We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely relaxing, wonderful host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My family spent three wonderfully relaxing days at the Cornwall Cottage during the Australia day long weekend in January 2013. Personally, I was looking forward to few relaxing days after a four week enjoyable but arduous journey to Sri Lanka and our stay at the Cottage could not have been more suited for this purpose.

Our host Peta Elliott was extremely attentive to our needs which included providing valuable advice on local attractions and dining venues. Peta's homemade bread and jams just extenuated our already comfortable farm stay experience.

A stay at the Cornwall Cottage is highly recommended to anyone who is planning a visit to Hobart/Cambridge/Richmond areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srimal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

We were lucky to have booked Cornwall Cottage for 5 nights when Hobart was chockers with visitors (Wooden Boat Festival). The location in Cambridge is perfect for exploring Hobart, getting to MONA and day tripping to Port Arthur etc. Peta and Alec offer beautifully presented, spotlessly clean accommodation, in a peaceful rural location. Peta's fresh bread, home made jams and jellies, fresh eggs and provision of locally grown bacon was wonderful. You could also sample some of Peta and Alec's own wine from grapes grown on the property! One of the nicest places we visited in Tasmania and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thank you for your great comments. I enjoy making the jams & jellies and also the bread- nice to hear you enjoyed them too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is a lovely property set amidst a gorgeous valley. It's run by a couple, Peta and Alec, who seem to have thought of everything.

My 3 kids (ages 9, 8 and 6) fell in love with the place, and didn't want to leave. I didn't either.

We stayed for 2 nights. On our arrival, Peta dropped off an enormous loaf of bread she'd just baked for us - it was still warm. Having gauged our breakfast preferences before we arrived, she had also stocked the fridge with scrumptious local bacon, and near the cooktop sat a half dozen eggs laid by Peta's chooks. There were also a number of breakfast cereals for the kids, and two jars of magnificent jams Peta had made (Peta - do you ship them to Melbourne? I miss them!). Such thoughtfulness and care - I've never experienced anything quite like it.

Have a look at the photos, and don't expect modernist decor. The place is done up in a way that suits its country location - quaint and lovely. Everything was immaculate and comfortable, and so quiet it's hard to believe you're only 15 minutes from downtown Hobart.

I asked Peta for a recommendation for dinner with the kids, and she put me on to Nate's, just 5 minutes' drive away. Warm, lovely service and excellent food at very reasonable prices, set in a nicely informal dining area. They had great options for the kids, and were very accommodating of my picky trio.

The kids and I loved watching the wallabies come out for a wander in the early evenings. My daughter had a wonderful time helping Peta collect eggs from the chooks. We all slept well - very comfortable all round.

As another reviewer noted, the kitchen is extremely small. It has only a hotplate rather than a proper stove. But it's workable, and the barbecue out back is an outstanding alternative.

I would come back in a heartbeat and hope we get the chance to. It's perfect for family or as a romantic getaway. There is only one unit; it's part of a duplex, the other half of which is Peta and Alec's home. So you really feel like you've gotten away from it all.

One last thought: do try a bottle of the pinot produced from Peta and Alec's vines, called Devil of a Red. It's delicious, and worth the $25 asking price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Thank you for your great comments. We are lucky to have Nates restaurant close by as all my guests come back after a visit there and rave about the food and the service. Our Devil of a Red Pinot is a good drop and has some wine show medals to support that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Lovely "cottage", beautifully presented with every comfort provided and fabulous views over farmland, mountains and the bay. Hostess PETA is warm and welcoming but discreet, allowing you to enjoy your holiday in privacy. All the ingredients for a hearty farm breakfast are provided on arrival including a loaf of warm home baked bread! And a decanter of port on the sideboard for that after dinner tipple. Most comfortable bed we had for the whole trip. Kitchen tiny but serviceable as we did not plan to cook much apart from breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We did a lot of research to find the "right" beds so we had success there. The kitchen is small but fully equipped to enable guests to prepare meals plus we have a BBQ area available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My family and I stayed at Cornwall Cottage during our recent holiday in Tasmania. Our stay with delightful hosts Peta and Alec was one highlight of our time in Tasmania. The accommodation was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our children enjoyed picking raspberries and helping with other farm duties. We would wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation to anyone needing accommodation close to Hobart.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Rienecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

The children not only picked raspberries for your family but also helped me pick as well which was great and moving the sheep was made so much easier with their help - thank you again.
Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is such great value and is located in beautiful countryside- close to Hobart as well as historic Richmond. The owner was so helpful and friendly, with lots of wonderful recommendations and suggestions. Highly recommended for a cute, slightly kitch, bed and breakfast cottage stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodfoodgoodkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The gorgeous view from Cornwall Cottage is just the icing on the cake. Peta Elliot thinks of everything to make her guests comfortable, including stocking the kitchenette. The guest rooms are spacious, the living room homey, the laundry convenient. The quiet setting along Richmond Road overlooks her and Alec's grazing thoroughbreds and the beautiful valley to the east. A perfect base for several days in Tasmania's southeast . . . easy day trips around Hobart, out to Port Arthur, etc., and five or ten minutes from the airport. Peta was always attentive . . . even helped with local phone calls during a brief medical emergency. We haven't enjoyed more any stay in Australia. Be sure to try the Devil of a Red wine from their own little vineyard.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmiles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for your review. Hope you are now 100% healthwise. Kind regards

Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport
6.2 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
408 reviews
7.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
7.0 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#33 of 47 in Hobart
725 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Seven Mile Beach
Ramada Resort Seven Mile Beach
#1 of 1 in Seven Mile Beach
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 368 Richmond Rd, Cambridge, Clarence, Tasmania 7170, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £82 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall Cottage has 2 large bedrooms, one QS and one twin, large lounge, small kitchen, full bathroom, separate toilet, a shared laundry and is fully self contained. There are magnificent views across the Coal River Valley to Barilla Bay. A private BBQ area is available for guests use and there is a selection of games, books and DVDs, a large digital TV, DVD player and a CD player. The Hobart CBD is a 15 minute drive and the airport is a 10 minute drive. It is an ideal base to explore all the attractions in the south such as MONA Museum, Port Arthur, Mount Wellington, Tahune Airwalk, Salamanca Market, and the Huon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast Cambridge, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing