We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Week in Paradise”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I spent a week at EPM to celebrate our upcoming 8 year wedding anniversary. I'll keep the reivew as short as possible with a list of pros and cons.

Pros:
1. Service - for the most part, service was excellent. Some were better than others, but almost everyone was exceptionally caring and accomodating. Service in the EC beach and EC pools was amazing. I'd like to personally mention Paul who remembered us by name each day! As well as Raquel at the beach who was so lovely.
2. Grounds - the hotel is stunning. The buildings always look immaculate, the pools clean, the common areas spotless... we never saw a drop of trash anywhere!
3. The rooms - the rooms are beautfil with the only complain being that the beds and pillows are not very soft. We had a rooftop pool room and it was incredible. We never wanted to leave.
4. Drinks - the drinks were tasty and STRONG!
5. Room service - prompt!
6. Beaches - this could be a pro and a con... the sand and beach was gorgeous. The water was hit or miss. Lots of seaweed somedays, better other days.

Cons:
1. Food - the only con we have was the food. While not terrible, it would best be described as "cruise quality" food. Some of the restaurants were strong (Chez Isabelle, Agave and Toscana) and some were just not very good... buffets were my least favorite only becase the quality of food was very basic. They had so many options, but nothing tasted all that great. The food did not ruin our trip, we still ate a lot... we were just surprised at how mediocre it was given the luxury of the resort.
2. Entertainment - its no surprise the nightly shows are pretty terrible - some nights they had great live bands playing in the courtyard and we enjoyed that - but the nightly stage shows were cheesy and silly. We always ended up walking the grounds or going back to our room.

Overall I would give the resort a 4.5 out of 5! Food being the thing that needs most work. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank photogpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,613
    1,394
    360
    140
    74
See reviews for
516
9,475
93
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Returned from Excellence Playa Mujeres a few days ago feeling well rested and satisfied. We travel to this area frequently and have stayed at most of the hotels on TA top ten in the region. Excellence belongs in it's spot up near the top.

Keep in mind in reading some other reviews that it's location is a little distance (20 minute or so cab ride) from Cancun. We always reserve in advance and take Cancun Shuttle - they will be at the airport with your name on sign, and take you immediately to your destination (well worth the price). Once at the property you will notice how beautiful and well maintained it is. You will rarely notice anything out of place.

We upgraded to the Excellence Club in which got us the listed amenities which were good, but the Beach area is what made it worth it for us. We thought the Club room itself lacked a wanting to stay and hang out there vibe. The service there was great but we would have preferred a quicker check in at the front desk. Make sure you know exactly what room you want by reading the other reviews, and demand it. Construction near building 9 will be going on for some time.

Our room was fabulous. We loved the bed and slept well other than the hallway noise on occasion, in which you will get in any of the hotels in this region with tile floors. The bathroom was open to the bedroom and living room which gave you a view at all times. The downside to this was you could here everything going on in the bathroom.

The pool and ocean were perfect everyday. We were out first thing in the morning and stayed until the sun started to go down. Service was great in the area we liked and "a big thank you to Fidel for keeping our Corona bucket always full." If you are one that wants drinks right away, you may want to park yourself closer to a bar so you can get them yourself. We greatly enjoyed the variety of lunches they had on the beach and didn't miss one.

We didn't have a bad meal and wanted to try every restaurant but missed one. We thought the food was up there with the best we have had. The portions were more European size in which we preferred, so if your hungry order more starters or two dishes. The service at the restaurants were top notch. We wish we could have had more time their to go back and visit all the waiters we had a second time.

We did go to the gym daily and enjoyed everything it had to offer. It is well kept and supplied with all the modern equipment and classes. If you need something more advanced, there are a couple gyms (Cross Fit and a full size) about a 5 minute cab ride off the property.

In review; we had a fantastic time, enjoyed ourselves and we will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrSteveLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at EPM for 6 nights in May. This was our second time, and it was just as wonderful as we remembered. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate the needs of the guests. We stayed in the excellence club, and it was worth every penny. At the excellence beach our waiter, Fidel, was quick with a smile, quick to bring us our drinks, and happy to give recommendations, which were always great! Paul, Antonio, and Rosario all were incredibly helpful and greeted us by name each morning as we arrived at the beach. We were impressed at the level of personal attention we received, customer satisfaction is clearly important to the hotel. We also enjoyed the samples of drinks and food that they would bring by each day for us to try while lounging at the excellence beach.
Our favorite meal was the breakfast buffet at Toscana we loved the variety and the staff. Gloria and the rest of the staff were wonderful.
We had a couple of minor complaints, that were quickly resolved. We had wanted an ocean front room, but were given a swim up. However our concierge, Claudia, took care of us and changed our room. Claudia went above and beyond to make sure we were happy with our new room. Although there is construction nearby that was never an issue for us. And we didn't hear any of the noise.

I would recommend EPM. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Aimee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at EPM 5/6/2014-5/13/2014 for our honeymoon. We LOVED it and will return some day!

Our junior swim out suite room was amazing. We were near the spa so it was nice and quiet. Clean. Turn down service at night, around 7pm (usually when you're at dinner). They refill your mini bar each day. Room service is included (we got it 3x).

The food was excellent. We loved Agave (great margaritas here too) and Basmati the best. Lobster House was good for dinner - get the grilled lobster! At first we thought the portions were small but after a day or 2, we agreed it was better that way! Ha. You can order 1, 2, 3, however many appetizers you'd like, 2 entrees, etc. We are from NJ where we have great Italian food, so we skipped Toscana for dinner. The beach hut was good for lunch if you want to stay on the beach instead of drying off/getting dressed for lunch.

The overall service was very good - beach and poolside wait staff!

Miile Spa was very relaxing - we got the hydrotherapy session with on the beach massages. Next time I'd get the massage indoors. The outdoor massage hut was near people lying out (some talking loudly).

Entertainment was EXCELLENT - especially the Michael Jackson show and the beach dinner party. So fun!!

I would say the ONLYYY issue was not having top shelf liquor at a luxury resort such as this one. I stuck to the house Sauvignon Blanc for dinner each night and I wasn't a huge fan of their mixed drinks - daquiris and margaritas - too sweet! To us, their mixers like cranberry juice, tasted like Crystal Light. But, it wasn't the end of the world.

We would definitely go back and recommend EPM!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved the resort. Our experience with the tennis faciltiy and the tennis pro was great. We love to play tennis and we had the best experience I have had on any vacation with the tennis pro his name is Jonathan Diaz. We had fun but also learned basic fundamentals to improve our game and got me excited to elevate to another level. I would definitely recommend him again. We love the excellance and the service they provide and location was great.

brad

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfrost1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We returned from Excellence Playa Mujeres and we were just happy that we choose to go back. It is a place where you feel pampered , you feel special and you wish it lasts forever...
Ms . Amador Virginia knows how to keep this resort at the top of our selection; it is classy, well maintained and beautiful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joana888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from a family vacation - 3 sisters and our families - and had a wonderful time. It was large enough so we didn't cramp each other's style, there was enough to keep our 20-somethings occupied if they wanted to be and plenty of places to just veg out if that's your style. Staff was exceedingly friendly, rooms were awesome & food delicious. Mini bar refill and 24 hour room service was included. The rooms had this great balcony with table and oversized rounded bed - perfect for afternoon naps. Only two complaints - the first which I've encountered before in Mexican hotels - the bathrooms are open to the room so if you get up in the night and turn on the light, it will disturb your partner. Also, the toilet area isn't private - it's enclosed, but the door doesn't go to the ceiling, so everyone in the room can hear what's going on! Weird and a tad uncomfortable. The only other complaint is that the house wine - which is served everywhere - SUCKS! It's barely drinkable and a pretty disappointing considering the caliber of the hotel. Had to resort to buying a bottle or two each nite at a minimum of $50 each. The food was delicious - liked the French & Italian restaurants best and the breakfast buffet is fab. Hibachi was a bit disappointing as it's not a flat grill so you really couldn't see what the chef was doing but food was good - don't know that it was worth the time I spent in line 3 nites in a row to get a reservation (we had a party of 9, which was a problem for them). All in all I'd go back here in a heartbeat....

Room Tip: The higher the building number the closer to the pool and activities. I was in building one, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LynneKelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,425 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,507 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing