We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ballenas(Samana Province)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas(Santa Barbara de Samana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Nuevo Amanecer(Santa Barbara de Samana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cotubanama Samana(Santa Barbara de Samana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,707)
Filter reviews
5,707 results
Traveller rating
4,586
791
216
75
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,586
791
216
75
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic beachdon pablomain buildinga la carte restaurantslobsterbeach barmain buffetbuffet restaurantdominican republicanimation teamjacuzzi pooltwo weeksjunior suitemain poolsamana airportbeautiful islandother resorts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,214 - 2,219 of 5,707 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My ratings for this hotel are based on two experiences in Mexico stopping at a five star hotel.......which unfortunately this one isn't! Don't get me wrong we had a lovely holiday and met some great people. The island itself is stunning, our room was lovely with a large balcony. Some minor irritations, for example the coffee maker is in a dark cupboard with no light, you had to fill the water tank up blind, the window through to the bathroom is a bit bizarre but I guess without it the bathroom would be very dark and ladies, take your own mirror and do your make up outside, because of poor lighting you cant see well enough to use the one in the bathroom and unless you are tall you have to stand on tiptoes to see into it. The staff were on the whole brilliant, always smiling and pleasant they work really hard. For the first week I thought the buffet was very good but it then became a bit repetitive (difficult to avoid I guess?). I don't like queuing up for my food in the evening which is why I would only choose an all inclusive with al a carte restaurants. Don Pablo - we went twice and only returned a second time because we went with a group of friends. The atmosphere is sterile, the staff unfriendly and if the food is 'cordon bleu' then my own cooking must be Michelin star! We went to the Mediterranean once, the staff were lovely and we sat outside, unfortunately once again the food wasn't up to scratch, the lobster was overcooked, tough and tasteless, the lamb tough, we were in a party of six and I don't think anyone had more than one spoonful of their dessert. We had been warned off Portofino so after our experience in the other two didn't even bother. What is really aggravating is having queue up to book the restaurants, once it took nearly an hour and another time we queued for twenty minutes on a Thursday to book a restaurant for a Monday only to be told to come back on the Saturday as the diary isn't open until then......what is that all about?! Why do you have to book anyway, the restaurants were always half empty? They suggest you download an app to enable you to book on line, it took nearly a day to download the app and then you couldn't use it because of the slow internet connection (worked brilliantly when we got home!).
The drinks .......where do I start! Only when you got to know the staff (and tipped) did you get a full glass of wine (my guess is this they are told to only put an inch in at a time), all the cocktails are made up from pre made mixer, all incredibly sweet, the only diet drink they stocked was coke. One night they ran out of Cointreau so we asked for Grand Marnier instead - next night they had run out of both! This hotel could be outstanding and the issues I have raised could be sorted so easily. Whilst I guess I have devoted most of this review to the negatives I have to stress there are a lot of positives. I also have to point out my holidays in Mexico cost more, personally I would rather pay a little more and have a true five star experience. I also think I would have probably given a less critical review if I had only stayed for a week, in fact if the travel time from the UK wasn't so horrendous I would probably return for a week of winter sun on the understanding I was staying at a good four star hotel.
One final point that has nothing to do with the hotel (yes - I really am going to finish!) ......the journey from the UK can only be described as a nightmare! Don't be fooled by the transfer time Thomson's quote, we boarded the coach at 3pm and finally reached the hotel at 8.45pm!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JJandJJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear JJandJJC,

We are so glad to hear you had a great experience in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel, Please rest assure that we are taking your observations with great consideration and that appropriate measure will be taken with the aim of better service, in order to secure the valued service our guests deserved.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Best all inclusive in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

friendly staff; exceptional sea view and gardens; very good Mediterranean restaurant; they told us they had four restaurants but the italian one was always closed; some food from the buffet could be better but it was very well presented; the beach was nice and the pools very relaxed;

Room Tip: choose a room in the main building with sea view or a villa
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria João O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Maria Joao,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your great family vacation in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering to travel to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for their holidays.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination, we are delighted to hear that we have achieved your complete satisfaction!!!

Sincerely yours,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

First time to Bahia Principle Hotel and DomRep. Very peaceful experience. Pools immaculate and beach fab. Great selection of food and drink. Villa room spacious, clean and comfortable (pillows a bit hard though). Night entertainment one to miss. Clean facility and friendly staff. Would happily repeat the holiday. We only had one duff meal (in the Mediterranean Restaurant) in 14 days (food cold and service far too quick (feels very rushed)).

Room Tip: Villas very comfortable and spacious and a nice walk to/from main restaurant
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AILEEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear AileenC,

We are so glad to hear you had a great experience in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel, Please rest assure that we are taking your observations about the Mediterranean Restaurant with great consideration and that appropriate measure will be taken with the aim of better service, in order to secure the valued service our guests deserved. We are glad to hear you loved the service from our staff. We will send them your greetings.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Best all inclusive in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We landed at Puerto Plata airport on 29th January and, like so many in other reviewers, took the (too) long coach trip to the ferry taking us to Cayo Levantado. Fortunately we broke the coach trip with a half-way stop for a comfort break and a "Presidente" beer...
The short trip by catamaran ferry was made more "interesting" as it was dark by the time we headed off to the island, and the Atlantic waves tossed the little ferry around quite a bit, leaving my wife a slight shade of green by the time we tied-up.
We were taken to our villa by the regular shuttle "bus" (a converted Daihatsu van) and our luggage arrived moments later.
The initial presentation of the room was lovely. A queen-sized bed, ceiling fan, built-in wardrobes, air-con, very large bathroom, etc. It was only after settling in that we realised how 'tired' the villa was. The wardrobes, chest of drawers, bedside cabinets were obviously well-used and drawers and doors were ill-fitting. Electric sockets (particularly the one for the coffee maker) were loose, as was the standard lamp fitting. The bathroom tiling grouting had been repaired (badly) in places and the whirlpool bath a little grubby. After a day's travelling from home we were delighted at the shower, however!
All the staff were, with the exception of the reception staff, more than excellent. Bar staff in the hotel building and at the poolside and beach were great; the restaurant staff were attentive and always smiling and should be highly commended. All the food either presented at the buffet or in the several restaurants was exceptional; being both varied, extremely tasty and very well presented - it was obvious that the kitchen staff were knowledgeable and knew their trade. The evening entertainment was really good and we both went away singing the Bahia Principe song!
One of the major annoyances was the staff attempting to sell membership to the "Privilege Club" who always seemed to be 'in your face' which; despite their apparent interest in your well-being and their lovely smiles; were irritating and we found ourselves trying to avoid them - not something you should be doing when you want to relax.
We didn't go whale watching even though it was the best time of year to see these magnificent creatures as the Atlantic waves were quite large, tossing around the boats we saw leaving for the experience and my wife isn't a sailor!
The beaches were typical of those in the Caribbean and relaxing when on a recliner. Pelicans were frequenting the waters just off the hotel's private beaches which made for interest and great photo opportunities! Relax, get a tan and watch the pelicans...

Recommendation #1:
We'd recommend a "safari" trip into the hinterland of Samana province - even though the transport, a converted open-backed Daihatsu truck, was not the smoothest or back friendly. It was obviously geared-up for European tourist (a lot of Germans and a smattering of Belgian and Danish) however, despite this, it was great to get an idea of the 'real' Dominican Republic, with a visit to a farm co-op, a cigar factory, beautiful waterfall, rubber plantation and, the highlight for us, a visit to a local school with its one teacher and mixed-age class. The pupils, in their bright blue shirts/blouses and with their wonderful smiles, made the whole trip worthwhile.

Recommendation #2:
Take a lot of insect repellent and antihistamine cream!

Recommendation #3:
Try ALL the restaurants at the hotel - they are fabulous!

Recommendation #4:
Visit the public beach craft stalls - very pretty and interesting with great photography potential - but don't buy anything! 'Genuine' obviously doesn't have the same meaning here...

The return was a repeat of the arrival with a long but broken coach trip (with a singularly disinterested/unattentive rep!) and a very early arrival. The tourist exit tax of $20 each meant people were shuffled from one queue to another and this felt totally disorganised and the security staff had little/no English, so there was a lot of gesticulation and arm waving...
Don't expect the 'fast food' outlet at the airport to actually be fast either - totally misnamed - as a simple hot dog took 20 minutes to arrive...
All that being said we had a wonderful time! This review is as honest as we can make it regarding our experience so yes; we have picked out some negatives; but don't go if you are assuming the mistakenly quoted "Five-Star" standard. It isn't; it's Four-Star overall and that largely due to the excellent bar, waiting and kitchen staff; the accommodation would need a lot of attention to bring it up to Five-Star...

Room Tip: Villas are quiet (except those near the beaches and restaurant) and rooms in the main hotel building are beautiful, but can be noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJCPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear DJCPhotography,

We cannot thank you enough for your comments. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share about your heavenly vacation in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering us for their vacations.

Thank you for posting your photos on Trip Advisor!

We hope to have you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Dominican Republic.

Best regards,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We just returned from ten days and had a great time. The staff is what makes this hotel and treated us like gold. There are too many to mention. Just be friendly and say Hola and treat them with respect and you will receive it back ten fold.

Good stuff:

The weather was great and only a touch of rain so whoever looks after at it at the resort needs a pat on the shoulders. LOL!!!

Anyway all kidding aside the service was good as well as the food. We did the buffet and no a la cartes as there was more selection at the buffet for us. Special mention goes out for the spread they put out on Valentine's day. It was fantastic in appearance and quality.

The lunch down by the pool was excellent as always and enjoyed it every day.

The beach bar service was good and the guys great but sometimes the drinks would be different even though we asked for the same drink but no biggy.

The one night they had a three piece band was fantastic and everyone enjoyed it tremendously.

So overall the positives were great now the cons:

This place needs more nightly entertainment. The animation team does a great job but nightly dancing music or easy listening should be ramped up a bit. I appreciate that they have the public beach thing going on at 930 but stuff at the hotel would be great.

The beds in the room are pretty hard but I guess this is subjective.

The computers in the main lobby set aside for guests to check their emails and other online stuff being used by the timeshare sells people to chat on facebook while guests were waiting should be corrected by the hotel.

They didn't bother us and hopefully didn't bother the other guests as well about joining the Privelage club.

One of the highlights of the trip was the whale watching trip that I went on with Whale Samana which is operated by Kim Beddall. Very professional and would go again in a heartbeat.

Special mention to some new friends we met and had a great time with Veronica, Dawn, Robyn and Sue and Misha who we were lucky enough to meet and laugh with. Happy travels and hope to meet again sometime.

All for now and send me any questions you might have and I will try to answer them.

Just one quick note though. There are going to be an additional 50 or so rooms in the near future and this is going to change the vibe of this resort.

So keep an eye out to the future and hopefully the resort will not become overcrowded but time will tell.

Steve

Room Tip: Villas 16-20 will be affected by construction this summer so choose another room category.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank steeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Mr. Steeve,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments and we take good note from your suggestions to continue working hard improving our quality in all our services. We are glad to hear you loved the service from our staff. Your experience is a valuable reference for other customers who are considering Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado for their holidays.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Best all inclusive in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews