We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (14,782)
Filter reviews
14,789 results
Traveller rating
12,418
1,666
434
162
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12,418
1,666
434
162
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster house martini bar chez isabelle flavor market the grill sol bar our honeymoon main pool carolina paz rooftop terrace ec pool cafe kafe non ec room service building concierge french restaurant swim up room
Filter
Updating list...
2,866 - 2,871 of 14,789 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Our first trip to Excellence and over all our stay was enjoyable. The staff was always courteous and polite and greeted you with a smile. The property is very spacious and we never felt cramped or crowded.
This was our third all inclusive resort we have visited but the first in Mexico. The food was better than average and we never had to wait for a table. My only complaint would be that the room was not very quiet. Email had a swim up suite and we could hear people above us when they walked around. Over all we were pleased with our stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit and it was phenomenal, a lot of people remembered us, and totally treat us like family!

Thank you Nelson for your amazing attention to detail, David (pool), Abelardo (omelette king), Cesar and Hugo (martini bar), José (captain), and many more!

We will definitely be returning to this property next year.

Muchas gracias!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank claudioh239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

It was my pleasure to treat my fiancée to this gem of a vacation. We always do all inclusives but I really wanted to take him to Europe as he did for me. He decided that he wanted to be closer to home and do an all inclusive. I said under one condition that it had to be a luxurious 5* resort. We had already been to Iberostar in Dr. He googled the most luxurious 5* resorts and Excellence in Playa Mujeres appeared. I also invited his oldest friend with his wife as they, too, were celebrating their 60th birthday. It was absolutely awesome. The room was exquisite, the staff were beyond friendly, the food was excellent, the swim up pool was delicious, and the weather was very cooperative.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We had a fun trip with a group of friends back in November celebrating birthdays. Having 11 of us in our group, we all had plenty of options that included a variety of restaurants, activities and pool lounging that continued to satisfy all of us. During the day, we pretty much ate the fire side pizza's made from scratch. However, the breakfast buffet and the dinner options were absolutely delicious. Our rooms were spacious and updated that included a stocked mini bar, separate over-sized bath and living area which was cleaned daily. Service was impeccable and the white martinis from the courtyard bar were amazing.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

This was our third visit to EPM and our fourth visit to An Excellence property as in the past the staff here are incredible. We had one minor issue with getting a room arrived before three and the room was not ready, told to take a pager when the room was ready they would page us after waiting to four checked back at front desk room had been ready since three. Other than this minor hiccup the rest of our stay was fantastic.
Room:
We had a suite in building six great location overlooking the lazy river close to the main lobby and all the restaurants. The room has double sinks and a large walk-in rain shower and a large soaking tube.
Restaurants:
This resort has nine restaurants no reservation required except Spice for the Teppanyaki table
Toscana is very good I had the Lasagna which was excellent
Basmati the Indian restaurant was a nice meal be careful some of the meals are very spicy
Chez Isabelle the French restaurant was our favorite on the two occasions we dined here we had Alfonzo as our server a great meal both times plus the hostess greeted by name on the second visit I was impressed
Spice we dined in the main area and were served by Angel, meal and serve was great try the first and second appetizer
The Grill and Lobster house we had lunch and breakfast but not dinner this time if you go take bug spray
The other restaurants we didn’t get to the only other restaurant was Las Olas that is open for lunch we ate here once they have a different theme very day
The buffet in the morning or lunch was very good lot of choice. The young lady that is one of hostess is Jaclyn always greets you with smile and a warm greeting what a sweetheart

Bars
You have the choice of ten bars plus the coffee shop. A great place to start your evening is at the Martini bar in the lobby get Caesar or Hugo to make you a drink off the menu or one of their creations. In the Morning, we headed up to Aroma for a coffee and a pastry their ice-cream is not bad either
The swim up bar Blue gets pretty busy I used the Sol bar faster serve and the drinks were mixed better. Beach and pool side serve was always good

Pool and Beach

Your choices of pools are the main pool or around the two lazy rivers plus the club pool if you’re in the club. Lounges at the pools or beach are never in demand lots of options same with the towels never a shortage. Some people mention the seaweed I didn’t see a problem every day the beach is cleaned

Entertainment

Around the pool and at lunch at Las Olas a band or some type of entertainment was happening
At night in the lobby either a sax player or piano player was playing. Outside at the Café Kafe every night they had a band or a singer. Shows at the theater were entertaining, two that we enjoyed were the salute to Broadway and the Four-Seasons Tribute. One suggestion I would make is to have a non-smoking section at Café Kafe it’s hard to enjoy the show with cigar and cigarette smoke every where

Gym
The gym was very clean and up to date equipment lots of choices for cardio, weight machines and stretching

One final note a shout out to the concierge staff and to Carolina Paz Customer Service Manage inquiring
how our stay was and if they could do anything for us.
This is one of our favorite resorts we will definitely return

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BOB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence G, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear BOB107,

Allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your holiday destination, for being a loyal guest and for sharing your experience with all Trip Advisor Readers.

We are delighted to read that you found a relaxing time at Excellence Playa Mujeres and our colleagues & the entertainment team were able to exceed your expectations. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation. We also appreciate your engagement and suggestion, which is very important to us. Your inputs help with our continuing efforts to provide an excellent service and a great stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you another amazing experience.

Please receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews