We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather have slept in the car!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I'd rather have slept in the car!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Truly awful place, staff were friendly enough, but didn't have a clue, & spoke poor English, the first room I was given was already occupied, the next had not been cleaned! bed unmade & breakfast leftovers still in the room at 18.40!! when i finally got a room it was tiny, not even enough room for a chair, the kettle chord was too short to reach the socket, so it had to be balanced on my bag, then after all that the milk was off!!! the shower was so small I could not turn around without opening the door, the bed was uncomfortable and the curtains fell down!!!!
I should have realised something was wrong before I got to the rooms as there was a lot of tiles missing in the corridor ceilings! apart from that, it's badly signposted, difficult to find, with a car park which is more like a wasteground!!! cost me £40!! I'd have felt better if i'd given my money to the homeless and slept in a shop doorway! I complained to the man on duty the following morning and his reply was 'Oh Well' !!!!! Truly a place to avoid !!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in a travelodge, premier inn, or even a park bench are better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren G, Regional Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on this third party website.

I am at a loss with regards to your review heading at how you would rather stay in the car!

With regards to your comments about my staff and their oral English our reception staff are actually English and from Gloucester?

The hotel opened brand new and whilst I agree we have experienced teething problems like any new hotel I do feel you have over exaggerated in your review.

All our rooms are cleaned and maintained to a high standard, each room has tea and coffee facilities, free wifi, 42 inch plasma televisions and a complimentary continental breakfast. I understand that the rate you paid was £40?

I am sorry we have not met your expectations on this occasion and I would like to thank you for your response.

Regards


Darren J Gillen
regional Manager
Metro Inns Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    67
    50
    11
    15
See reviews for
29
100
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quedgeley
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,131 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
619 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel Gloucester

Property: The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Address: Olympus Park, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4NF, England (Formerly Siesta Inn Gloucester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Quedgeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Orchard Hotel Gloucester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Hotel has 60 bedrooms all with En-Suite facilities. Close to many shops and pubs and on the bus route into Gloucester. We are situated close to the M5 motorway and only a 10minute drive into the historical town of Gloucester with its many shops, restaurants and bars. There are many places to visit including the Cathedral, Museums and the Historical Docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchard Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester Quedgeley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing