We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas(Santa Barbara de Samana)
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nuevo Amanecer(Santa Barbara de Samana)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel el Marinique(Las Galeras)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$437
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Serena Hotel(Las Galeras)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,707)
Filter reviews
5,707 results
Traveller rating
4,586
791
216
75
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,586
791
216
75
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic beachdon pablomain buildinga la carte restaurantslobsterbeach barmain buffetbuffet restaurantdominican republicanimation teamjacuzzi pooltwo weeksjunior suitemain poolsamana airportbeautiful islandother resorts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,988 - 1,993 of 5,707 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the resort from June 5th - June 13th. We had a beautiful room with an ocean view in villa # 4. The huge terrace was so privet we got the filling that we are all alone on the island. The gardens and the beach are very beautiful. The staff is amazing. The food is delicious. We had a wonderful time there. We are planning to go back in the future.

Room Tip: Villas with an ocean view room are perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zsuzsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Zsuzsa M,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

Thank you for highlighting our beautiful rooms, good kept grounds, great food, excellentsrestaurants and our exceptional staff.

We hope to welcome you once again for more days to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Be happy all the time!!!

Have a nice day!!!
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at Cayo Levantado, what an excellent resort. We had a fab holiday, everything we needed was catered for in our villa. The staff were brilliant, very courteous and friendly...even singing happy birthday to me. The quality of food and drink was excellent, we especially enjoyed Don Pablos, to be fair there is something for everyone in the buffet restaurant. The resort is maintained really well, the gardens are beautiful. There are 3 pools and we always got sunbeds, having towels at the pool and beach was a welcome luxury. The beach has areas of shade as well as sun with plenty of sunbeds, the sea is always warm. The beach has quite a breeze which is lovely and cooling. The pool areas get hot but there is plenty of shade. The pool and beach staff are always offering drinks, they are so friendly. The very junior new staff do not always speak or understand English fully but they are so attentive an occasional wrong drink didn't matter. The entertainment team work really hard to keep everyone happy and as involved as you want to be. Plenty of different nationalities stayed which added to the experience. I would have said our holiday was perfect except for the building work being undertaken, these areas were screened off but you could still hear the work going on. The workmen were unobtrusive and always said "hola" if you met them. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants good food, excellent amenities and a lovely location.....despite the long flight and transfer, it's worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 1, room 1 on the second floor...couldn't fault it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Debbie C,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

Thank you for highlighting our beautiful rooms, great food, excellentsrestaurants and our exceptional staff.

We hope to welcome you once again for more days to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Be happy all the time!!!

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Travelled to Cayo Levantado back in April. had a wonderful 8 days of absolute luxury on the island.
First time we have been on a holiday like this and certainly won't be the last.

The service we had from the staff here was above and beyond anything we have experianced before. Our flight was delayed fro 2 hrs, meaning we arrived late. They kept the restaurant open for us to have a meal and took our luggage to the room so it was waiting when we got there.
We decided to upgrade our room and got a stunning, bigger room for very little extra cost.
The food was excellent. The buffet restaurant was was stocked with high quality food, which was presented excellently and tasted even better. The waiting staff were freindly and helpful and realy made us feel special.
We also ate at the A'la carte restaurants on 2 occassions. Unfortunately the first I was ill (sunburnt) so didnt enjoy, but the second time was brilliant. Again food and service was excellent.

We cannot praise all the staff at the resort enough, they made us feel welcome and would willingly talk to us about theor country and lives.

The island itself is beautiful, white sands, warm water and loads to do. I dont like sitting aroundon the beach but thouroughly enjoyed this holiday. It was nice to just kick back and relax.

The holiday bwas expensive but you don't need any money on the island as everything is included. Be careful when booking trips, we did 2 and one was quite expensive and ended up back on the island for half the day, so a bit of a waste, but the other was brilliant.

Overall an excellent trip and we have already booked for the Bahia Principe's Mexican resort for next year.
The room was kept clean and tidy, being cleaned virtually every day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Andyct64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Mr. Andyct64,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

Thank you for highlighting our beautiful rooms, good kept grounds, great food, excellentsrestaurants and our exceptional staff.

We hope to welcome you once again for more days to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Be happy all the time!!!

Have a nice day!!!
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in July after having booked the trip through RCI a year earlier. Needless to say we were quite excited to finally arrive and the resort is impressive from the very start.
Upon arriving at the welcome center, on the mainland, we were greeted by courteous staff and offered water while they handled our luggage. Check in was a breeze, just one signature and we were given our room key, map of resort and some spa info.
Since we booked through RCI we were given Privilege Club status which we highly recommend.
Once on the island we met our butler David, who escorted us to our room and gave us a tour of the resort. We stayed in villa 2 and the room was awesome with a great water view. Please note. There are a lot of stairs and hills so if mobility is an issue this resort could prove challenging.

The great - the resort itself, well maintained and just wonderful. A true paradise. Staff did a great job making our stay special, even had a happy birthday banner on the door for my wife and birthday cake the final night at dinner. Chocolate platter and welcome kit upon arrival, fruit platters sent to room a couple of days. No pushy timeshare sales, no towel card at pool/beach.
Live entertainment every night and two small stores in case you forgot something. I could go on but overall it's a lovers paradise.

The good - lots of staff, almost too much. The downside is very few speak or understand English unless you're talking to upper management and even then it's sketchy. We don't mind for the most part since we've travelled a lot and can get by. Afternoon tea and snacks in main lobby and desserts some nights placed out after dinner.

The bad - normally we're ok with the food in Dominican resorts since our expectations are low to start with. Usually you can catch at least a couple of good meals in the restaurants. Not here, the food was horrible. The owner may have spared no expensive on the resort but they're getting their money back by purchasing the cheapest food products. Having worked in the food industry it was glaringly apparent. We tried all three restaurants and all failed. The meats are the cheapest cut and tough, they smother steak in McCormick gravy mix (yes, McCormick I remember the retched taste from childhood) and their seafood is poorly prepared and low quality. The buffet food is terrible too, by day three was eating mostly fruit/salad. Sanitary conditions are sketchy, at the pool buffet I witnessed chicken, pork and beef left sitting in water by the grill in 90 degree temps. Big no no.
Breakfast was the only passable buffet. Even the seafood night at the main buffet was a huge letdown, the shrimp was the only decent fish and probably caught local. The main lobster and stone crab were empty claw shells with little to no meat. Which means they're starving before they're cooked, very disappointing.
Bring lots of antacid and anti diarrhea medicine, you'll need it. We were both sick twice during the week and then both of us the last night after dining at the Mediterranean Resturant.

Stayed: July 2014
8  Thank Edmitchell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear edmitchell66,

Thank you very much for your comments you do not know how we appreciate your time that you took to post such a nice feedback.

We really hope that we can receive you in the near future in any of our hotels Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort in the meantime we wish you all the best!!!

Many greetings from Samana!!
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic and the location is amazing. The quality of the food is brilliant with a wide variety on offer in the buffet restaurant, there are also 3 a la carte restaurants but to be honest the food in the buffet was so good we didn't bother with them. My husband has walking difficulties and was worried about how he would manage but the staff were so kind and considerate we didn't have a problem. The hotel provide buggy's to taxi people around so all we had to do was ring reception for a buggy and they would collect us and take us to where we wanted to go; the drivers were great and helped my husband on and off. The rooms are large,comfortable and well equipped and a lovely balcony.The staff are very efficient, approachable and friendly right through from the top management to the gardeners. The only downside is the 4 hour transfer to and from the airport but responsibility for this lies with Thompson's as they could use the other airport which is I believe only an hour and a half away.
This is a laid back holiday and as the hotel is on an island it is not the place for those that like a lively night life such as clubs. We fell in love with the island and its beautiful scenery and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Sue B,

At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience and we are very happy to read that you had a great time here with us.

Thank you for highlighting some of our services. We really hope that you will be visiting us in the near future and thank you for recommending us.

We cannot wait seeing you soon until then all the best.

Many hugs from Cayo Levantado and sunny greetings.

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews