We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas(Santa Barbara de Samana)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Cotubanama Samana(Santa Barbara de Samana)(Great Value!)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Serena Hotel(Las Galeras)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$451
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,796)
Filter reviews
5,796 results
Traveller rating
4,660
803
218
75
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,660
803
218
75
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingpublic beachdon pabloa la carte restaurantslobsterbeach barmain buffetbuffet restaurantbeautiful islanddominican republicanimation teamjacuzzi pooltwo weeksjunior suitesamana airportmain poolother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 5,796 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This was our first visit to this resort, and it did not disappoint!

We checked in and were surprised that our garden view actually had the sea in it too, with a beautiful view from the huge balcony. It was one of the biggest hotel rooms we have ever had.

The food was incredible, even the buffet! Before we arrived, we were worried about having to eat in the buffet due to past experiences with All Inclusive hotels, but by the end we were choosing to eat there instead of the A la Carte restaurants. Definitely go to the buffet dinner on Thursday for Lobster cooked to perfection!

All the staff are incredibly friendly and personal, little things such as remembering things we had asked for before was a lovely touch.
Henry, Paulina and co. from the Animation Team were great fun and did an amazing job of getting us up and joining in with some of the beach activities. They created a fun atmosphere between all the guests, yet did not disturb the peacefulness of the beach.

Before we arrived, we thought we would go out from the Island quite a bit, but in the end we only did one half day excursion throughout our stay on the Island, as the hotel had enough to keep us happy!

Unfortunately due to Hurricane Irma, we had to move to another hotel after 10 days of being on the island due to safety reasons. The stay at the other hotel only helped us confirm how amazing this hotel is, even though we were staying at another hotel with the same rating as Cayo Lavantado, it came no where near close to the standard of service we had at the island!

Cayo Lavantado exceeded our expectations, and we would not hesitate to come back again, and we have not yet met anyone who has vacationed there and said otherwise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Stephb1207,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection.

We are very happy to learn that you had a great experience. Thank you for taking of your valuable time to show your appreciation for the service received during your stay, and thank you again for choosing us!

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in our little paradise in a near future or at any of the fantastic all inclusives hotels of our chain Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

from the first moment we set foot on cayo for our 7 night stay, we were totally chilled. if you are looking to book this hotel, and base it on the stunning arial view trust me when you get here it just becomes better and better,this is trully a stunning paradise island,thank you cayo especially all your wonderful staff .debbie and alan silk.

Stayed: June 2017
5  Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Debbie and Alan Silk,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our property and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We would like you to know that your positive feedback is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future, at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts we make your dreams come true.

Best regards,

Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

If you want an adults only beautiful place with the very good service, you found it.
My wife and I have been to the Caribbean numerous times (DR third time, Cuba twice, Mexico twice, Jamaica once) and this was the best place we have ever been to. The staff are very good at what they do and the grounds are very beautiful. The rooms are nice and quite large.

The entertainment is average and so is the food. I would say the food is better than Cuba but average. Their house wine definitely needs improvement.

The beach is very nice but not much snorkeling.

We would return to this resort. Maybe in April with another couple.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, Take a look at the map online, there are some better than others.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Richard R,

In the name of all the members of our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us and other users of Tripadvisor, we truly appreciate it.

We are happy to learn that overall we met your expectations; we also take note of those comments, which indicate opportunity for improvement.

We hope we can have the chance to welcome you again in our Hotel or in any of the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts in a near future.

Kind regards,


Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this amazing hotel the last 2 weeks of August, and me and my daughter had an amazing time, everything was perfect everyone always smiling and friendly we felt like we new them for a very long time and we didn't want to leave, special mention to our friends at the animation team nothing would have been the same without Kendry, Javier, Henry Paulina and Luis we miss you all we had lots of fun thank you for making our holiday extra special. Fernanda and Jade

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank nandaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Fernanda and Jade,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection; specially from our General Manager.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your review. Our staff is always happy to hear our guest feedbacks and is truly a pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Definitely we hope we can have the chance to welcome you again in a near future to be able to provide you a memorable experience once more time.

Best regards,

Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Just arrived back after our fifth visit to this amazing resort and once again it did not disappoint despite the best efforts of Hurricane Irma! There is absolutely nothing to fault from the beautiful setting to the wonderful staff who are so attentive and friendly and work very hard to make your holiday special. Thank you once again to everyone you are all amazing but special mentions to Emmanuella, Georgina,Maria,Luiz in the Portofino restaurant and Virginia in the bar. We always have Superior Junior Suites in one of the villas which I can highly recommend., The gourmet restaurants are excellent with the exception of Rodizio -somehow the concept just does not work.We ate there once because it had been pre-booked on our behalf but did not return.Other guests we spoke too were of the same opinion. Unfortunately we had to evacuate the island 10 days into our holiday due to the hurricane but once again the staff were amazing and the evacuation was very efficient considering the number of guests that had to be re-located elsewhere at such short notice only wish the same could be said for the Thomson rep's who would you believe were still trying to sell trips on the morning of the evacuation!!! We will be coming back next year but out of Hurricane season.

Room Tip: Superior suite Villas out of the main hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank gloworm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Gloworm53,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection.

Thank you for posting your experience,your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for their holidays. Your loyalty is very much appreciated.

Thank you for choosing our hotel every year as your holiday destination, we are delighted to hear that we have achieved once again our goal, your complete satisfaction!

We definitely hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Regards,

Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews