We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Midland Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at EPM 5/6/2014-5/13/2014 for our honeymoon. We LOVED it and will return some day!

Our junior swim out suite room was amazing. We were near the spa so it was nice and quiet. Clean. Turn down service at night, around 7pm (usually when you're at dinner). They refill your mini bar each day. Room service is included (we got it 3x).

The food was excellent. We loved Agave (great margaritas here too) and Basmati the best. Lobster House was good for dinner - get the grilled lobster! At first we thought the portions were small but after a day or 2, we agreed it was better that way! Ha. You can order 1, 2, 3, however many appetizers you'd like, 2 entrees, etc. We are from NJ where we have great Italian food, so we skipped Toscana for dinner. The beach hut was good for lunch if you want to stay on the beach instead of drying off/getting dressed for lunch.

The overall service was very good - beach and poolside wait staff!

Miile Spa was very relaxing - we got the hydrotherapy session with on the beach massages. Next time I'd get the massage indoors. The outdoor massage hut was near people lying out (some talking loudly).

Entertainment was EXCELLENT - especially the Michael Jackson show and the beach dinner party. So fun!!

I would say the ONLYYY issue was not having top shelf liquor at a luxury resort such as this one. I stuck to the house Sauvignon Blanc for dinner each night and I wasn't a huge fan of their mixed drinks - daquiris and margaritas - too sweet! To us, their mixers like cranberry juice, tasted like Crystal Light. But, it wasn't the end of the world.

We would definitely go back and recommend EPM!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,358
    1,378
    346
    131
    72
See reviews for
499
9,241
92
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,051)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaysville, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved the resort. Our experience with the tennis faciltiy and the tennis pro was great. We love to play tennis and we had the best experience I have had on any vacation with the tennis pro his name is Jonathan Diaz. We had fun but also learned basic fundamentals to improve our game and got me excited to elevate to another level. I would definitely recommend him again. We love the excellance and the service they provide and location was great.

brad

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfrost1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We returned from Excellence Playa Mujeres and we were just happy that we choose to go back. It is a place where you feel pampered , you feel special and you wish it lasts forever...
Ms . Amador Virginia knows how to keep this resort at the top of our selection; it is classy, well maintained and beautiful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joana888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from a family vacation - 3 sisters and our families - and had a wonderful time. It was large enough so we didn't cramp each other's style, there was enough to keep our 20-somethings occupied if they wanted to be and plenty of places to just veg out if that's your style. Staff was exceedingly friendly, rooms were awesome & food delicious. Mini bar refill and 24 hour room service was included. The rooms had this great balcony with table and oversized rounded bed - perfect for afternoon naps. Only two complaints - the first which I've encountered before in Mexican hotels - the bathrooms are open to the room so if you get up in the night and turn on the light, it will disturb your partner. Also, the toilet area isn't private - it's enclosed, but the door doesn't go to the ceiling, so everyone in the room can hear what's going on! Weird and a tad uncomfortable. The only other complaint is that the house wine - which is served everywhere - SUCKS! It's barely drinkable and a pretty disappointing considering the caliber of the hotel. Had to resort to buying a bottle or two each nite at a minimum of $50 each. The food was delicious - liked the French & Italian restaurants best and the breakfast buffet is fab. Hibachi was a bit disappointing as it's not a flat grill so you really couldn't see what the chef was doing but food was good - don't know that it was worth the time I spent in line 3 nites in a row to get a reservation (we had a party of 9, which was a problem for them). All in all I'd go back here in a heartbeat....

Room Tip: The higher the building number the closer to the pool and activities. I was in building one, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LynneKelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We visited Playa Mujeres as our mini-moon spot in late April and stayed at the Excellence and it was so worth it. I call it a mini-moon because we were only there for 3 days, sadly we had to return to work.

PROS:
• Service from the very beginning was spectacular, we felt so special and important. It was my first time doing all-inclusive and it is totally worth it. Everyone should do it! :) We stayed in Building 8 and it was a swim-up honeymoon suite.
• We checked in in the VIP lounge where they have their own small apps/desserts and bar. Then they took us to our room and it was beautiful!
• I think one of my favorite parts about the room was the "X-Box" where you place your dirty dishes in the box and they can access it from the outside and pick it up for you, that way your leftover dishes aren't just stinking up your room.
• The hotel is very much built for couples and romance. It is a very honeymoon-y, love making, rejuvenating place! I don't know if I would go here with someone else who wasn't my significant other. Unless they have less-revealing showers and rooms. The shower is completely see through and there is a window in there that looks out into the bedroom/living area. Very lovey-dovey place and a perfect fit for us.
• The hotel is completely secluded. You drive in through a HUGE main gate, it looks like you're entering an African Safari! You pass up a lot of guards on the way in, which to me indicates safety, and it's a quite a drive to reach the hotel. There are 1-2 other hotels that share that area with Excellence too.
• Take advantage of the hotel spa! We got a couples massage and it was awesome!
• Rooms are super clean and they clean it twice a day! There is an evening turned down service where they remake your already made bed for night time! So nice! There's also a pillow menu where you can order your own fancy pillow.
• All rooms have alcohol, beer, drinks, coffee and snacks stocked up!

CONS:
• This has nothing to do with the hotel, which is why I still rated it 5 stars. But arriving in Cancun airport and meeting up with our private shuttle driver was a mess. He wasn't there, we didn't speak Spanish, and there is just a swarm of taxi/shuttle drivers all waiting outside the Cancun Airport exit for patrons. It's chaotic, so please be careful! We finally got it worked out and were able to get to/from the hotel safely.
• The food is okay. We ordered room service and also dined at some restaurants. I guess the humidity is just so high that even our chips were soggy. I didn't enjoy the food as much as I had hoped. We dined at Chez Isabelle one night and that was pretty good. We definitely still ate a bunch, because who wouldn't at an all-inclusive :) but I had higher hopes for the flavors.
• The restaurants are opened at weird hours and you have to check their daily schedule. We got out of our spa treatment at 3pm and everything was already closed and we were starving. So be aware of the timing your activities and restaurant times.

Overall a wonderful place! It may be our annual anniversary spot :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellence is building a second facility with building activity 24/7! Excellence has made the business decision to not inform their guests and basically hold you hostage to the noise from the all night construction. We stayed May 8-12 and were approached by guests sooo unhappy they were publicly telling arriving guests to leave. Building 9 has the most noise but one can hear construction anywhere in the resort.

Most of the staff were very nice but we could tell upper management had created a no win situation for them and were stressed from the constant complaints. Staffing was far below what was required to meet the occupancy rate.

One morning while walking on the beach we discovered a used syringe above the groom line which indicates grounds keepers prepped the sand but paid no attention to trash. Room service is an hour minimum and many of the restaurants were closed one or more nights during our stay from lack of staffing. The entire resort ran out of Captain Morgan Rum which they considered their premium liquor.

Inspect your bill closely as we observed many heated exchanges regarding inflated Spa bills and other resort purchases. It cost me more than 4 hours of time dealing with being lied to, switching rooms and being lied to more to make it through being held hostage at this resort. If you arrive at the front desk they have you and there is nothing you can do about it!!! DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in Building 9 No beach view, swim up rooms - they don't exist so no nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank DGraham978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
First of all, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your vacation destination.

At Excellence Playa Mujeres one of our main objectives is to deliver high quality services and facilities in a relaxing atmosphere for the enjoyment of our guests. Services and facilities are continuously monitored for this purpose. Thus far, our visitors have experienced the luxury All-Inclusive lifestyle that the property has to offer.

It is of deep regret to hear that the new development being built in Playa Mujeres Community outside our Resort and external to our control affected your perception towards your holidays with us. Nonetheless, be assured that we keep working every day to provide the ultimate Luxury All-Inclusive experience to all our guests.

Our corporate customer service department remains at your disposal at customerservice@excellence-resorts.com in order to further discuss the matter or in case you require any future assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I have been to EPM to celebrate our April anniversary every year over the last 3 years, and had previously been to ERC for our vow renewal/honeymoon. Since returning home, we have already booked our trip for next year. Why would we go anywhere else? We have been to other all inclusives, with kids, and without, and have never been to a place which rivals EPM in cleanliness, service, food, and drinks.
We were given the Anniversary Package, and received a complimentary beachfront dinner which was by far the most amazing and romantic dinner we have ever had- complete with a saxophone player! Our server, Hector, was incredibly charming and attentive. Everywhere we went, we were so impressed with the service. The bartenders made a point to learn our names and our preferred drinks, and the servers were all excellent, and welcoming.
Not many people mention the amazing walking/running trail just outside of the entrance gate. It is so beautifully manicured, and full of iguanas and even a crocodile sighting. My husband and I used this trail every day, and were so appreciative when the security guards would have bottled water ready for us when we returned- wonderful touch!
The spa is great, and definitely worth the cost. The hydrotherapy session is a lot of fun, and quite relaxing.
The gym is excellent, well equipped, and Victor made our Crossfit class challenging and fun.
The resort is beautiful- very well maintained. We loved our Rooftop Terrace Suite. ( We had always had the Swim Up Rooms on our previous trips.) We rarely left our Rooftop Terrace during the day as it was so beautiful, private, and with room service and a fully stocked bar, there wasn't much need!
Our favourite restaurants were Basmati, and Chez Isabelle- just wonderful food, and the wood fired pizzas shouldn't be missed.
We are already counting the days until next year, and no doubt, every year following....

Room Tip: There is construction going on next door for another Excellence resort, however, we didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,249 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Savannahville Tours N.V., Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing