We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence Playa Mujueres (Cancun) Underwhelming and I'll List Why....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After staying at a number of adult all inclusives I would have to say that EPM ranked somewhere in the middle.
Upon arrival (Beginning of June), we were greeted with a Mimosa and hand towel and lead into the lobby area. Although pretty, everything seemed a bit dark. We found that to be the case in most of the restaurants and common areas as well. Our rooms were not ready, which was not a problem, as we were early. Everyone waiting for a room received a “buzzer” except us. I had not discovered that until we were at the lunch buffet to killing time. We returned to the lobby for check in had to wait with two other couples to have our bags brought to our room. The whole process was well over a half hour and after a long plane trip, it was laborious to have to stop at others rooms before our own.

I should mention, at this point, that we were traveling with another couple and a group of twenty somethings. All in all 13 people. I had emailed and called the hotel directly and well in advance to request that we be near one another or at the very least, on the same floor for convenience sake and It turned out that we were in 3 different buildings quite a walk from the main lobby area. I was asked and told the staff that we were celebrating birthdays and graduations. They specifically asked the rooms and then balloons and champagne were sent to the wrong rooms! Not a huge deal, but still not great customer service. With that said, I think it’s easier to break down areas of review:
Property: The grounds we lush and well maintained with beautiful sculptures throughout. There is construction going on next door that is not pleasing to look at, but understandably unavoidable. Some of the balconies off the rooms and pools had a worn look, but nothing major. One huge drawback was the tiling everywhere. It rained intermittently during our stay and the floors throughout the resort were treacherous. Very slippery and constantly wet. We even saw one woman take a fall on the steps. The staff diligently worked on keeping the floors dry but it was a lost cause.
Rooms: This is by FAR the main reason I will never return. I don’t care if you are a honeymooner or celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary; we all want some privacy! There is NO DOOR into the bathroom. You heard that right. NO DOOR! There is no wall above the sinks. There are two sun shaped mirrors where you can see directly into the bedroom. There is, however, a glass door to the toilet, but it does not reach from top to bottom. There is a 6 inch space from the floor to the bottom of the glass door. Let’s face it, when nature calls we ALL seek a bit of privacy. This isn’t, after all, the last frontier! One other unfortunate issue is that the hotel places smokers and non smokers in rooms beside one another. When we went to the balcony we were greeted by a plume of smoke.
Restaurants: Can I just say from the get go that men having to wear dress pants is just silly. I completely understand having a dress code, but if women can wear dress shorts, men should be able to as well. So long as your are appropriately dressed in a nice pair of shorts, this should not be an issue. This means that after dinner they now have to go back to their room to change into shorts in order to enjoy the rest of the evening, which is usually quite humid.
Spice and Agave were my favorite restaurants. I also heard people praising the Grille and Lobster Bar. One big drawback was that you cannot make reservations. If you came after 7:30 you had a good chance of at least an hour wait. Although we were with a big group we never insisted that we all sit together, but seating was still a problem that could have been avoided with reservations. We than had to scramble to find another restaurant and still wait. For the twenty somethings it would have been nice to at least have the options of a buffet for dinner if you could not get a reservation.
Pools: All pools were very nice and some days they had live musical entertainment that put people in a great frame of mind. There was also very popular pizza oven by the pool that made fresh pizza all afternoon. It was a huge hit with pool goers. Another nice feature was the ability to have lunch at a little restaurant directly on the beach. Downside; every Jacuzzi around the pool was lukewarm. A number of people complained, but it was not rectified during our stay. Plenty of towels and lounge chairs were available on the beach and at the pool.
Activities and Entertainment: No matter what all inclusive you go to, the shows tend to be a little cheesy, but I will say the EPM was a cut above the rest. The performers were well trained and the performances were fairly current. They had a singer who performed before the Michael Jackson review and he was excellent. They also had a band playing outside by the bar prior to the show and they were excellent as well. I would have like to have seen more of them. After the show they opened up a “disco”, until 1am. The entertainment around the pool was a bit lackluster. Not much to get the crowd going, but it may have been the intermittent rain that delayed or postponed activities. We aren’t huge party people, but it is nice to see the guests having a good time around the pool.
Staff: We found all of the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We had a couple of issues with a broken mini bar and fallen curtain and the staff addressed those issues very promptly. One person we couldn’t find a lot was the concierge. We were told they were available until 11 pm, but we never saw anyone after 4 or 5 if then.
Tipping: We tipped at both bars and restaurants but never felt pressured by the staff to do so. They were appreciative, but not at all pushy.
All in all, if I were to return to Mexico and wanted a five star adult all inclusive, I would return to the Iberostar Riviera Maya. EPM has nothing on them!

Room Tip: Stay away from Building 9. That is where construction is taking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Shadowcat521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review, your feedback is very important for us and it is our regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations, although many travelers find Excellence Playa Mujeres to be a great place for romantic and relaxing getaway, with excellent food options and outstanding service.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,435 - 6,441 of 12,115 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

WARNING As usual Mexico customs are a nightmare, just a quick warning only bring one carton of cigarettes per person or you will be ripped off in their new scam, it used to be two per person but they changed the rules last October, DONT GET CAUGHT OUT

On with the review ...... We have lost count of the number of times we have visited this resort but its well into double figures and we keep returning so it must be doing something right. I love reading feedback on here as some people must visit a very different resort to the one we love. Be happy travellers and enjoy your holiday without looking for silly little petty things to moan about, you will have a much better time both here and in life generally, trust me....

Everyone from the UK has at least a 10 hour flight so by the time we get to the resort we are stressed but once you walk up those steps and here the words welcome home they all disappear unless your just the moaning type. Cold towel and cool drink more than needed. Check in was flawless, we could do it our selves now, once again free upgrade to a roof top room, thanks to Virginia and Eric, its good to know we are well thought of. We were in block 4 with lots of outside space, still a rooftop despite not having stairs in the room??????

The building work next door which we had been warned about was not an issue, I think all the heavy, loud pilling work has now been completed so its no longer a problem for guests, if you are given a room facing the work you are going to be looking at a building site, in a few months you will be facing another beautiful Excellence hotel so what's the issue, just be polite and ask to move if it upsets you that much, the hotel will do everything they can to make you happy, they want you to have a great holiday and return to the hotel, we could see the building site from our roof top terrace but we never gave it a thought.

We don't bother with the beach, we like the pool area near the Sol Bar where the music is good, we only go down to the beach to eat at the grill area they set up everyday, food is very good and varied. The seaweed which gets washed in is cleared away throughout the day so is not really a problem, mother nature should be ashamed of herself for allowing seaweed to get washed onto this lovely beach.

We ate breakfast and lunch must days at the Buffet, thanks to Gloria, Freddy and his mate who greeted us with coffee and a smile everyday, We ate at five restaurants this time and loved them all, my two favourites are the Grill and Basmati, but we also ate in the French, Italian and Mexican. The food and service at this place are absolutely second to none, if you find a better All Inclusive resort please let us know as we would like to visit it because we have been unable to find it and we travel a lot. Can I just say a massive thank you to all the staff for making this another great visit but can I say a personal thanks to the following. All the management team, they do an amazing job, Eric, Nike and of course Alexander the hardest working Mexican you will ever meet. Thanks also to the concierge team who are always on hand to make your stay memorable, especially Carolina whom we have know for years. The entertainment team are a fantastic group of guys and gals, they break up the day and keep the atmosphere bouncing along nicely. Thank you all.

We spent every evening outside Café Café, a massive thanks to our little Mexican friend GLORIA, you work so hard with the biggest smile I have every seen, thanks also to her mate and all the bar staff, I don't know how you keep going all night, Cheers. We have seen most of the entertainment before but its still good and makes evenings enjoyable.

Service at this place is what makes it stand it from the rest of AI resorts, drinks are delivered to your sun lounger with a smile every time you need one, a big thank you to Gaston, Cindy and Altouro (Got his name wrong but what a great guy) we never moved despite being only 15 feet away from the bar. Drinks are premium brands and are only watered down with ice to keep them cool.

I don't want to ramble on but I must mention my two favourite restaurants, The food throughout this resort is great, we didn't have one bad meal and we ate plenty. You might have to wait a little while as they cook it for you but I would sooner wait than have it served from a big pot. We read on here that people say the potions are small, just order two or more, problem solved. Can I say a massive thank you to everyone in the Grill, the Fillet steaks are the best. Thank you to the Grill restaurant Captain, sorry never wrote your name down, but you and all your team are great. Can I say a massive thank you to everyone at the Basmati, Juan Lopez, Isabel, Oscar, Luis and Anibal (wrong spelling, sorry) You and your team gave us some great evenings, Thanks to everyone.

In general, we love this place, the staff and service is excellent, food is great and very varied, alcohol is free flowing, rooms stunning, grounds amazing. We have been to many AI resorts including three of the Secrets hotels and they don't even come close to this place. We will return again and again as we like this best and this hotel delivers on every count. Once again Thanks to everyone who works very, very hard to make our holidays memorable you should be proud of everything that you do everyday. THANK YOU

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, if the building work might bother you stay away from the left side of block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UKBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Playa Mujeres.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to our Resort facilities, the high quality food and drinks encountered at our Restaurants and bars, and lastly but no less important, our amazing staff .

We all look forward to welcome you back, and to provide you with another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary at this fabulous resort, and we had a fantastic time. Before going, we spent a lot of time reading the trip reviews and could not believe that any hotel could be as wonderful as we were led to believe, but it lives up to its 5 star reputation. We went in with very high expectations and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a swim up suite June 4 - 11 in building 1 facing the spa, and it was absolutely perfect with plenty of privacy along the lazy river. We spent most of our time at the main pool since that is where all the action is, and we never had a problem getting a chair in the shade. Some people complain about , what they call the "Towel Game", but face it, you can't sleep in until 10 or 11 and expect to get a spot under a canopy (but even then you usually can). There is always so much going on that it is not unusual for someone to be gone an hour or so as they take a class or go for a walk or swim so try not to let it bother you.

The food was amazing, and our favorites were Chez Isabelle, The Flavor Market (get the Steak with Blue Cheese), and Toscana (try the Tiramisu). The breakfast buffet at Toscana was fabulous and be sure to tell Nancy and Thomas hello, they will take good care of you. We had our anniversary dinner at Chez Isabelle and it was a wonderful experience. One of the nicest things of the night was after spending over an hour and a half enjoying the evening, our waiter (unfortunately I cannot recall his name) told us not to hurry and take our time after all, "This is your home."

The rooms are incredible but the bed is a little hard so ask in advance for a pillow topper, it will make things a lot easier. Unfortunately the pillow top makes a tall bed even taller so get a running start with a good jump and you will make it :-). There has been a lot said about the bathroom, but if you are reading this, then you are already aware of the setup and it should not surprise you. Honestly, as long as you are comfortable with your partner and you show a little respect, it will not be a problem. Be aware that there are a couple of very "adult" channels on the TV, so be careful channel surfing if you are easily offended.

The staff are what makes this resort so incredibly special, and as others have said, absolutely EVERYONE that we met had a smile and warm greeting for us. It made us feel very welcome and you will to. Even though the entire staff was fabulous, it is important to mention a few folks that made our stay exceptional. The entertainment team of Veronica, Yeni and Addiel were always there keeping the party going and we became fast friends. Yessinia, our pool waitress was the hardest working person on the planet and we did not want for a single thing the entire time. Ask her to bring you some steak nachos by the pool - Yummy! Ever was the best bartender ever (no pun intended) and we enjoyed talking to him on the beach over a glass of freshly made sangria. Ask Eduardo at the Flavor Market to bring you the demonstration platter - you will not be disappointed and if you leave hungry its your own fault (again try the steak with blue cheese). Finally our guest service manager Naikare took wonderful care of us and helped make our final evening special with chocolates and champagne waiting for us after dinner.

Final tips - Bring plenty of sunscreen, more than you think you need because the sun is brutal and if you buy it at the resort it will cost you around $40. Remember that there is a dress code for dinner, but we actually over packed since we wore a swimsuit and a shirt most of the time. Finally there is an elegant dinner on the beach on Monday where the beach is decorated all in white and they encourage everyone to wear white as well although it is not required.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DeniseN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was my first time to Excellence Playa Mujeres. I have been to Excellence Riviera and 7 prior Secrets resorts. The resort was so beautiful - I loved the resort. The staff is great. Great musical entertainment and the bar serves premium liquor and heavy handidly. A shout out to the best bartenders - Cesar at the Martini Bar, Angel at the Café Kafe bar, and Eduardo at the swim up pool bar - Blue. The theater shows were typical of what you see at most of the resorts and it is entertaining but that is about it. The food was good. I would say the Grill, The Lobster House, Chez Isabelle - French and Barcelona - Mediterranean were the best for dinner. The Toscany breakfast and lunch buffet was pretty good and some very good selections There is something for everyone.. The staff is wonderful... The rooms are beautiful. A good size deck with a very comfortable bed on the deck. The beach was nice. It had a good size area to swim in before you get to the sea grass. There is also a grill on the beach that serves something different every day. There is pizza at the Sol bar. There is free WiFi. There is plenty of huts around the pool for shade no need to rush out early to save one. There are beds at the pool, hammocks over the pool so many ways to keep cool if you want to. I would definitely make a return visit to this resort. You would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in Building 7 which was close to the pools and restaurants. I loved our location. Avoid buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This past May 15th we arrived at EPM for our 10-Day stay (15th – 24th) to celebrate our 24yr. Anniversary. Over the past few years we have stayed at other resorts south of Cancun, but wanted to pick something else and enjoy a new A.O. location. The drive from the from the airport is not long at all, we traveled via “Season Tours” and I have to say they are very professional, it may be a little more $$ over other companies, but they were 1st Class and I did not question the price difference at all; the transfer company bills the hotel and we then paid EPM direct. We did reserve an Excellence Club Ocean View/Front Room and made prior request for room/building locations. The check-in process at E.C. did go smooth; the initial room selection did not meet our request, but the following day the folks in E.C. area made an adjustment to our room location and were more than accommodating. I have to thank everyone in the E.C. for all their effort; it was greatly appreciated!

Room:
The EC Room located us in Bld. No. 8 3rd Floor (#8351); the room location is very nice and offered us a direct view of the beach over the main pool area. The layout of the room provided more than enough space to kick back and relax on either the bed, couch area as well as just sitting back on the patio and enjoying the sights and sounds of the resort. The overall feel of the room is very modern. The shower allows more than enough room for two and the overhead rain shower provides a very nice amount of water pressure + you have a hand held shower head off to the side; combine them both and you will get a Power Wash...Lol! We did request the Pillow Top on our bed and that added the comfort we needed, it does add just a couple more inches to the height of the bed. The Pillow menu is also nice and we did take advantage of that also. Each day our room was always well taken care of in the morning and evening; the turn down service is great. We made special requests for the selection in the Fridge and always taken care of. We did request a bottle of Bailey’s in our room and to do that they removed the Gin, Tequila, one other bottle...we just enjoy Bailey’s at night and did not need the other items. Over all; the room is very nice and the layout is comfortable and provided a very nice touch to our overall stay at EPM!

Food:
Our first night we tried Toscana, I ordered the Veal and my wife ordered the Lobster Tail. My veal was tough, but I was so hungry that night I just wanted to eat...should have returned it. The lobster as my wife said was very good. The service at Toscana that night was not on par; slow to service our table and as noted the veal was not that good. We ate at Flavor Market; again for some reason service that night was just slow going for a place half full. I know I am on vacation, but to sit there at the table for 5-10 minutes before even being asked for a drink is a bit odd. We were not aware of the portion sizes at Flavor Market and really wished the waiter had said something to us as we placed our orders, because we ordered 1 appetizer and 1 main course...You really need to order 3-4 of each; that’s why they call it a Market. So, word to the wise make your selection and pick several items or several of the same to sample all the different options...the food was very good. We enjoyed having lunch at the Lobster House each day, can’t go wrong there with all the different options. The Flank Steak sandwich was So Good and tender! We even enjoyed dinner at the Lobster House and Marco is an Excellent Waiter...He really made our evening very special with his service and friendly conversations; people like that just make sure a difference in your stay! For our Anv. Dinner we picked Chez-Isabella and it had been noted to the waiter about our special night; the service and food here were amazing on our night. We did purchase a nice Malbec Reserve bottle to celebrate...yes it costs more $$ than normal, but it was our special night and we enjoyed it so it did not bother us in the least. Two other nights we enjoyed Spice; now this is where you can have a Fun evening if you get to enjoy the hibachi dinner...very good evening with friends and would recommend it! Side note for Spice; they only have so many openings each night and you have to make reservations; the main dining area is open seating and did not require reservations. Part of our Anniversary Package we enjoyed a special dinner on the beach...Wow, it was very nice and service was exceptional. We also enjoyed room service several times in the afternoon and enjoyed the caprice salad along with other items for a snack. The food options great, so you won’t get bored with just one location to eat at.

Service:
Because we selected Excellence Club (EC) Room; we had additional options and one thing I will say is everyone in the Excellence Club office did and exceptional job making sure things were well taken care of and ensured our stay would be enjoyed. The people working in the EC area by Build No. 8 Pool were 1st Class...both my wife and I just enjoyed talking to Paul and his co-worker’s each day at the EC-Pool; everyone made sure our day was enjoyed and any little item needed would be attended to. The bartender at EC-Pool by Bld #8 (David); is also another person that deserves a big Thank You! David always had a big smile and made some amazing drinks for us each and every day. Everyone around EPM also made our stay very warm and welcomed. The martini bar is also another location that people would meet up and enjoy time and Cesar is an amazing bartender, you have to see it to believe it; the guy works very hard day in and day out and his memory will blow you away. Service at the Spa area is also very nice, we enjoyed a couple’s massage one day and then another massage that focused on feet, hands, arms and scalp...I didn’t want her to stop on my feet it felt so good!

Beach & Pool:
We enjoy both beach time and pool time. For the most part during our stay we kicked back at the EC-Pool at Bld No. 8; the location provided a nice central location and allowed us to walk the beach when we wanted as well as exceptional service. The beach is nice, but really wish it had a little bit more frontage...it seemed like the beach chairs and beds were right on top of the water line and limited distance in between. Yes there is seaweed and due to the winds blowing in it added to it for a few days, but that can happen anywhere based on weather, jet-stream and currents...you are on the Caribbean Sea so expect it. Walking the beach area is nice; the walking down to the marina is not that far and an opportunity to soak it all in. We were never hassled by anyone trying to sell items and that’s nice!

Over All Resort Feedback:
I did notice the main pool area can get a bit loud at times, but if it’s too much for you then head over to the beach area or if you are in EC just hit one of the EC-Pools or EC-Beach area and kick back. The grounds at EPM are very well taken care of; you will see people working around the clock to make sure things are in their place. And if something is not right...Just Say Something, but treat people with respect as they do and you will find the people at EPM will respond and do their best to make your stay very enjoyable and/or correct the items that need attention.

The Wi-Fi at our location did not work all that well, I would have to step out on the balcony and point towards the main lobby to get the best reception, it would be nice if they could work on that item for those trying to use the option to communicate with family/friends. We like using Skype on our vacations to stay in touch as well as share our pictures with friends and family during our stay.

Over All EPM is a very nice place for adults to just kick back, have fun and meet other great people if you choose. My wife and I met some great people during our stay and I have to give a shout out to the folks from the UK (Richard and his lovely wife), two other couples from New York and then from KY (Mark and his lovely wife); what a great time meeting so many people this trip, it just added to our stay. And I won’t forget the other T.A. members that we met...we all shared some great laughs by the pool. We are already planning on a return trip to EPM within the next 12-months and can’t wait! Hope you enjoy your stay...Cheers!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kdsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres to celebrate such special occasion as your wedding anniversary.

It is a pleasure to know that we had the opportunity to host such memorable experience. It is truly rewarding that your stay with us was wonderful and that you were pleased with our food quality and the excellent service provided by our staff. On the other hand, we also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I today begin our last day of a twelve night stay at this magnificent resort. Much like the previous reviewer it was our first trip to Mexico and to an all inclusive adult only resort. It has been a truly wonderful experience from the moment the Bell Boy met us with a glass of champagne on our arrival from the airport. The pool area and beach are fantastic as are the restaurants and daily entertainment. With five kids off of our hands we have been able to behave like kids ourselves, sky riding, jet skiing, snorkelling and crashing around the Carribean Sea in a speedboat! Another big plus is the fantastic staff here. Always ready to help and to offer a beaming smile. A special thanks to Juliana and the lovely Yesenia who kept as topped up with drinks around the pool, and to Martin who brought our Casa Grande Shiraz in the evenings. We will both be sad to head home tomorrow and would strongly recommend this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Block 7 is pretty central to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our first time to an Excellence resort,(May31-June7) and we certaily will return. Also, this was our first time to an adult only resort. Our kids are grown and married so we were looking for a different traveling environment and this resort was truly a five star facility. Feel free to e-mail their staff with any pre-trip questions. Vilma was very helpful with questions.
The weather rained a few of the days, but there was always multiple activities going on to keep guests as active as the chose to be.
The expereience began with the recommended Seasons shuttle service from the airport. What a professional, affordable, and easy way to get from the airport to the resort. The bell and chck-in staff was very friendly and efficient. I do not think that there was a single staff member that was not smiling and greeted us with a "Hola".
The swim out room in bld. 4 was a fantastic choice, and a great job by the housekeeping staff all week long. Rooms were cleaned daily and also offered a nightly turndown service as well. The in-room beverages were always restocked and taken care of with any special requests by Ceasar and the staff.
The pools were very nice, easy to get chairs, and or lounge beds, and again great attentive service by the bar staff to keep you hydrated with your favorite beverage. From small, secluded to the large and party atmosphere, the pools were great. The available food pool side was tasty, and hot. Try the fresh pizza's! The beach was very clean, and as easy to get a chair as it was by the pool. Service on the beach was as attentive as by the multiple pools.
Evening dinners offered a wide choice of restaurants all a short walk from the rooms. Please note the dress code for dinner so you will not be surprised. Our most memorable dinner was at Basmati, served by the amazing Oscar. He came highly recommended by other guests we met at the pool earlier in the day. Our group simply put the food choaices in his hands and we were very pleased with the entire meal! A very enjoyable meal and dining night was had at Chez Isabelle for the French cusine. Equally amazing meals were had at Toscana, Agave, and the Lobster House. The morning buffet offered daily favorites and many choices of delicious food, dishes, and pastries to start the day.
Evening entertainment shows were very good, especially the Michael Jackson show. These were Las Vegas style singing and dancing shows in the open air show room. The cigar lounge had a good selection of products for those so inclined. Excellent choices in the Martini Bar for pre-dinner or after dinner drinks. After hours entertainment continued in the Disco for all ages of partiers.
We certainly will travel to an Excellece Resort again!

Room Tip: There is new construction near building 9. So for a quieter room look into a building a little farth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ColoFireGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,687 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: £300 - £595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing