We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$281
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas(Santa Barbara de Samana)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cotubanama Samana(Santa Barbara de Samana)(Great Value!)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Serena Hotel(Las Galeras)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$451
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$263
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,796)
Filter reviews
5,796 results
Traveller rating
4,660
803
218
75
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,660
803
218
75
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingpublic beachdon pabloa la carte restaurantslobsterbeach barmain buffetbuffet restaurantbeautiful islanddominican republicanimation teamjacuzzi pooltwo weeksjunior suitesamana airportmain poolother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 5,796 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This review is a little overdue.

My partner chose this beautiful island based on previous reviews. From the moment we checked in nothing was too much. We stayed in a beautiful room, 212 I believe which was in the main building. Emmanuella our butler was absolutely amazing and decorated our room beautifully for both our birthdays, especially mine with rose petals throughout and the jacuzzi on the balcony decorated as well along with a bottle of prosecco and fresh fruit. Wenny and Walky always had a smile on their face in the lobby bar and didnt need to be reminded of your drinks order - as soon as our glasses were empty, they didn't stay that way for long! Josua was fantastic and always made our visits to the restaurants that little bit special especially on our last evening on the island. You cannot fault any of the restaurants, they are all good - we both came back a stone heavier, but hey that's what holidays are for.

The weather was good, some rain but mostly in the evenings and had a few downcast days but this didn't spoil the holiday, we still managed to come back with good tans.

All I would say is the drinks down by the pools were very watered down, so much so that you couldn't really taste the alcohol.

Would we go back, yes, in a heartbeat but probably in a couple of years time.

You cannot really fault this hotel, the people really help make your stay a memorable one!

Room Tip: Room 212 main building was beautiful with balcony as big as your room!!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jules F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Jules F,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our property and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We would like you to know that your positive feedback is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future, at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts we make your dreams come true.

Best regards,

Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This was our first visit to this resort, and it did not disappoint!

We checked in and were surprised that our garden view actually had the sea in it too, with a beautiful view from the huge balcony. It was one of the biggest hotel rooms we have ever had.

The food was incredible, even the buffet! Before we arrived, we were worried about having to eat in the buffet due to past experiences with All Inclusive hotels, but by the end we were choosing to eat there instead of the A la Carte restaurants. Definitely go to the buffet dinner on Thursday for Lobster cooked to perfection!

All the staff are incredibly friendly and personal, little things such as remembering things we had asked for before was a lovely touch.
Henry, Paulina and co. from the Animation Team were great fun and did an amazing job of getting us up and joining in with some of the beach activities. They created a fun atmosphere between all the guests, yet did not disturb the peacefulness of the beach.

Before we arrived, we thought we would go out from the Island quite a bit, but in the end we only did one half day excursion throughout our stay on the Island, as the hotel had enough to keep us happy!

Unfortunately due to Hurricane Irma, we had to move to another hotel after 10 days of being on the island due to safety reasons. The stay at the other hotel only helped us confirm how amazing this hotel is, even though we were staying at another hotel with the same rating as Cayo Lavantado, it came no where near close to the standard of service we had at the island!

Cayo Lavantado exceeded our expectations, and we would not hesitate to come back again, and we have not yet met anyone who has vacationed there and said otherwise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Stephb1207,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection.

We are very happy to learn that you had a great experience. Thank you for taking of your valuable time to show your appreciation for the service received during your stay, and thank you again for choosing us!

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in our little paradise in a near future or at any of the fantastic all inclusives hotels of our chain Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

from the first moment we set foot on cayo for our 7 night stay, we were totally chilled. if you are looking to book this hotel, and base it on the stunning arial view trust me when you get here it just becomes better and better,this is trully a stunning paradise island,thank you cayo especially all your wonderful staff .debbie and alan silk.

Stayed: June 2017
5  Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Debbie and Alan Silk,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our property and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We would like you to know that your positive feedback is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future, at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts we make your dreams come true.

Best regards,

Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

If you want an adults only beautiful place with the very good service, you found it.
My wife and I have been to the Caribbean numerous times (DR third time, Cuba twice, Mexico twice, Jamaica once) and this was the best place we have ever been to. The staff are very good at what they do and the grounds are very beautiful. The rooms are nice and quite large.

The entertainment is average and so is the food. I would say the food is better than Cuba but average. Their house wine definitely needs improvement.

The beach is very nice but not much snorkeling.

We would return to this resort. Maybe in April with another couple.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, Take a look at the map online, there are some better than others.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Richard R,

In the name of all the members of our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us and other users of Tripadvisor, we truly appreciate it.

We are happy to learn that overall we met your expectations; we also take note of those comments, which indicate opportunity for improvement.

We hope we can have the chance to welcome you again in our Hotel or in any of the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts in a near future.

Kind regards,


Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this amazing hotel the last 2 weeks of August, and me and my daughter had an amazing time, everything was perfect everyone always smiling and friendly we felt like we new them for a very long time and we didn't want to leave, special mention to our friends at the animation team nothing would have been the same without Kendry, Javier, Henry Paulina and Luis we miss you all we had lots of fun thank you for making our holiday extra special. Fernanda and Jade

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank nandaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Fernanda and Jade,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection; specially from our General Manager.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your review. Our staff is always happy to hear our guest feedbacks and is truly a pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Definitely we hope we can have the chance to welcome you again in a near future to be able to provide you a memorable experience once more time.

Best regards,

Lissa Matos
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews