We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imperial Suite Honeymoon AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Imperial Suite Honeymoon AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

After months of researching the best AI's in the world , we landed on EPM for our honeymoon. We prefer luxury accommodations when we travel I.e. Fairmont , St. Regis, so we chose to go all the way by booking an Imperial Suite for our 7 night stay. We literally had a trip of a lifetime and were impressed with all the perks that came with booking the suite (romantic dinner on the beach, breakfast and champagne in bed , private bartender for 1 hour , bubble bath for 2 with rose petals and candles , etc). Our 2 story suite had an oceanfront view and a HUGE private deck ...large enough for 2 lounge chairs , 2 sun beds , outdoor shower , and hydro pool with redwood deck.
The

My husband is a chef and we were both very happy with the quality and selection of food. We also liked that reservations weren't required.

We went to the spa almost everyday if our trip to enjoy the hydrotherapy circuit. Do not miss this!We We also had a couples massage that was so relaxing we didn't want to leave ...just the ambiance of the spa is worth booking a treatment or 2 ;)

The only thing we will do differently next time is go during a hotter month such as July or August. October was rainy half our days there and although in the mid to upper 80s not quite hot enough to enjoy the pools and lazy river as they were quite cold. We cannot wait to go back and bring family and friends to experience this little slice of heaven :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,220
    1,363
    344
    129
    68
See reviews for
491
9,109
90
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,997)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Arrived on 21 June about 6pm

We were greeted with cold towels and champagne ...at check in we were told our room didn't have a king bed it had 2 doubles though, we could change rooms the next day or they would come and push our beds together and put on a mattress topper over the beds, We chose to have the beds pushed together...could starfish and still not touch lol.

The room was lovely we had no problems with the glass doors in the bathroom as were opaque ...

The grounds are amazing and very well kept, the gardeners were certainly kept busy.

Pools were lovely and something for everyone.. quiet, semi quiet or busy.
we liked being on the main pool but the quiet end near the beach so we got the breeze off the sea. The pools were always clean and very very warm was like getting into a warm bath.
The Bar staff were definitely kept busy, round the pool and throughout the resort. Drinks were kept flowing round the pool by the waiters and waitresses.

The Martini bar was great had drinks there every night before and after dinner.
Ceaser and Hugo were certainly kept busy and very attentive getting your drinks ready as soon as they saw you coming.....worked our way through the martini list our favourites being the espresso martini.

Enjoyed the food in all the restaurants we ate in the evening. Cannot choose a favourite as I liked them all in a different way.Didn't have a bad evening meal.

We had breakfast in the lobster house once and wasn't too fussed as had a long wait for it and nothing special when it arrived......we much prefered the buffet in Toscana. It had everything you could want for breakfast.

Lunch our preference again was toscana buffet and I had sushi everyday.mmm
The beach had different lunches everyday and the pizzas were great too.

All in all we were looked after very well by everyone. The place is spotlessly clean and don't think you can go wrong holidaying here..

We're from England so was not a cheap holiday for us but certainly will be saving to come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at EPM from June 7-14 in room 5101, a standard suite. We have previously stayed at many AI resorts across the Caribbean and Mexico.

PROS

Room:
Fabulous room, in a quiet location. The jacuzzi was nice. The double chaise on the balcony was super comfortable. The shower was fantastic - lots of hot water at all times, great water pressure and the combination of the rain head and hand held shower was good. The mirror in the bathroom was fine for me at 5 feet tall, plus there was a light shaving mirror lower. The canopy bed was comfortable and romantic. The X box for dirty room service dishes was appreciated and was,promptly emptied. Th separate closet was nice too.

Restaurants:
We had the best AI food we have had. Flavor Market and Basmati were the highlights. The Toscana lunch buffet had a great selection and the buffet food in general was warmer than we have previously experienced. The pool side pizza was prepared quickly and was delicious. The staff at the breakfast buffet seem to take real pride in good service and the food.

Service:
Service was good and friendly everywhere. Many staff remembered your name. Our server in Flavor Market kept bringing me different mango based drinks to try once he realized I love mango, and he brought us a romantic dessert with rose petals. Room service was prompt and the staff member went the extra mile to set out food on the balcony nicely. Service at the front desk was great too.

Pool/Beach:
We never struggled to get chairs or double beds in the sun or shade at either the pool or beach, despite the hotel being at 80% occupancy. The swinging beds by the pool (the other side to the swim up bar) were delightful. The palapas by the spa lazy river were super comfortable and a very peaceful romantic place to relax. We walked for a couple of miles up the beach and saw nothing except a guy spear fishing for lobster - very successfully! There was seaweed but a tractor cleared it thoroughly multiple times a day.

Spa:
The only service we used was the bath concierge, where a spa employee set up the jacuzzi in our room with flowers and candles. They did a great job and it was really romantic to relax in there for a couple of hours with a bottle of champagne and the windows open so we could feel the tropical air. We did this twice and both times we ordered a bottle of house champagne from room service - which we got at no additional cost. It was also really nice and drinkable - who knew Mexican champagne was so good?!

Peace and quiet:
If you want a party atmosphere this may not be the place. By the swim up bar in the afternoon it was quite busy, but not rowdy. Everywhere else was peaceful and romantic. When we got back to Cancun airport, we found the noise level almost painful after such a relaxing peaceful week.

CONS:

Bars:
The bartenders were the least friendly of the employees - but they were polite and professional. The bars were nice. But the quality of the drinks was highly variable - both between bars and from one drink to the next. There appeared to be no standard recipes, and a Bahama Mama from the poolside server tasted different - and was a different color!- to one at the Kafe Kafe bar. It wasn't a huge deal - and added some excitement to the evening guessing what your drink actually was- but may be a deal breaker for some.

To sum up, we had a fabulous vacation and we will be back.

Room Tip: Building 5 was peaceful, away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank britsinindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having previously stayed at the Excellence for a wedding of a close friend, we had recommended it and decided to return as a group of 6 couples for a group couple getaway. One of our group members confirmed room, excursion, and other details with Jesse the concierge, who seemed rather helpful. While we understood we might not be able to get rooms together at the resort, we had asked to try to be all nearby one another.

We were happily greeted by the staff and told that they had been able to put all of us in the same building. That was until we realized that only 5 of the couples had been placed together in the same building. The gay couple of the group, we had been assigned to building 3 -- the farthest building with two small beds in each room -- a 15 minute walk from the rest of our friends, the beach area and the main pools.

We were told our concierge was unavailable, and the staff told us there was nothing that could be done. We were told barely apologetically that could check back again later in the weekend if we wanted. While our friends changed into their swimsuits and checked in early to their king-bed rooms, we waited in the heat until more than an hour after check in time before being led to our platonically furnished parking-lot adjacent room.

All in all pretty frustrating. I don't know whether to fault poor concierge service or the hotel, but I'd recommend either triple checking your reservation or finding a different -- maybe more inclusive? -- all-inclusive.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not put in a room with two small beds? Ask for something in buildings 7 or 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Ethan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for having chosen Excellence Playa Mujeres as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

However we would like to highlight that certain room categories offer either a kind size or two double beds. As a resort policy, the suite locations are upon request and subject to availability. Moreover at Excellence, our guest requests are considered priority, and the hotel always do their best to meet guest preferences when possible.

Please receive our warmest regards from Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wow! From the greeting at the entrance with cold towel and cold beverage, to the last goodbye, everything was EXCELLENCE! The facility and grounds were perfectly maintained. We had a RTT corner room with the outside area twice the size of our room. We had a beautiful view of the spa, palms and the lazy river, was able to see the ocean at a distance. The room was very nice. The bed was a little hard for our liking, but they were prompt and added a memory foam topper to the bed. House keeping and mini-bar service was great. The wait staff was out of the world. Nothing was to hard or inconvenient for them. The pool wait staff was outstanding. The entertainment was good. We did not eat a bad meal. The pizza by the pool at lunch was also very good. We enjoyed the fiesta night. There were just so many good people waiting on us constantly. The activity people went out of their way to learn and remember our names. We can't wait to book again!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Roof Top Terrace room, but wouldn't be required for an excellent time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_Gina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

this hotel is the goods! amazing service, price, food, ammentites, beach and activites.

the only bad thing was our bed was a bit hard, apparantl ythey have toppers you can request :)

we had an upgrade to a terrace suite... amazing! the resport was my favorite place i have ever stayed and the staff were so nice and welcoming. I will go back in a heart beat! hoping to return for my honeymoon one day.

you will not regret it

Room Tip: get the terrace suite.. worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aimz_86Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The best way to sum this place up is UNBELIEVABLE. The service is top notch, the beach, the restaurants, the rooms. There is NOTHING bad about this place. This place and these people made my honeymoon unforgettable. I definitely recommend a rooftop room with a pool. The sunset we got to see...amazing!!! We will be back!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#3 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,085 reviews
9.9 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Savannahville Tours N.V. and LoveHolidays so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing