We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Quedgeley
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here for a night recently to break up a very long car journey from Cornwall to Yorkshire. At £35 I was slightly wary of what to expect but I was not disappointed.

The room was clean and tidy, as were the beds which were fully made with good towels folded neatly on top. I was surprised to find the room came with a fan, a heated towel rail and such a large flat screen TV on the wall! Adequate bathroom facilities and space to hang clothes too.

I slept well and was awoken by the complimentary breakfast arriving at 9am which consisted of cereal, brioche, fruit and orange juice.
Checked out feeling refreshed, staff were polite and the car seemed pretty safe in the carpark. Certainly worth the £35, you get a lot more than what you do for similar prices at other budget hotel chains.

The only downside was that the room was really quite small, but seeing as I was only with one other person and we were only there for one night it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren G, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for you kind review. I have passed on your comments to all the team at the Metro Inns - Gloucester.
It is really good to get feedback from our guests and it is highly appreciated.
Myself and all the team are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
Metro Inns - Gloucester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 231 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

Truly awful place, staff were friendly enough, but didn't have a clue, & spoke poor English, the first room I was given was already occupied, the next had not been cleaned! bed unmade & breakfast leftovers still in the room at 18.40!! when i finally got a room it was tiny, not even enough room for a chair, the kettle chord was too short to reach the socket, so it had to be balanced on my bag, then after all that the milk was off!!! the shower was so small I could not turn around without opening the door, the bed was uncomfortable and the curtains fell down!!!!
I should have realised something was wrong before I got to the rooms as there was a lot of tiles missing in the corridor ceilings! apart from that, it's badly signposted, difficult to find, with a car park which is more like a wasteground!!! cost me £40!! I'd have felt better if i'd given my money to the homeless and slept in a shop doorway! I complained to the man on duty the following morning and his reply was 'Oh Well' !!!!! Truly a place to avoid !!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in a travelodge, premier inn, or even a park bench are better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren G, Regional Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on this third party website.

I am at a loss with regards to your review heading at how you would rather stay in the car!

With regards to your comments about my staff and their oral English our reception staff are actually English and from Gloucester?

The hotel opened brand new and whilst I agree we have experienced teething problems like any new hotel I do feel you have over exaggerated in your review.

All our rooms are cleaned and maintained to a high standard, each room has tea and coffee facilities, free wifi, 42 inch plasma televisions and a complimentary continental breakfast. I understand that the rate you paid was £40?

I am sorry we have not met your expectations on this occasion and I would like to thank you for your response.

Regards


Darren J Gillen
regional Manager
Metro Inns Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladefoged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irenenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irenenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quedgeley
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Little Thatch  Hotel Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,330 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
641 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel Gloucester

Address: Olympus Park, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4NF, England (Formerly Siesta Inn Gloucester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Quedgeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Quedgeley
Price Range: £36 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Orchard Hotel Gloucester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Hotel has 60 bedrooms all with En-Suite facilities. Close to many shops and pubs and on the bus route into Gloucester. We are situated close to the M5 motorway and only a 10minute drive into the historical town of Gloucester with its many shops, restaurants and bars. There are many places to visit including the Cathedral, Museums and the Historical Docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchard Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester Quedgeley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing