book us next year from Tuesday, April 21-
Sunday, April 26 at Club Level. I do have one request, is there an early discount
for booking a year in advance?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shoreman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I have decided to split our review of Excellence Playa Mujeres into two parts. One as a vacation and another as a destination wedding provider because the two are *very different* experiences. As a vacation it is a solid 4.5/5.

This review is for the vacation-side. Some of our friends who vacationed with us were initially caught off guard with sticker shock for the cost of the trip. But once they arrived and saw there were no mandatory ID bracelets to wear, how nice the standard rooms are, they could borrow as many beach towels as they wanted and didn’t have to make any reservations for the nine gourmet restaurants at the resort, they were blown away.

Prior to our stay at EPM, my then boyfriend (and now husband) had stayed at Excellence Riviera Cancun in January 2013 and loved it. Knowing Playa Mujeres was their flagship and newest resort, we decided this is where we wanted to vacation/get married/mini-honeymoon for two weeks.

The grounds at Excellence Playa Mujeres are pristine. The beach is beautiful and well-maintained. There was very little issue with seaweed and there were only a few days where it was difficult to find chairs in the shade on the beach. The pools are a comfortable temperature and maintenance is always ongoing to ensure the resort looks its best.

We stayed in the Excellence Club Ocean view Roof Top Terrace rooms 7451 our first week and 8465 our second week. Room 7451 is the room closest facing the theatre and outdoor event bar so if you’re someone who likes to go to bed before midnight—this is not a good room to stay in as it felt like we were sitting at the front of the stage for any evening performance. Room 8465 however, has one of the best ocean views on the resort and no noise is audible aside from the hum of the breeze off coming off the ocean. The beds and pillows are not overly comfortable. We had hoped by staying in Excellence Club this time, it would be a better quality mattress but that was not the case. Also my husband would come out of our rooftop terrace pool looking like a smurf. They clean and paint the roof top pools frequently but the paint can transfer onto skin if you’re in there for awhile—it was a good laugh.

The Excellence Club Lounge itself is lovely, they have delicious truffles and other snacks daily and everyone is very welcoming. Byron was a very helpful concierge. The head bellhop Eric is amazing, he gives a great tour of the facilities and went above and beyond if we ever saw him in passing and had a question. There are also computers in the Excellence lounge that you can use if you need at any time if you ask. The Excellence Club beach area is also very nice, the beach beds are comfortable and the concierge and serving staff are very accommodating at helping you find a bed or beach chairs to relax in for the day with a cold drink. Although, I’m not entirely sure that paying for Excellence Club is worth the extra cost when comparing it to our equally positive non-excellence club experience at EPM’s sister resort Excellence Riviera Cancun.

Our favorite dinner restaurant was Flavour Market—we went with a group of 8, so instead of ordering off the menu they brought out a continuous stream of their most popular dishes and it was all phenomenal. Both the lunch buffet at Toscana and menu at The Grill are awesome. We highly recommend the shrimp tacos and the grouper at The Grill.

The shining star of our whole vacation was Josue. He served us at the buffet breakfast on the Barcelona restaurant side and at The Grill for lunch. He even made sure he was one of our servers at our wedding reception and always went above and beyond for us. Every morning he would have a romantic table set up for us at breakfast whether it was for just the two of us, a table for four, six or even eight. When they were out of coconut ice cream at the Grill he told us he’d have it for us the next day even if he had to go to the Toscana lunch buffet to get it and sure enough he did! His serving partner Gustavo at breakfast had a great sense of humour and actually used to live in Calgary where we are from.

Carlos on the Toscana breakfast buffet side was also a great server along with Caesar at The Grill, Angel at The Grill for lunch and Spice for dinner. Adrien was our main server for our wedding rehearsal dinner at Toscana and he was extremely accommodating and even arranged a special dessert for a friend who was celebrating his birthday. Pedro the manager at Chez Isabelle was awesome when it came to helping us set up a family dinner for 12 in their semi-private wine cellar. It was a beautiful meal and great experience.

The Spa facilities are lovely. The hydrotherapy area is awesome--- we highly recommend trying it as a great way to relieve stress and tension. Salvador and Leticia at the Spa’s front desk are extremely helpful and very friendly. Salvador remembered my name every time we crossed paths. We got an 80 minute Excellence massage which was amazing. We wouldn’t have done it for full price but thankfully got it for 50% off with our honeymoon package. They offer lemon or cucumber infused water during your time at the spa and even chlorophyll water—don’t be put off by its weird shade of dark green, it’s very refreshing.

The room service menu is great, we highly recommend the chicken fingers, they taste homemade—and room service at Excellence is complimentary, not an extra charge so many of our guests made use of it for breakfast or the lull between lunch and dinner.

The housekeeping staff were good, we often came back to a room with towels shaped like love swans sprinkled with rose petals. If you left a note just above your mini fridge for the beverages you preferred to have more of and a bit of a tip, you’d be stocked up every day. On my husband’s birthday there was a little dessert with Happy Birthday written in chocolate left for him. The turn down service at night often sprinkled our bath tub with rose petals and left a variety of treats on our coffee table like chocolate-covered strawberries.

The Gym services at EPM are really nice. We were surprised by the amount of people that utilized the gym between 7-9am. There is a fridge stocked with water, lemongrass infused cold towels and wipes for all the equipment. They offer a variety of fitness classes like Zumba, Yoga etc. My husband is a cross fitter and the only thing he was missing for his workouts was a pull-up bar and a squat rack.

There are a few things at the Riviera Cancun resort we hope EPM will introduce. The first is palapa bed rentals on/near the Excellence Club beach available for rent to anyone who wants them for the day. It would have made it much easier for our large group of 20+ people to all meet and stay close to each other on the beach and it also gives non-excellence club members a bit of the Excellence Club experience. The other is that the Coconut presentation/ Coco Loco drink-making which took place every day on the beach at noon, not just on Mondays—it’s just so fun and delicious!

As a romantic vacation, Excellence Playa Mujeres is certainly worth a visit.
Now if you’re planning a destination wedding—please see my separate review outlining that specific resort experience as it is a complete 180 from this review.

Room Tip: Building 8A roof top terrace rooms 8464-846969 have the best ocean view and are very quiet as are an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,422 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,494 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Savannahville Tours N.V., Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing