We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Sun at the Excellence Playa Mujeres, Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Hills, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and Sun at the Excellence Playa Mujeres, Mexico”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our year-end 2013 visit to the Excellence Playa Mujeres confirmed to us why we were returning to this resort for the fourth time. We have never celebrated a happier Wedding Anniversary and will always cherish all the special attention and pampering received from all of you. Once again, we recharged our bodies and minds enjoying a resort that knows how to do All-Inclusive right; with something for everybody, lots of fun activities, plenty of beachfront sand and sunshine, and no hassles! The resorts facilities are First Class and the personnel is a group of well managed, high caliber, caring professionals. They plan activities, like the cheerful New Year's Eve Dinner Dance Extravaganza, with the guests interests in mind so that we have experiences to remember forever. We met very warm and friendly staff members like G.M.Virginia Amador and her Asst. G.M. Eric Cervantes with their hands-on management style that kept it all working like clockwork. Kudos to Chef Nestor at Chez Isabelle for his exquisite French food and his proactive involvement with delicious food preparation at various other of the many resort restaurants. Many Staff members deserve special recognition, such as, Wilberth, Abraham and the rest of the Concierge Group, the whole Entertainment Crew including Adrian and Adiel, super efficient restaurant staff, among others Pedro and Rigoberto at Chez Isabelle, Armando at The Grill, Ismael, Jacqueline and Gloria at Toscana who collectively made sure to please our every whim. Our heartfelt THANK YOU for another great Anniversary celebration and Christmas and New Year's holiday and for continuing to uphold your resort's tradition of EXCELLENCE!
GG & S Garcia

Room Tip: In our four stays at the EPM we have found all buildings/rooms to be centrally located, comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigarvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,731
    1,411
    364
    139
    78
See reviews for
527
9,589
94
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned home after a 10 night stay 6-16 June 14 at EPM. This was our second trip, we got engaged there in June 2013 and loved it so much it was the natural choice for our honeymoon.

We booked a ocean front excellence club suite and then had the news regarding the building work. We requested block 8 in view of this and Vilma allocated us in 8369 which has a great ocean view and is the end room, thus we were the furthest away from the building work.

With regard to the building work I can honestly say that we did not hear anything the whole 10 days, you could see the guys working if you walked past but it didn't impact on our holiday at all.

The weather was perfect and we had an even better stay than our first visit. We ate at Barcelona, Argave, the Grill, Chez Isabelle and had the Romantic Beach Dinner. We enjoyed all the food very much.

We spent every day at the Excellence Beach, the staff at the beach club made our holiday. Our beach concierge Guillermo was outstanding everyday he looked after us, always helped us to arrange our dinner every night. We had a special table most evenings dressed with rose petals. Guillermo,s colleagues Rosi and Antonio were also fantastic. Not only did the guys make our beach beds up, they served us with fresh face clothes, lovely snacks and if you left your sunbed to have lunch etc they would change the towels for you. Fidel the waiter on the beach was outstanding always so pleasant he really looked after us, suggesting different cocktails to try, often bringing drinks without us even asking. Mango margarita was my favourite cocktail during the day.

All the staff go out of there way to make your holiday special, we had a lovely meal at Argave and Pamela made sure we has a special table and a special desert with welcome home Mr and Mrs Smith written in chocolate. On our last evening our concierge Caroline arranged a special dinner in Chez Isabelle the chef sent over extra shrimps and our desert was a platter of all the deserts on the menu. When we returned to our room it was beautiful rose petals scattered in a path to the jacuzzi which was filled with warm water and rose petals and also a special heart and swam shaped towels. There was a bottle of champagne and a platter of hand made chocolates. It was a lovely surprise and perfect ending to our honeymoon.

A special mention to Cesar and Hugo at the Martini Bar they make really good cocktails and are a lot of fun. We will be back in January for our first wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Background:

I would say we are well travelled and like to stay in 5 star hotels whever we go. We have stayed at the excellence before in fact it was the opening week so wanted to see if it was still as excellent as we remember it, and due to the fact we tell everyone to book it. Here is an overview of our second trip from December 2013.

After an ok flight with Virgin flying in PE (we only managed to get 2 / 3 drinks the whole flight?) we were quickly through customs and out to meet our driver. We used Canadian Transfers this time and the service was excellent from the cold towel and water to the pre ordered beers. We shall be using them again on our next trip and would recommend them.

Our arrival went smoothly until they said we had a twin room not a double? More of this later.

The grounds have only got better with time and are as ever very well maintained by a hard working ground staff.

The room was as nice and as large as we remember with an amazing shower (party for 10 will fit!) a large flat screen tv with some english channels and a nice lounge area. The in-room bar is great with full bottles of rum,vodka,gin etc as well as mixers and juices in the fridge. They also have snacks like M&M's snickers and crisps (chips for my USA friends).

The restaurants are still very good and we enjoyed most of them. We would have tried them all again but fell in love with Basmati. As many from the UK will know we do like a curry and these were on a par with any I have had in the UK so much so we went 3 times!! We loved the French with some great steak and enjoyed the lobster house. They serve the lobster tails different now which we both felt was not as good but still ok. We loved the new pizza oven on the beach this was really great and offered something different to going to the buffet or restaurant.

The bars served some great drinks with plenty of top shelf options to choose but also you MUST try an iceberg!! Carlos at the martini bar is like a machine with serving drinks but is always happy and never forgets what you like somehow?


We did have a few issues this time which was sad and took the shine off the trip. As mentioned at check in they had us in a twin not a double. They were going to move us but took a number of calls and visits to get sorted. The room we were moved to was not as great location wise as the last so we went back. The bell boy to be fair was really great moving us out then back!

We had a lot of rain when we were there which ended up with our room being flooded from the roof in the early hours which was not great but to be fair they moved us next door where we stayed as we only had a day to go.

Overall – Apart from the not so great communication from the front of house we enjoyed the stay again. The pressure will be on for Excellence and me though as we have booked to stay again this year and this time we are taking the in-laws of which the dad is well respected in the UK travel world from running one of the well know travel companies. hopefully it will be back to a 5 rating?

A side point is that comes up is the toilette door. Yes there is a gap at the top and bottom of the door and yes it is frosted glass (so you cannot see in!) but unless you stand outside it (who stands outside a toilet door??) you will neither hear or see anything. Worst case grab a drink from the in-room bar and sit on the balcony and enjoy the view!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mattt9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had an amazing stay at Excellence Playa Mujures. If you're looking for a young loud party scene with lots of loud music and liquor (although there's nothing wrong with this), this is not the resort for you. This is catered towards a bit older crowd looking for a quiet relaxing luxurious getaway. It's a bit far off from the main Cancun hotel zone.

I was a bit concerned at first that we would be treated like second class citizens since we did not purchase the club membership or upgrade to a room with a swim-up bar. However this was not the case at all. The service was exceptional and everyone was accommodating. We did not in any way felt like we were missing out on anything. Personally, having seen the swim-up bar during our stay, I realized I wouldn't have liked being located on the ground floor with people walking right outside our window. I loved our 3rd floor room from which we can look out onto the beautiful resort/pools from our spacious balcony which consisted of a daybed.

The food was typical resort food. You're not going to find michelin rated quality restaurants here but we weren't really expecting any and so that was ok. Our favorite was the Mexican restaurant. Hey, you're in Mexico, it makes sense. ;)

The spa was amazing. When I booked my facial, I was able to take part in the Wellness circuit which included a 30 - 45 min of what they called a hydrotherapy circuit. It included various steam rooms and water massages.

Overall, it was an awesome time. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary here. We have done cruises in the past so this was our first land trip. We could not have chosen a better place! Albert, the manager, was the best! He treated us like royalty! The room was absolutely beautiful. We had the lateral 2 story rooftop terrace. It had the biggest shower we have ever seen. The restaurants were terrific and service for the tours was outstanding! We have recommended this resort to at least 8 other couples. Would not hesitate to go again! The Chandlers from Philadelphia

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just got back from 3rd stay at EPM! We had another wonderful holiday. The staff are amazing. If you like to be treated really well then stay here because they cannot do enough for you. Oscar at the Basnti made us a special meal, he is a legend!!! We would like to thank Sheily, Gloria, Paul (pool concierge) Dalel (Club manager) Iscmel, Reuben and Tomas who brought me hot milk for my coffee every morning. Vilma (concierge) you are just wonderful. I could mention everyone as they are all very good. I have stayed in a few hotels in the past and never found one where the staff treat everyone so nice. We feel these people are our friends and that is why we will be booking again next year!!

Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We use to stay in block 9 but with the building work going on I would advise block 8 if you book a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 365Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location is quiet and peaceful. Although there is current construction going on next door noise only appears to affect those who stay in Building 9. If you are interested in walking around downtown or shopping you will need to take bus or taxi. It's approx 15-20 minutes into town. The service at all times was impeccable! The staff was probably the best I have seen in all our travels. They always greeted you, had a smile, and would do anything for you. Amazing people. That includes room service, front desk, restaurants and bars, bellmen, waiters! Always checking that everything met your needs. They always followed up on completeion of any request.

The facilities were absolutely amazing. Beautiful gardens, manicured lawns, hot tubs and pools maintained at a high standard. Towels available at pools. Pool service by waiters was outstanding and attentive.

Loved our room.

The only smaill issues were the following:

1. Toilet door in the Bathroom. I read many comments about this but wasn't sure what they were complaining about. Now I see. The door to the toilet is a frosted glass door. The bathroom is open to rest of suite above a 5 foot wall. The issue is that although the frosted glass door gives visual privacy, it does not reach to the floor (about 6 inches shy) and it doesn't reach to the ceiling at the top (about a 1-foot opening). Thus someone elsewhere in the suite can expect sounds and smell from occupant of toilet. Possibly not a problem for older married couples but for newlyweds it may be more intimate than desired lol.

2. The Food. Overall it was very good. With 9 restaurants and only 4 days, we obviously didn't try them all or the complete menus. We were disappointed in a few things.
a. At the Grill, the fish taco plate was very small. Others commented on this also. It was good. But the serving size was small. I tried the rib-eye sandwich and could only eat 2 bites. The were no sauces, the meat didnt seem to have been seasoned in any way and was dry.
b. At the Asian restaurant we were looking forward to the Thai dishes. My wife is Thai and I've been eating Thai food in Thailand and US for 40 years. Sadly the two dishes I tried did not resemble Thai food in any manner. The "beef salad appetizer" was small, had no meat worth mentioning, was missing most of the ingredients of a true beef salad, No comparison at all. I also had the "Pad Thai" and again it was very poorly named. No resemblance to true Thai Pad Thai at all. It needed meat, onions, and so much more. If your going to make an ethnic dish it should resemble the authentic dish to some extent. These did not. Suggest they bring in Thai chef as consultant on menu and recipes. Also the rice used in the sushi rolls was prepared incorrectly. Should have found individual rice grains instead of mushy rice.
c. The International restaurant or Tapas restaurant were confusing. The food was basically ok. But we were new to Tapas style meals and were told it was best to order 3 apps and 3 mains per person. Yes, we know tapas means small plates. My 3 mains were all just meat and bigger than expected. One dish of meat was piled high but little seasoning. No vegetables or sides. So my entree was three plates of meat. LOL. I ate a little but with nothing else, i just left them mostly uneaten.
d. The best food of each day was the awesome breakfast Buffet. Many we talked to also raved about it and the vast selections. Loved it. And dont miss the creamy ice cream dispenser next to the outside bar next to lobby. Best vanilla ice cream I've had in years!

There are a variety of activities scheduled throughout the day and evening entertainment. We cant comment on them as we are early to bed people and we lazed about the pool all day. LOL.

This is an awesome resort with plenty of places for privacy or for fun. The pools and grounds are exceptional as are the accomodations. The highlight though was the people who work there! I travel to Thailand often, and it's known as the "Land of Smiles" for its friendly people. The wonderful people working at this resort deserve the name more than anywhere else I've been! Bravo! Gracias!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ravenret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,486 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,615 reviews
10.8 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., Savannahville Tours N.V., TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing