We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 20th Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Camden, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great 20th Anniversary”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great Resort. Check-in was smooth and only took about 10 minutes. We requested Bld 8 which was honored. We paid the extra for Excellence Club which gave us those extras my wife loved. Food and Service was top notch.

Room Tip: Bld 8 close to pool and Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,708
    1,408
    362
    139
    77
See reviews for
523
9,567
94
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hello, spent 6 nights at EPM from 14-20 June 2014. First time here. Read all the reviews so knew what to expect. The grounds are spectacular! I don't know that I'll find anything else out there that compares. Stayed in EC room 8266 overlooking EC pool with a view of the ocean. Room was fantastic. Had great housekeeping, turn-down service, and mini bar service. Everything we asked for in those aspects was honored. Found lots of inconsistencies with service in restaurants. We are big on tipping and I'm sure that was appreciated, but not necessary as friends did not tip and received same service. Was never cool in room or in restaurants. Wasn't impressed with EC lounge. Besides checking in and checking out we were in there maybe 2 other times. Didn't seem like a real upbeat friendly place to be. It was also hot and stagnant. This place needs some ceiling fans. We looked at the thermostat and it was 79 degrees in the EC lounge!! Loved the EC beach and floating in the pools. You are just steps from your beach lounger to the water edge. Loved it! Water was calm and clear! As far as drinks, there was never a problem getting Crown Royal unlike some of the other 5 star resorts we've stayed in. Not sure we will be going back to EPM anytime soon. Kept comparing it to the Hyatt Zilara (Nov '13). Gorgeous property, though!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeannie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nothing but good things to say about this resort. We've stayed at several locations in Jamaica and Mexico, and this was head and shoulders above any others. Service was great, food was above average and we enjoyed perfect weather during our stay. Rooftop terrace was well worth the upgrade, while we did not splurge for the Excellence Club after reading some less than stellar reviews on the limited perks for the heavy price tag.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went for 3 nights and enjoyed the beautiful resort. Everything was immaculate and you can see the resort employees working around the clock to maintain it. It truly does look exactly like the website pictures. The only con I could think of was the temperature of the drinks. Nothing is refreshingly cold, unless it's a blended drink or something from the draft. Bottles of soda or beer aren't super cold.

Also, if you're a foodie, you aren't going to be impressed with the food, but it's an all-inclusive resort so we weren't really expecting too much in this department. My family and I did really enjoy the Toscana buffet for breakfast and lunch. Selection is great for picky eaters, like my dad. Overall, it was a wonderful resort to unwind and get away for a few days and I would gladly do it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgpyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to 3 different 5 star all inclusive resorts on our honeymoon to Mexico.. although I'll not mention the others, the excellence was the favorite of the 3 by far! The staff was very friendly and thorough, their restaurants were delicious and reservation free, and our room was unbelievable! I wish we had stayed at the excellence for our entire trip! We had one hiccup with billing at the spa but it was quickly corrected by the front desk staff. The only negative we could think of is that we couldn't get the room as cool as we wanted (however, my husband prefers it frigid when he sleeps so it probably would've been fine for the average person!) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elise1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Excellence playa mujeres for 3 nights and wished it could have been for 10 more. The room and service is exactly what is displayed on the website. Our room was a junior swim up suite with oceanfront and it was amazing. Private area check in so you did not have the normal hustle of the main lobby. We were greeted with a gracious bell boy and 2 glasses of chilled champagne with the bottle on ice. The room was cold and clean and very well stocked. If you ran out of anything be it a towel or a water bottle from the mini fridge it was restocked by the hour. Staff was amazing. They were friendly and helpful and so courteous you really felt like you were given the gold star treatment. Plenty of food choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. French, italian, mediterranean, mexican, seafood and indian. Our favorite was the Indian restaurant. Service was impeccable. I am not familiar with indian food so we let our waiter Luis order for us. We told him what we like and he brought out an array of food and it was phenomenal. The chef Savesh came out to greet us at the table and make sure we enjoyed our dinner. He surprised us with a very special dessert. We enjoyed the incredible spa and a bike tour and the beautiful beach. Everynight you can enjoy the live music and shows. Plenty of activities and entertainment to keep you busy or plenty of beautiful atmosphere just to relax and do nothing. The only complaint we had was that we did not plan our trip for more days but we know for next time. We consider ourselves regulars with the Excellence playa mujeres resort. Absolutely amazing place with amazing people who work so hard to give you everything you need and make your trip a wonderful time.

Room Tip: I would definitely upgrade to the excellence club because of the rooms and all of the amenities . V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mandynuncio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a lovely trip to EPM last night. The resort is beautiful, spacious (never crowded) and the service, which is sometimes slow, was still excellent. The staff is very accommodating and willing to do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.
The spa is very good.
Food for the most part was pretty good. We found Chez Isabelle to be the best.
One unfortunate part of our tip was that our a/c was not functioning well. We called as soon as we arrived and had it serviced. We literally called every day, and every day it was supposed to be fixed but wasn't. We finally gave up on the last day. We didn't let it ruin our stay, but it would have been much more comfortable if it was fixed properly after several requests, or if the staff were willing to move our belongings to another room.
The rooms were pretty, but I would agree with those that wrote about lack of privacy in the bathroom. Also, I am petite, which made it impossible to get ready in the bathroom because there are two mirrors in the shape of a sun that are set up too high for me to even see in (I am 5 foot tall)
The entertainment was great. It's a great place to relax. I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,467 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,592 reviews
10.8 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing