We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay with visiting friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Pietra Antica O'Munti
Ranked #1 of 1 Puntalazzo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had some friends in town visiting and this was the perfect place to bring them. Nunzia was a great host. Breakfast was your typical Italian breakfast (fruits, pastries meats and cheese).The dinner was delicious. We left most of the choosing on what to serve up to the cook and she did a great job. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed right next to the bar. The rooms were large, quiet and we had a beautiful view at night wh...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtakach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for La Pietra Antica O'Munti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We travelled to Sicily with our 2 dogs (cirnechi dell Etna) and searched a "pets friendly hotel".
Fortunately we were welcome to this hotel with our dogs. And we have the most nice memories about this place.
Nunzia, the owner of the hotel, is very friendly and helpful woman. She speaks English and we had not problems with communication.
All people who work in the hotel also was very kind and attentive.

The room was refreshed every day. Towels were changed daily.
Our room was a true oasis in hot June's days (+37, +39 outside). There is comfortable temperature in a room thanks to thick walls. We had a very good rest. Quiet in nights, balmy sicilian air, deep sleep...

But if you have romantic mood and dont want to sleep :-) go to the garden with a glas of sicilian wine and enjoy of the voice of the grasshoppers, light of the moon, bright sicilian stars and scent of jasmine :-) City lights are very very far and nothing can disturb you :-)

This is the hotel for people who travel by car. The area is located in the Sicilian provinces where you cannot find shops and tourist attractions. But you can find a lot of wine and olive oil farms in this area. Nunzia will help you with advice :-)

About kitchen of the hotel. We enjoyed dinners. Tasty sicilian meal. Specially we liked "Carne in foglie di limone" - meat in lemon leaves. And different wonderful pasta!

Our dogs also enjoyed of this vacation and the hotel :-) A lot of place to walk!
We can hightly recommend this hotel for people who appreciate original sicilian country views, antiquity and romantic vacations :-)

Exactly we will come back.

Diana, Jackie, Ambra and Era

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyrenensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

If you need to explore the Etna and the surrounding, stay in " La Pietra Antica O Munti".
You will find authenticity, calm and good cuisine.
Nunzia and her team is really taking care of their guest and are always ready to help and recommend some place to visit.
Really very good value for money. Don't hesitate.

Thanks Nunzia

Olivier
France

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivier p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We spent a week here with our 3-year old daughter and our baby boy (10 months old). We took a prebooked taxi from Fontanarossa airport which was very convenient. It's very clearly signposted so I can't see why there are some remarks about it being difficult to find. It's possible to reach Puntalazzo with public transport from the airport. Buses are infrequent (at least during the winter months), they don't operate on weekends and it's virtually impossible to get a cab in Giarre if you happen to miss the last bus. The bus stop in Puntalazzo is a 10 minute walk from La Pietra Antica O'Munti.

The room we stayed in was really spacious and was cleaned every day. They provided a slightly broken baby cot for 10€/night. There were fresh flowers on the table and the staff was accommodating. The rooms are sparsely decorated. The view from the small courtyard in front of our room was great! The breakfast was unexpectedly good, the pastries were very nice as was the cappuccino and every morning there were some new treats such as candied orange and lemon peel or frittata. There were, in addition to pastries, bread, cheese and cold cuts. They should stop cooking eggs though as these were overcooked to the degree that the yolk had turned green.

Overall we had a great time here taking strolls in the countryside and just chilling. The chestnut tree of a hundred horses is within easy walking distance with a stroller or child carrier as is Sant'Alfio. We would however recommend going here by car as excursions are much easier that way. If you're interested in my opinion of the restaurant see my separate review.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We arrived to La Pietra Antica on Easter Sunday - straight for Easter lunch! A wonderful and tasty meal Sicilian style. Our room was warm and spacious offering good sleep for a tired tourist. The staff was very friedly but breafast was disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JESS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

After we FINALLY found this place we were a bit apprehensive about why it appeared deserted. There didn't seem to be wait staff and the lady who served us must have been also the cook and cashier. It was rather strange. There was only one other table occupied but we were seated at a table in an ugly room (near the kitchen) with no view of what might have been a scenic vista. It was dreary as a dungeon and a disappointment as other agritourismos are so pretty. Since we were the only people there we were suprised at how long it took to prepare our meals. And the menu was confusing if you ordered a la carte. Some of the food was good but the meatballs in lemon leaves was not edible. Cakes tasted stale. It was definitely not worth the difficult drive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DowntheBayou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapietraantica_munti, Direttore at La Pietra Antica O'Munti, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

We apologize if you had difficult to find us. Our farm is in a small village but isn't isolated like a desert...it's too, sorry.
About the dining room, we have just one large dining room ( it's an old "palmento": a winery with lava stone on the floor and on the wall) and not single dining rooms . Other people that they stayed here can confirm this. So, say it was like a dungeon seems really excessive.
At this point there are many things that don't coincides with our farm so i think really that you have confused with another place.
Anyway, best wishes for a very good 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We turned up at La Pietra Antica long after dark and without a booking, as the place we had booked (B&B Don Diego in Lingua Glossa - don't go there whatever you do!) had let us down big time. We'd been anxious we wouldn't find anywhere to stay and would end up dossing in the car. We needn't have worried. Having followed the brown "turismo rural" signs from Piedemonte de Etna, we eventually arrived at La Pietra Antica, which is perched high on the eastern flanks of Etna, just a few hundred metres below where the 1971 lava flows were the most recent to disturb the calm. We explained our predicament to our hosts and were given a very warm welcome. La Pietra Antica is a converted early 19th Century winery,tucked up on a terraced hillside which was once the vineyard. In redeveloping the derelict winery into a beautiful restaurant and hotel, the owners have gone to great trouble to preserve as much as possible of the original structure and equipment. A brief enquiry of the owners will soon yield an explanation of how all the bits of the winery worked - fascinating. We ended up staying three nights, B&B plus evening meal, and the cost was very good value compared to other places we'd stayed in the Aeolian Islands - we were paying the same for evening meal + B&B here as what we'd paid for B&B alone on Stromboli and Lipari. The rooms we stayed in were in an old maturation warehouse, beautifully converted, They were comfortable and spotless, and old features like internal window shutters were still in place and a further lesson in industrial archaeology. We noticed the rooms didn't have fans or air-conditioning, but neither did we feel the need for them: maybe the altitude and the thick stone walls mean they just aren't needed. There were large radiators, though we didn't need them either (we were there early October). The food was excellent - all home-cooked, and the meat, veg and bread were all superb. A great wine list too, with some superb local wines. La Pietra Antica is in easy striking distance of Europe's oldest tree (Il Castagno de Cento Cavalli), in the neighbouring village of Sant' Alfio, and is conveniently located for pleasant rural drives to bout the southern and northern Etna resorts, whence you can go up the mountain on cable cars. We found the North Etna cable car well worth the visit, as the 2002 lava flows there are as fresh as a daisy, and very striking in the landscape. All in all, I'd say La Pietra Antica is a great place to stay. I'm definitely going back when the chance arises.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puntalazzo
2.7 mi away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giarre
342 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Terra dei Sogni
La Terra dei Sogni
#1 of 2 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
476 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Foresta del Salto del Corvo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oasi dell'Etna
Oasi dell'Etna
#1 of 1 in Puntalazzo
52 reviews
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo Galea
Agriturismo Galea
#1 of 16 in Riposto
230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Case Perrotta
Case Perrotta
#2 of 8 in Sant'Alfio
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pietra Antica O'Munti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pietra Antica O'Munti

Address: Via Andronico s/n, 95010 Puntalazzo, Mascali, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Mascali > Puntalazzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Puntalazzo
Price Range: £51 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pietra Antica O'Munti 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very nice place in a quiet and tipic sicilian small country. 40 minutes far from Catania Airport and the same time to the Etna. Very good food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Pietra Antica O'Munti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing