We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Pietra Antica O'Munti
Ranked #1 of 1 Puntalazzo B&B and Inns
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We spent a week here with our 3-year old daughter and our baby boy (10 months old). We took a prebooked taxi from Fontanarossa airport which was very convenient. It's very clearly signposted so I can't see why there are some remarks about it being difficult to find. It's possible to reach Puntalazzo with public transport from the airport. Buses are infrequent (at least during the winter months), they don't operate on weekends and it's virtually impossible to get a cab in Giarre if you happen to miss the last bus. The bus stop in Puntalazzo is a 10 minute walk from La Pietra Antica O'Munti.

The room we stayed in was really spacious and was cleaned every day. They provided a slightly broken baby cot for 10€/night. There were fresh flowers on the table and the staff was accommodating. The rooms are sparsely decorated. The view from the small courtyard in front of our room was great! The breakfast was unexpectedly good, the pastries were very nice as was the cappuccino and every morning there were some new treats such as candied orange and lemon peel or frittata. There were, in addition to pastries, bread, cheese and cold cuts. They should stop cooking eggs though as these were overcooked to the degree that the yolk had turned green.

Overall we had a great time here taking strolls in the countryside and just chilling. The chestnut tree of a hundred horses is within easy walking distance with a stroller or child carrier as is Sant'Alfio. We would however recommend going here by car as excursions are much easier that way. If you're interested in my opinion of the restaurant see my separate review.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    39
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
43
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We arrived to La Pietra Antica on Easter Sunday - straight for Easter lunch! A wonderful and tasty meal Sicilian style. Our room was warm and spacious offering good sleep for a tired tourist. The staff was very friedly but breafast was disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JESS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

After we FINALLY found this place we were a bit apprehensive about why it appeared deserted. There didn't seem to be wait staff and the lady who served us must have been also the cook and cashier. It was rather strange. There was only one other table occupied but we were seated at a table in an ugly room (near the kitchen) with no view of what might have been a scenic vista. It was dreary as a dungeon and a disappointment as other agritourismos are so pretty. Since we were the only people there we were suprised at how long it took to prepare our meals. And the menu was confusing if you ordered a la carte. Some of the food was good but the meatballs in lemon leaves was not edible. Cakes tasted stale. It was definitely not worth the difficult drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DowntheBayou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapietraantica_munti, Direttore at La Pietra Antica O'Munti, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
We apologize if you had difficult to find us. Our farm is in a small village but isn't isolated like a desert...it's too, sorry.
About the dining room, we have just one large dining room ( it's an old "palmento": a winery with lava stone on the floor and on the wall) and not single dining rooms . Other people that they stayed here can confirm this. So, say it was like a dungeon seems really excessive.
At this point there are many things that don't coincides with our farm so i think really that you have confused with another place.
Anyway, best wishes for a very good 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We turned up at La Pietra Antica long after dark and without a booking, as the place we had booked (B&B Don Diego in Lingua Glossa - don't go there whatever you do!) had let us down big time. We'd been anxious we wouldn't find anywhere to stay and would end up dossing in the car. We needn't have worried. Having followed the brown "turismo rural" signs from Piedemonte de Etna, we eventually arrived at La Pietra Antica, which is perched high on the eastern flanks of Etna, just a few hundred metres below where the 1971 lava flows were the most recent to disturb the calm. We explained our predicament to our hosts and were given a very warm welcome. La Pietra Antica is a converted early 19th Century winery,tucked up on a terraced hillside which was once the vineyard. In redeveloping the derelict winery into a beautiful restaurant and hotel, the owners have gone to great trouble to preserve as much as possible of the original structure and equipment. A brief enquiry of the owners will soon yield an explanation of how all the bits of the winery worked - fascinating. We ended up staying three nights, B&B plus evening meal, and the cost was very good value compared to other places we'd stayed in the Aeolian Islands - we were paying the same for evening meal + B&B here as what we'd paid for B&B alone on Stromboli and Lipari. The rooms we stayed in were in an old maturation warehouse, beautifully converted, They were comfortable and spotless, and old features like internal window shutters were still in place and a further lesson in industrial archaeology. We noticed the rooms didn't have fans or air-conditioning, but neither did we feel the need for them: maybe the altitude and the thick stone walls mean they just aren't needed. There were large radiators, though we didn't need them either (we were there early October). The food was excellent - all home-cooked, and the meat, veg and bread were all superb. A great wine list too, with some superb local wines. La Pietra Antica is in easy striking distance of Europe's oldest tree (Il Castagno de Cento Cavalli), in the neighbouring village of Sant' Alfio, and is conveniently located for pleasant rural drives to bout the southern and northern Etna resorts, whence you can go up the mountain on cable cars. We found the North Etna cable car well worth the visit, as the 2002 lava flows there are as fresh as a daisy, and very striking in the landscape. All in all, I'd say La Pietra Antica is a great place to stay. I'm definitely going back when the chance arises.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttenreuth, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have stayed at La Pietra Antica for 2 nights with our American friends. They had never before been in an Agriturismo, but they liked this place from the first minute.
Very large, very clean rooms with all modern comfort, charming settings for breakfeast and dinner, good food and wine and extremely helpful people. We arrived late and out of season and were the only guests, but had a warm welcome and an excellent dinner cooked right on the spot for us.
The view goes all the way to Taormina and out across the Mediterranian, a wonderful setting

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klaus_riedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

La Pietra Antica is a great value location to base a visit to the Etna region and the eastern side of Sicily. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant serves generous meals of tasty local food with friendly service at all times. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed at la Pietra antica for 5 days in September 2010. We were 2 couples and my father. The service received was very good, the breakfast was really genuine, and the food in the restaurant was really fine (altough the portions were a little bit small). I really enjoyed our stay and recommend such a rural resort. Nunzia (the owner or person in charge) is really helpful, and we really did appreciate her help when we needed it..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puntalazzo
2.6 mi away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giarre
300 reviews
3.6 mi away
Atlantis Palace Hotel
Atlantis Palace Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mascali
185 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Foresta del Salto del Corvo
1.1 mi away
Case Perrotta
Case Perrotta
#2 of 8 in Sant'Alfio
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Et.Ma
Bed and Breakfast Et.Ma
#1 of 8 in Sant'Alfio
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pietra Antica O'Munti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pietra Antica O'Munti

Property: La Pietra Antica O'Munti
Address: Via Andronico s/n, 95010 Puntalazzo, Mascali, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Mascali > Puntalazzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Puntalazzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pietra Antica O'Munti 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very nice place in a quiet and tipic sicilian small country. 40 minutes far from Catania Airport and the same time to the Etna. Very good food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Pietra Antica O'Munti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing